We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay @ a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
1 review
“Great stay @ a great location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family loved our stay at the Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel. Front Desk reception was friendly, warm & helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean.. This hotel has now become our family's favorite.

Room Tip: This hotel has great accommodation for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzzette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    186
    211
    104
    75
See reviews for
95
285
56
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were looking forward to staying here on our way back to Australia and were quite disappointed. The room was nice though nothing to write home about. The lack of internet access was frustrating, we paid for 24 hours access and the wireless still did not work. The staff claimed no responsibility as a third party provides internet service. Probably would not bother staying here again. Totally forgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Hotel could be amazing but was just good which is a shame as it is in a great location, has parking, a restaurant, fitness room and a great pool but unfortunately to get to the parking you have to constantly go to reception and ask to be allowed in, a fob key system would work surely? The fitness room is tired and run down with old and dated equipment at least a water cooler could be added.The pool was out of order for a day which is fine if we had been told but the cleanliness of the showers and changing rooms was not great!! damp and dated with a old smell to them, same with the pool area, again some simple fake flowers or something just to brighten the place up. The biggest disappointment was the 2 reception staff who seemed to be always working maybe thats why they were so unhappy looking, just missed that hello! welcome smile or how can I help you approach. Rooms are nice and clean and comfortable and have everything you need although the shower curtains need cleaned.As I said a shame really as this could be an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Service = disappointing. Front desk was not friendly upon arrival, not particularly helpful and kept talking over the top of me (a pet hate)
Rooms = poor quality, run down, old. The price certainly shows here, with threadbare linens, no lamps in the bedroom, and no remotes for the TV. I had the worst room in the hotel (room 107, right outside the elevators, right above the road).
Value = don't get me wrong, I got this room cheap (compared to all Auckland hotels). However, I have stayed in other 'value' accommodation, and none have been as disappointing at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for higher up in the hotel to avoid road noise (level 1 collects traffic noise!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this place to be down town Auckland but regretted the choice the moment I walked into the room and it just got worse from there. I stay in a lot of hotels around NZ and I have paid less than $100 for better furnished rooms.
Old TV
No batteries in remote
Bedside lamp faulty and test certificate expired
No plug in the sink
Shower over the bath would suit a midget...I'm only 5'7" I I had to bend down
No evening room service and just continental breakfast in the morning
Only redeeming feature was a firm bed and a great view....but the blind was broken and wouldn't pull up. Go figure.

Only redeeming

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Last hotel stop on a family trip to NZ. Bad experience had by all.

List of issues:

- Stains all over ben linen - Asked reception to change linen, went out for dinner and visited the casino for a few hours, came back to stained linen still on bed. Staff threw a screwed up replacement blanket on spare roll-along bed. Not what I call good service!

- Booked room with disabled access... did not get - Instead of a "fully equipped" accessible bathroom, we received an unsteady metal stool positioned in a shower the size of a small phone booth.

- Heating not working in room - Called reception to inform staff that heating in room was not working. Told us they would send someone to our room to help resolve issue, nobody came. At this time it was 2am. We went down to reception to complain. Lobby man was no help! He looked half asleep... which is exactly how my family and I felt by this time. Due to the fact we were frozen stiff in our room, we politely asked if we could be relocated to another room with heating. We were told that their were no other 1 bedroom apartment's available at that time... how "convenient"... though instead, we were offered a puny fan heater (which was supposed to adequately heat an entire apartment). We hesitantly accepted the offer, though to our "utter shock" the lobby man then informed us that there were no more fan heaters available to borrow. When asked why, apparently other rooms were using them (obviously meaning that a large portion of the hotel has heating issues). By this time it was around 2:45am. Still freezing in our apartment. Staff did not seem very interested in helping us by this time. Though we were becoming fed up! We literally had to beg staff to fix heating in room. Finally at approximately 3:32am our heating was working again. Apparently something was wrong with the thermostat. Thankfully, we got to sleep... only to wake in the morning with no heating once again! Not happy!!!

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuakau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Chancellor on Saturday night 19th July 2014, and it is about the 5th time we have stayed there. It has become our hotel of choice when we come to Auckland City as the General Manager - Graham Hill and his staff are always so very obliging and helpful. We always try and book a 3 bedroomed apartment on the 13th floor as it has the most fantastic view of the harbour bridge and the surrounding harbour. The apartment is very comfortable with everything you could possibly want or need and we generally take 2 other couples with us - so it is nice to be staying all together. The Staff treat you like they are genuinely pleased to see you and have you staying there. In the past we have stayed at other 4 & 5 Star Hotels in Auckland but because of the way we have been looked after at the Grand Chancellor we prefer to stay there. It is also very handy to the Viaduct and walking distance to Queen Street & restaurants etc. The swimming pools & gym facilities are great too. We can't speak highly enough of this hotel and would certainly be more than happy to recommend it as a great place to have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Suite 1307 on 13th floor is fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzJunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Property: Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing