We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall: good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponsonby Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponsonby Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall: good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

- Good location in Ponsonby, 12 minutes walk to Queen str.
- Friendly staff
- Old building
- Nice organized BBQ
- Enough kitchen equipment
- Good beds
- Your own free locker!
- Clean
- Medium size hostel
- Stayed 1 night
- I will be here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We do hope that you will come back and visit us again next time :-)

Thanks
The PB Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    129
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
85
162
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were looking for something a little more quiet and private for a decent price. This place is only a 20min (easy) walk from the centre of town and is a much better value than many of the hostels right down town (ie. Nomads!)

I stayed at Nomads as well and hated it.

At Ponsonby, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and right away we felt at home. The facilities were clean and the private or triple rooms had some character, which was nice. Kitchen was nice and it was a quiet area but certainly close enough to town.

Room Tip: We chose the triple room (I think it was 14) and it was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkyd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hey Guys! Thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback! We are so pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming :-) We do hope that you will come back and visit us again next time you are in Auckland! Safe Travels-The Ponsonby Backpackers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We took a long weekend in Aukland and spent 3 nights at The Ponsonby Backpackers. The location was great for exploring the Ponsonby District ( artsy, lots of good restaurants,bars and cafes as well as original boutiques)
You can walk to the harbour in about 45 minutes or hop on a bus.
The place was clean, friendly and buzzing with activity. This is a great place for meeting fellow travelers (and getting recommendations for other places to stay)

The staff were friendly and accommodating and the kitchen was " cook-friendly"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinpasangmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi there!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed staying in the Ponsonby area, which we agree, is very cool! It's great to hear that you found our staff friendly and accommodating, and the hostel to be clean! We hope you will come back and see us next time you are in Auckland!

Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

When we first arrived in New Zealand, Ponsonby Backpackers was our first port of call. It really helped us ease back in to the backpacking lifestyle. We had an amazing time there. Out of all the hostels we have stayed in, this one had the best vibe. It made you feel like you were part of a big family. We are still in touch with many of the people we met here. Highly recommended. We hope to come back to NZ again someday, and when we do, we will definitely be spending time at Ponsonby Backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyAndElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Guys! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave you positive feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Make sure you do come and visit us again should you return to Auckland again! Thanks, The Pononsby Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place is in a perfect location (15-20 mins walk from the city centre). It is nice and quiet but has a great atmosphere nevertheless. The communal kitchen and outside seating area brings everyone together. I stayed for 6 nights and on 2 of them we had barbecues which were awesome and got everyone socialising.

The rooms are clean, the kitchen is kept spotless and the same goes for the living room with it's extremely comfy couches. I ended up meeting some really cool people at this place and would highly recommend it.

Cant really fault it. Apart from certain members of staff being very rude. I would give this place a 5 if it wasn't for some of the staff doing things that (in my opinion) are very unprofessional and out of order. Shouting at people because they are due the hostel money in front of other guests is not exactly a good look. Shouting at people who are having a nice sociable meal because they want to wash their dishes after they eat (usually how it works). Also telling guests that because the flames got too big on the barbecue they will be charged for a new one (in front of other guests, of course). Apart from all that they (not all of them) just seemed to be constantly miserable in general.

Would recommend it. Just don't let your guard down if you have a BBQ ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comtoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hey thanks for making time to make a detailed review, We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and our awesome comfy couch. We also enjoyed helping you out with your difficulties with your bank.
Just in responce to your negative comments. Firstly we are running a business and in business, you get paid for what you provide, So if somebody hasn't paid us then we need to follow this up. In regards to tidiness, again certain guests during your stay had pushed all boundries with staff, and other guests regarding their cleanliness, It is unfair for other guests to have to suffer from the minorty of others. These guests had a final warnig due to there behaviour on the night before you left and you also would have had a warning due to the noise and distress you caused to others at 4am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I liked the location and the building was nice. The staff was very rude at first but once you got chatting they were ok. If a person wants to give you their money maybe be nice to them so they will keep coming back. I liked how they offer separate the male and female bunks and baths. It makes things more relaxing for solo travel because you don't have to worry about drunken male strangers or odd behaviour or judgement.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lem0nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave your review, Our female dorm is very popular and well liked. Regarding a couple of comments im not sure what hostels you have stayed in but we certainly do not get odd behaved drunken males stay with us. Also our staff are our no 1 asset, and if you take time to read other reviews this is quite clear. Thanks and enjoy the rest of your time here in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a private room with shared facilities and really enjoyed our stay.
The hostel is in the lovely area of Ponsonby which is full of cafes, restaurants and bars and only 10 mins walk to a large supermarket. It is only about 25 mins walk to the city centre or you can catch a bus very nearby.
The kitchen was great, with free tea and coffee and herbs etc and was spotlessly clean. The living room is also really nice and spacious and there are some nice outside areas.
We weren't made up with our room, it had a bunk bed which I think should be stated on the website and the wifi was pretty pricey. $10 for 24 hours or 250MG which I soon discovered isn't a lot when you want to Skype, it only lasted a few hours.
But overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BackpackinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a lovely review, We always like to get peoples positives and negatives, Since your stay we have plans to make our internet more affordable and changes to our website for bookings are also taking place. Enjoy your trip, and look forward to seeing you back here at pb!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
1.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Property: Ponsonby Backpackers
Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing