We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our travel agent booked this "hotel" for us to spend a couple of days in Auckland following a cruise. The location is perfect for exploring the city. We thought we were booking into a hotel but the room also had a kitchenette with all the facilities you could wish for, a small balcony, nice comfortable bed and clean bathroom. If I had to find a fault with this accommodation it would be that at almost 6 foot, I had to bend over to get my hair washed in the shower as the shower head was set too low but apart from that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fogwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel is very handy to the Viaduct Basin,the Wynyard Quarter and the revitalised Britomart precint,all very interesting areas with lots of new restaurants.and activities.The studio rooms are small and are best described as adequate but do have a microwave,top plate and a dishwasher plus a tiny balcony with outside seating for two. I gather that the one bedroom units are much better but most of them are permanently occupied by long term tenants.
Having just come from staying at the Rendevous Hotel, a 5 star hotel much nicer and spacious but not much dearer,with parking at $15 per night instead of $30 at Gra,nd Chancellor,the shortcomings of the Grand Chancellor were accentuated.Next time I want to visit the nearby areas I will stay back at the Rendevous and use the money saved on parking by taking a short distance taxi ride

Room Tip: go for the 1 bedroom units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here on a deal from a local website... Yes it was a deal but lesson learned, sometimes it's worth paying the extra! We asked to switch rooms as the first one was small,dark and dingy. The 2nd room wasn't much better to be honest but the gentleman did his best. The location was good. Within walking distance to both sky tower and the viaduct. The shower was meant for dwarfs and the bed was also small. Old fashioned decor. Shame.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DJK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Was realy disapointed this place, expecting to arrive to a 4 star hotel. We certainly paid for a 4 star as well! It's actually hotel and appartments. Sure it has a pool, but theres also the public ones accross the road which are nicer, cleaner, not scummy at all like this one was.

The service on the day we checked in was terrible, the male receptionist was argumentative and rude. Parking is an exorbitand fee per night, no valet service.
The rooms are no where near as nice as pictured in the photo's. Our room felt dirty, carpet especially, some of the floor times were cracked, and the bathroom needed a good deep clean to remove grime from the tiles etc. Also the room smelt funny, like someone had been smoking inside, and they had used a cheap air freshener to cover the smell.

Not at all worth the price, would compare it to the Ibis which is half the price, and nicer! This place is 3 star at best. Would not stay here again, and neither should you.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get a good water view at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After mixed internet reviews, we decided to book anyway as the location and price were great. The first room we were given smelled overwhelmingly stale and the noise from the traffic was unreal so we asked to be moved. The room we were moved to was one room over on the floor above, so needless to say, the noise was not much better. We thought we would try to put up with it, but when I went to have a bath to relax I found a hair and soap scum around the bath. We called reception and they moved/upgraded us to a suite (no apology). This was on the harbour side of the building on the first floor (no view), so was a little quieter, which was great. What made this room a 'suite' was that the bed was divided from the rest of the room with two sliding doors at the foot of the bed - only problem was, the doors were so large you could only see the tv from one side of the bed at a time, and to get from one side of the bed to the other you had to go into the lounge around the couch and back in! Bathroom was very tired looking with broken fittings, pool looked like it desperately needed a good clean, and when other guests closed their doors the whole room vibrated. All-in-all, four-star on paper, not in practice. Would never, ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms on the Hobson Street side, they are super noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here early December 2013. We arrived at 3pm and were told that one of the rooms was ready after we booked 3 separate rooms. There were also 3 other sets of people that were still waiting. This was a massive inconvenience as we had to leave to be out by 430. When I got in the room we had a suite... The balcony was ok but tht was it. Poor facilities and very different to other grand chancellors we have stayed in. I can certainly say I will not be returning. The whole set up was poor and clearly the staff were struggling to communicate. Breakfast looked dire so we ate out. Only positive was the location in central Auckland.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelchick6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were very disappointed with several aspects of our stay in this hotel on the weekend. Our room felt dirty, windows very filthy, furniture was broken and stained, beds left a LOT to be desired - one mattress was way too small for the bed and was just a cheap foam mattress that you get from The Warehouse! Was cold all night as only had one thin blanket on each bed! We chose this hotel for the indoor pool which also left a lot to be desired - black scum ring around every pool, flooded water drain and a nice pile of vomit on the bathroom floor which was left there for several hours despite staff being advised about it!!!!! Sadly the photos on the website are nothing like the real thing!! Will NOT be staying here or recommending this hotel to anyone!!! Staff pleasant but not enough of them!!

Room Tip: Go for recommendations NOT by website photos as we were definitely mislead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £83 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing