We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value quality city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value quality city centre hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and found it to be very clean, comfortable and spacious. Positioning is great for the quays where you will find some great bars and restaurants booking online before arrival gave us a great deal. We used the car park facility which at 30 is good for city centre Auckland

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    192
    212
    105
    75
See reviews for
97
288
57
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before driving down to cambridge and taupo..walked in for a 1 bedroom suite..simple n cozy for a stopover stay..had 3 indoor pool..not great..1 is down..nearby to the harbour for cruise and a few min walk to shopping area..gave 3 star becoz of lack of ammenities..other than that..no issue..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk to the pier and also the city. Other than that it is pretty average.

The customer service was terrible. Rooms were small and quite old. Wifi very expensive. The breakfast only opened at 7 which didn't help us because we started work at 7.

We paid for valet parking yet they made us retrieve the car. When we retuned it, it took them 5 hours before they took it off the street and put it in the car park. Usually we wouldn't have cared too much but we stressed to them that we had our expensive equipment in there so we needed it parked securely. Not only did they not seem to care, but they charged us for full valet parking anyway..

Heaps of other hotels, look into one of them..

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank TF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

clean, good price, handy location, staff good, added extra onto beers brought from room fridge !
Room good size and slept well considering on a busy road.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: try and get a room that looks towards the water not onto hobson street - nothing to see out that sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wife and I decided to get a weekend away, booked a non smoking one bedroom suite but was told all rooms are non smoking, our room however didn't reflect this, it stunk, was dirty, pull the bed out from the wall and there is no way it had been vacuumed there for some time, found the top of a condom wrapper and 1:40 in change
I did ask for another room but the only room available were more expensive, we changed our reservation to one night
What would to take to deodorise the room once on a while and clean it so it looks like a little love was out into the room

your website photo's and description is very misleading

Jason

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone that was looking for a quality romantic weekend away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jase19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a real disappointment and as others have noted appears unloved. Checked in to find water running through the ceiling vent. Took two phone calls to get someone to respond and eventually moved to a corner room with some of the cheapest and oldest furniture I have seen since my student days. The sink tap leaked badly, the TV only had 4 channels, mirror off the wall, 3 tea bags and coffee sachets just thrown onto the bench and an old saggy brown sofa as the only place to sit. Noisy from constant traffic with no double glazing.
This is the last chance saloon when you arrive late and have no alternative
Noisy

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SafeAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had anticipated and booked a single bedroom suite. We were given the worst room in the corner of the hotel, dark and cramped. Very gloomy. We discovered they had harbour facing rooms in the same category available and fortunately managed to transfer. But unfortunately we wasted 1 1/2 hours of our precious overnight away to sort it out. Be careful about the room you are given.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing