We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely welcoming staff and free wifi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen Street Backpackers
Ranked #55 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Extremely welcoming staff and free wifi!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The major plus points for this hotel are the very friendly staff on the front desk and the fact you get free unlimited wifi for your stay!!

The rooms are an OK size for the amount of people in there but the kitchen area is pretty tiny and grubby with not many functioning jobs or utensils.

Showers and bathrooms were ok, nothing special just average.

We decided to go back again as only staying for single nights at a time...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
4
28
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had a quick shuttle from the AIrport to a nice place to spend a couple of nights there to organise a quick trip North to Paihia ---- Overall not a bad place to stay have stayed in a lot worse and this is where i found all about trip advisor so thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montyfull44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Qeenstreet backpackers hostel is located right beside the Main Street of Auckland with Everything of stores and bars within short walkingdistance. The hostel had Good standard backpacker rooms and Clean Bathrooms. Also There is a laundry room, tv lounge, a Good kitchen and a free stabile WiFi-connection. Best of all however was the staff that has really Good knowledge about the whole of New Zeeland and really helped everyone With planning trips and showing people around Auckland. Thanks QSB I'll see you guys next time in Auckland!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JensSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

QSB is a really good choice if you're in a party, back-packer's mood. Location is EXCELLENT. It might be a bit noisy at night, but the price is well worth the vibe. If you're TOO picky about super clean bathrooms (which only REALLY expensive hostels have), or having a super silent chamber to rest your soul, you might not be comfortable; otherwise, staff is really friendly and QSB is a great place to crash, meet young travelers and enjoy Auckland.

Room Tip: The rooms that lead to the lobby are a little bit louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

if you want a nice place with a good spot to ve in i would go here as its close to everything even though it is in Auckland but if you want a long stay mabe this isnt your cup of tea but hey go for it Cheers all

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey_Photoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I was desperately searching for a hostel for one night and found this one. Since my day was really bad I decided to have a single room, because I don't wanted to see anybody. Since it was last Minute they only had a double room... totally fine for me... till I got in there. It was dark. The smell from the restaurant under me was disgusting and the most terrible thing was that my sheets and pillows were full of spots! I don't even wanna now what it was. The Toilet was also disgusting since there was a unidentifiable liquid on the ground. One of the worst nights I've ever had in a hostel because I was so disgust!
DON'T GO THERE!

Room Tip: Don't take the Double Room! It's dark and disgusting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

When i first arrived in Auckland i booked into QSB and im glad i did. Staff are friendly, helpful and social. In house bar for a few quite ones, large open tv area, pool table included, internet room and other little areas to hang out in. Rooms are of average size, most come with a storage locker/wardrobe. The only downfall is some of the rooms are over a busy bar, they have an agreement on noise times but sometimes its overlooked on the bars side of things. Over all good hostel to meet people.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and away from the front of the hostel are the quieter rooms. If you want to stay long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#56 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Street Backpackers

Property: Queen Street Backpackers
Address: 4 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Street Backpackers is considered one of the friendliest Backpackers Hostels in the heart of Auckland City. With a huge reception area which also houses our TV lounge, Longboard Bar, Pool Tables and reading area, your first impression will be one of both warmth and friendliness. Our Auckland Backpackers Hostel accommodation is only a short walk to the cities major supermarket, train, bus stations, ferry terminals, across the road from the Airbus Express stop and is on the front door step of Auckland's main street. Whether you're travelling alone, with your partner a friend or with a group of friends, our Auckland Backpackers can accommodate all your needs. Recent upgrade of the Wifi means guests have the option of using FREE 5ghz wifi within the hostel. We've also recently upgrade rooms to premium dorms which have privacy curtains, double plus, under bed storage and lockers for each bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Queen Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Street Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Queen Street Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing