We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best backpacker hostel in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen Street Backpackers
Ranked #53 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Løgumkloster, Sonderjylland, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best backpacker hostel in NZ”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The place was great, the staff were really friendly and was alwas ready to help with anything. I highly recomend to stay here if you want a great place in the city to stay with nice peopple. Chees everyone from Queenstreet Backpackers :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    29
    50
    18
    21
See reviews for
4
28
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The service is great, its close to everything but its a bit noisy being over bars. Soundproofing the windows could be a great idea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vesidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stopped in a few Hostels in AUckland and there standards are never up too much compared to else where in the World or New Zealand. I was heading to Nomads when I saw that QSB was cheaper and thought I might as well give it a go.
I was very glad I did friendly welcoming staff even at 7.00 am in the morning, I was allowed to store my Bag in Reception until my room was ready.
The location of this place is fantastic near the Station and Queen Street, of course this meant it was noisy but considering where it is, that it was a Weekend and we had to sleep with the WIndow open because it was Summer I had no problem sleeping or trouble with noise.
If your staying in Auckland definatley choose this Hostel over the others, the staff are friendly, rooms are clean, Kitchen is a Decent size and a reasonalbley priced. This is a rare thing in Auckland and the bigger name Hostels here are awful!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here for the first three days of arriving in Auckland and was immediately made to feel at home. The hostel is not the newest in the city and does show a little wear and tear but what it lacked in newness it made up for in character and charm. The staff there were great and very friendly, even the guy I woke up twice in one night to let me when I locked myself out of the building when they had closed. It's got great location and is close to everything and is well priced. I would recommend Queen Street Backpackers to anyone looking at starting their trip in Auckland.

Room Tip: If arriving on the weekend be prepared as the street gets pretty nosy if you plan on staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schowskitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Assaulted by Staff Member... Hows that for a review. I stayed at this place one night this week. Frankly, I didn't expect much, just wanted somewhere cheap to keep my luggage and crash at while I went to a few interviews, so I checked into a dorm room. That evening I went out, and got back around 3am, so there was no one on reception. I went into the dorm room, and EVERY bed was occupied (apparently this isn't unusual). I wasn't going to wake anyone, so I went out into the lounge and crashed on a couch. Was woken up by an overweight guy yelling at me. I was hung over, and very disorientated, and whilst trying to figure out what was going on, and trying to explain myself, he kept yelling at me, and pushing me. I had my key in my pocket, but he wouldnt listen, and kept screaming at me to get out. In the end he actually wrapped his arms around me and tried to get me out. I managed to get away, pull my key out and we both called the police. THE POLICE... I spent a night on a couch, got assualted by a staff member and had to call the police... Is that what you want when you stay somewhere. The police got QSB to refund me, but apparently as there was no witness and frankly the guy didn't punch me so no bruises or anything, I can't push for assault charges. I understand that sometimes they have people sneak in and crash and must get sick of it, I understand that I was probably a dazed from going out and being asleep so might not have been too coherent when first woken, but NOTHING excuses this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Did not end up staying here as I contacted them to add myself to a party group and got hung up on when offering my credit card details to confirm to which he thought he hung up on me bt hadn't and I could hear his entire rude discussion about me to a work mate who laughed and currently the phone is still engaged an hour later.how poor.obviously not busy at all.rude man.update I called back and asked to speak to the manager who said that was him.he wouldn't let me explain myself and told me to go somewhere else if I wasn't happy and hung up on me AGAIN! !!!I am now going to nommads who gave us a discount for how rude this other place was!how lovely:)very happy now!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwenda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I arrived in Auckland the week before Rugby World Cup without a hotel reservation. I jumped off the bus and right in front of me was the backpackers. I've stayed in hostels before and this one has a good set up. It's close to most everything and only a quick walk to the ferry building. The staff was super helpful in providing suggestion and feedback. If you have just arrived into Auckland this is a great spot to collect yourself and meet a traveling partner or two.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJakeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#29 of 67 in Auckland
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#54 of 114 in Auckland
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Street Backpackers

Property: Queen Street Backpackers
Address: 4 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Street Backpackers is considered one of the friendliest Backpackers Hostels in the heart of Auckland City. With a huge reception area which also houses our TV lounge, Longboard Bar, Pool Tables and reading area, your first impression will be one of both warmth and friendliness. Our Auckland Backpackers Hostel accommodation is only a short walk to the cities major supermarket, train, bus stations, ferry terminals, across the road from the Airbus Express stop and is on the front door step of Auckland's main street. Whether you're travelling alone, with your partner a friend or with a group of friends, our Auckland Backpackers can accommodate all your needs. Recent upgrade of the Wifi means guests have the option of using FREE 5ghz wifi within the hostel. We've also recently upgrade rooms to premium dorms which have privacy curtains, double plus, under bed storage and lockers for each bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Queen Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Street Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Queen Street Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing