We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for Vector Arena concerts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The reason for our stay was the ColdPlay concert at Vector Arena and the hotel is located an easy 15 minute walk from this venue. It is also located very close to the Viaduct for restaurants. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which overlooked the viaduct and harbour so we had stunning views. Yes, open the door to the balcony and you get traffic noise but you're in downtown Auckland! Close it and the room was quiet, clean and very spacious and comfortable. Absoultely no complaints and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussytraveller99_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

Located almost across the road from the Viaduct, this newish hotel is a great option for anybody on a budget who wants to explore the city from a comfortable base. The hotel is reasonably new, so the room was clean, modern, and even contained a kitchenette, while the hotel also provided a guest laundry. Booked on WOTIF, this hotel was amazing value for the location and quality of the facilities. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

This hotel was awful. Our room was noisy, had a strange hum from a vent in the bedroom and was dirty. The bed head was greasy and stained - the mattress on the sofa bed had a hole in it. The living area had no external windows. We demanded a change of room - the second room was better - quieter with external windows, but still dirty. The bed cover had stains on it. The bathroom had a very small shower, no bath and tired towels.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

The Grand Chancellor is a service apartment. I don't mind service apartments, but this place reminds me of my stay at the Homewood Suites (a Hilton service apartment chain) in Miami.

The room is very basic. There is a small kitchenette. Mini fridge, two counter top burners, small dishwasher and a microwave oven.

They could have given me some hangers in the closet. I actually have no hangers.

If you stay here for any length, you will get bored easily. The TV has only a handful of channels. Nothing to write home about. It does not even have BBC Newsworld, only CNN and Sky News.

The TV itself is placed on the only desk in the room. Unfortunately, the desk is about 2 1/2 feet wide and so it is not easy to put my laptop onto the desk without pushing the TV to one corner of the desk. Internet is also wired, so that is the reason I need to use the desk for my laptop.

All in all, as a basic service apartment, this place would be ok. But because I am here on business, this hotel just does not work for me.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toram23901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We booked in to stay two nights - the first night we were coming straight from the airport, and advised the hotel staff that we would be arriving at approx 1am.

When we arrived, the guy at the front counter could not find our details. He had very poor customer service skills, and was not that great at english either. After about 25 minutes of him fussing about he told me that they only had one room but we would need to check out of it in the morning as it was reserved for other guests the following night!!
So basically we got to bed at about 2am after the initial mix up, then had to leave by 10am and get another room....

Anyway... this is meant to be a 4 star hotel. I wouldn't give it that, it was very cheap, with dirty white walls and shabby curtains.

Hardly anything works in the gym.

Also, the cleaning staff were hovering in the hallways constantly (but not doing any work!), and there were bags of dirty laundry sitting in doorways that were not collected for the 2 days that we were there.

Final words: DON'T STAY AT THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

A very average city centre hotel with s/c facilities, it provides basic amenities which are adequate for a stopover but nothing special.
The Airbus stops nearby which is handy if you are flying in or out of Auckland. Our accomodation was clean and well serviced and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rafaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We stayed in this apartment during our very first night in North Island. It was a horrible experience. I booked a 2-bedroom suite with "stunning views of the harbour". For the price I paid, it was certainly nowhere near what it was worth.The hotel room was so small for a 2 bedroom apartment... and the room with the 2 singles was really only designed to fit 1 single bed only..they had to cram the second single directly in front of the wardrobe, which meant no access to the wardrobe and little space for movement. Not to mention the air conditioner was broken in our room so it was quite hot and stuffy in the room and the TV remote control didn't work either (flat battery).

For $300NZ per night, I thought there would at least be pay tv.. nope.. and the balcony was very noisy as it was facing a main street. However, when we shut the glass doors, no noise could be heard, which was normally good, except that the air conditioner was not working....

The latter 2-bedroom hotels I booked afterwards which cost $100 cheaper a night than this hotel were triple times more spacious, luxurious and had stunning views of the harbour!

All I can say is that the views were the only positive thing about the hotel - other than that, it gets a thumbs down from me. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chezay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#54 of 66 in Auckland Central
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing