We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Backpacker I ever been !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen Street Backpackers
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good points:
The location but it's not the only one in this area
Free wifi even if it's VERY slow and don't work all time
Bad points:
Irrespectuous and noisy people
Noisy street ( bass music all night)
Rooms, bathrooms, kitchen horribly dirty
Fridge in the kitchen is wet ( all my stuff was wet after one night )
...

I passed one week here in a 8 dorm and just after 2/3 days I wanted to leave but has I already paid I had to wait for the end of the week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat_C932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location of the backpackers is perfect for a traveller like myself who had no car and minimal knowledge of the public transport. There are bars, restaurants, cafes just around the corner and if still lost, the staff will point you in the right direction. As it is above a nightclub, things did get a little noisy but nothing some earplugs won't block out, and it all ended by about 2am.

The staff (Will in particular) were extremely helpful, pretty much booking half of our holiday for us (we are pretty hopeless). He even found the cheapest hostels in each town we were planning on going to and bartered prices for us. He made us feel very welcome and gave us some important tips for Auckland and North Island. We were a little lost as Auckland was the first place we went in NZ so his help and expertise was very welcome. Best fake travel agent ever.

The hostel itself was pretty standard for a big city hostel. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom as they were fairly quiet but the 3 beds ended up being one bunk and a trundle which was a bit difficult to maneuver around in the tiny room. This would have been fine if all three people in the room were friends but with a stranger it was a little awkward. The wifi was fine (and free!) and the free sim card was also a good bonus.

Room Tip: Three bed rooms are not really 3 beds but 1 bunk and a trundle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzo0o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located in the CBD and near to everything you need, we booked a twin room (bunk beds) room was basic but clean and comfortable and good value for money.

The reception staff are what made this brief stay great- really helpful and made you feel welcome and have a wealth of knowledge for people who have just arrived!

I slept well and didn't have too much noise at all from within the hostel am the street below despite being I the centre of everything- a real bonus when facing an early start in the morning!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RebeccaJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for one night with a friend. Handy location in the city centre, staff were really friendly and wi-fi was free. We stayed in a twin room consisting of bunk beds, a wardrobe and a sink. Pretty basic but clean, and toilets/showers were only a short walk down the corridor. We found it nice and quiet and both had a good nights sleep. Overall I would recommend this hostel based on location and the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The location is good, right in the cbd. The hostel itself is nothing special. Bathrooms and kitchens are not very clean, and rooms either. There is free internet connection, but it's slow and not always working. It's ok for a few days, dorms are not too expensive.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank luna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here over the long weekend with my brother in a twin share room. Small musty little room with bunk beds. Had to be the worst bed i've ever slept in, mattress sagged and every time my brother moved on the bottom bunk the whole thing shook and felt like it was gonna collapse! Were also in a room above the pub downstairs, so so noisy!! Impossible to get any sleep on the first night (Thurs), managed a few hours on sat and sun with help of ear plugs and sleeping pills. Sun and mon night weren't so bad but still a lot of street noise. Not recommended to stay if you actually wish to sleep!!
But besides that it's a pretty standard backpackers with extremely friendly staff (albeit slightly unprofessional at times).
Free wifi but no coverage from room (managed to get on the free wifi from the pub below tho!!)
Location is fantastic, right besides britomart, if you can hack the noise or intend to be one of those down making the noise! :P
Price is slightly on the high side, could almost get a motel room for the same price! (Prices went up between my booking and staying, they were awesome and honored the earlier price for me!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Free Wifi (There is a sign written that the Wifi is 3 Dollars per hour but just ask the reception, they have plenty of codes for free), Free Baggage Store, friendly Staff, nice Rooms, good kitchen, cool people and great Location! Can't say anything bad about this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
605 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#65 of 131 in Auckland Central
908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#43 of 131 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 131 in Auckland Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Street Backpackers

Address: 4 Fort Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Street Backpackers is considered one of the friendliest Backpackers Hostels in the heart of Auckland City. With a huge reception area which also houses our TV lounge, Longboard Bar, Pool Tables and reading area, your first impression will be one of both warmth and friendliness. Our Auckland Backpackers Hostel accommodation is only a short walk to the cities major supermarket, train, bus stations, ferry terminals, across the road from the Airbus Express stop and is on the front door step of Auckland's main street. Whether you're travelling alone, with your partner a friend or with a group of friends, our Auckland Backpackers can accommodate all your needs. Recent upgrade of the Wifi means guests have the option of using FREE 5ghz wifi within the hostel. We've also recently upgrade rooms to premium dorms which have privacy curtains, double plus, under bed storage and lockers for each bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Queen Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Street Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Queen Street Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing