We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponsonby Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
230
149
31
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
149
31
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandnice garden areafavourite hostelbig living roomcity centrehome from homefelt like homewell equipped kitchenbunk bedsbus stopfree wifibars and restaurantscommunal areassingle roomother guestsshared bathroomminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've stayed at our fair share of hostels and ponsonby backpackers is one of the best! It had really great facilities, we had a double bed room which was warm and the bed was so soft and comfy. It felt like a homely halfway house more than a business. The staff were amazing, John/Jonno was great, talking us through whats good in auckland for a whirlwind lookaround and helped us figure out the best way to drive down the coast of the south island and pointing out all the best Snowboarding places along the way! he also helped us out of a sticky situation with our transport and called the camper company from his own mobile to help us figure out the issue. Really great Hostel and I would recommend it to anyone. The courtyard area looked amazing although we didnt really use it (it was cold and we had to be up early so didnt want to be tempted by drinks outside). Location is great, Ponsonby is a beautiful part of Auckland, really trendy with great boutiques, cafes and bars around, as well as being an easy 15 minute straightforward walk to the sky tower and harbour area (nightclubs, shopping, etc galore). Definitely give this hostel a go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantandUrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi Guys,

Thanks for taking the time to leave this awesome feedback! It's always great to hear :-) We are so pleased that you enjoyed the friendly and homely atmosphere that we do try to create here. John is a great asset to us, so thank you for your comments, I hope his advice served you well! :-) You're right, Ponsonby is an awesome area too! Make sure that if/when you return to Auckland you will come back and visit us! Safe travels,

Thanks

Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Ponsonby is flawless. The staff were so welcoming, everyone that stayed there long-term or short-term was friendly, it was cleaned maticulously, the kitchen was very well equipped and sky tv gave plenty of options for lazy evenings! Ponsonby is a great area, a nice 20 minute walk from the city centre but also close enough to walk to places such as the museum and mt eden. There is a New World just down the road.
In all honesty we were not looking forward to our long stay in Auckland but Ponsonby Backpackers made it anything but boring! Will definately go back if ever in New Zealand again and would fully recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hi Guys,

I so wish you had signed your names on this so I could thank you personally....what lovely comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that Ponsonby Backpackers has made a lasting impression on you! It's always lovely to hear guest feedback, even more so when it is so positive! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again if you return to Auckland :-) Take care and best wishes,

Thanks

Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at Ponsonby backpackers, there is a really chilled out vibe to the place. The staff were really friendly and talked us through what was good to do in Auckland, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The communal areas were well thought out and had everything you might need. Overall a great place to stay and we would certainly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Auckland on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hostel is situated in the middle of lively and trendy Ponsonby area, we liked the neighborhood and hostel very much! The staff were really friendly and helpful with everything, and the hostel itself was clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Loved this hostel and have already booked in for the return part of my trip. The staff are really helpful and made sure that the place was kept really clean. Everyone was very welcoming and I met some great people here.There are local shops on hand and the Ponsonby area has a friendly feel to it. There was some confusion on my dates as the booking company did not advise of a change made some weeks prior but the hostel were fantastic about it. It is a definite bonus when people understand that travel plans change and try to accommodate that. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BristolButterflyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! Really happy that you booked again to stay with us and thanks for taking the time to not only write a review, but such a lovely one at that. :-) Indeed Ponsonby is a lovely area (we like it :-) and our staff are always happy to help and go the extra mile so I'm glad you saw this in us....Thanks again, Catch you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews