We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but clean”
Review of Arena Hotel

Arena Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arena Hotel
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Waikato
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap but clean”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. When we went to our rooms, we found it amusing that there was a filing cabinet in the hallway....very random.

The room was not the flashiest but it was clean and I found the bed comfy. The rooms were a bit warm, but no air-conditioning. I slept with the window open (we were high enough to feel safe about this) I could hear revellers late that night but I can sleep through anything so this didn't really bug me.

The hotel was across the road from the Vector Arena and this was why we chose this accommodation. We had a child with us and we didn't want to have to walk too far with her after the concert, so the location was perfect for us.

I would stay here again. Although, the rooms aren't flash they are clean. I can do cheap and plain...but I cannot bear to stay in dirty, so at least this place was clean.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Dated decor and what's with the broken filing cabinet in the hallway
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MsThangWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    11
    6
    19
See reviews for
3
12
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gold coast, australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Lady at the front desk was lovely and really helpful. Hotel was in OK location but next time wouldnt stay there. No real problems except on the last night we spent an hour or so in the lobby in our pj's due to the fire alarm going off... It went off because it was RAINING too much....

  • Liked — the lady on the desk
  • Disliked — the fire alarm set off by rain
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottiandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

That really sums it up, a cheap hotel, with very few thrills, but for the price its by no means a hell-hole.
Its in an ok location for the city, Queen St, the harbour area etc all walking distance. Parking over the road.
Cannot comment on food as didn't partake.
Rooms were small but clean, shower was ok - Auckland can get quite humid & there was no fab or AC, so the room got a bit stifling, & of cournse with the window open you will hear Beach Road in all its glory through the rush hour!!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Well, yes this is not a lovely place to stay. It is noisy and worse than most of the hostels, rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are quite grubby and smell bad.......but it won't kill you if you have earplugs and require a CHEAP hotel.

However - the staff are very nice and helpful, it has a good location the parking is good and if you don't want to spend a huge amount of time in the hotel it doesn't matter too much....

Most importantly you won't find anywhere cheaper...it is CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP for Auckland - people who see this price and expect it to be as good as the other hotels in the area which are MUCH more expensive are kidding theselves!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Bathroom and cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wise1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Lower Hutt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

So went there for the JT Concert arrived there on my own to meet my girls that were arriving later that day to come across the entrance looking average - firstly we had booked a four bedroom room 2 months ago and once i got there they said they could only do a 3 bedroom and a single - not the safest or funnest thing to happen but they never explained why was v dissapointed - so after seeing the entrance thought ok not too bad made my way to my level and was unimpressed how run down it was to arrive to my single room - that had a bed as hard as bricks and that night had no sleep as too was on Beach Rd side - and listening to ppl going at it in there rooms and yougins partying till 6am with no staff to tell them to quiet down - WILL NEVER EVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!! might be cheap but isn't the nicest at all!! - isn't the safest place for women to stay on there own isn't very professional at all!!!

  • Liked — nothing - location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WellyNZGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2nights, it was the worst 2nights sleep i have ever had!! Our room was facing Beach Road and everytime a truck or something passed by the window and door or the room rattled...had 2buy earplugs for the 2nd night!! The shower was a disaster and room horrible. I would not advise anyone to stay here, its disgusting!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

I stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is old and run down, but not so bad. The bed was clean and comfortable. The shower was good. There was a bit of a view out the window. The location was convenient. Staff were helpful. There's a great restaurant and a good bar on the top floor (both with separate management).

Two problems I had:
There was a TV in the room that did not work properly. The manager made all sorts of promises to fix or replace it, but never did.
The only parking available was right next to the hotel but cost $4 per hour during business hours.

This hotel is okay for the price, but there are much better hotels in Auckland for only a little more money.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — dodgy TV
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smsafiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: 131 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing