We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crap, there are much better backpackers than this in auckland for cheaper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Ranked #76 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“crap, there are much better backpackers than this in auckland for cheaper”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

terrible place to stay. no windows in rooms. expensive drinks in the bar. DO NOT use the lift! it broke down with me in it and the phone in it didnt work no one cared. tiny shower. very limited bathroom facilities. crap place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    52
    72
    95
See reviews for
6
62
91
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We arrived at Nomad's after a pretty gruelling 36 hour journey, and just wanted to fall into the double bed we'd booked. After a fair bit of faffing about with an exceptionally drunken French student, the lad on reception found our booking, and handed us our key. We found our room, opened the door only to find the bed had been slept in the previous night, there was a pint of what looked suspiciously like urine on the bedside cabinet and the half eaten remains of a McDonald’s sat eyeing us from the corner of the room.

Naturally, I returned to reception, where the drunken Gaul had reappeared and was now trying to convince the rather flustered teenager behind the desk, that he had paid for a room for the night. After about 20 minutes, the manager came to the front desk and dealt with him, leaving me to approach and make my complaint. After explaining it was his first night, our man on reception spent a good 15 minutes re-assigning us to a double room that he was sure would have been cleaned. I took the key and headed up the stairs. On arrival in our new room, we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a clean room with an actual window! We fell asleep instantly.

The following morning, I returned to reception, and despite my checking the previous night that we had booked for two night’s stay – the lad on the night shift had not in fact added the second night to our new room. The incredibly helpful (and seemingly more experienced) lady who had taken his place, ensured we were booked into our upgraded room, at no extra cost, for that night as well.

In short – I feel you get what you pay for with places like this, but basic cleanliness and organisation is not too much to ask. We did have a genuine cause for complaint, but it was dealt with (eventually) to our satisfaction, and we enjoyed our short stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: For the love of God don't get the most basic package if you can possibly afford to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeRibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The place is exactly how it makes itself out to be. The rooms were as described on the website and the small problems there were are all highlighted by either themselves or other reviewers. These were things like excess noise (which you can't really complain about considering the place is right in down town Auckland), and some need for refurbishment. The staff were all really helpful and the location is great. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

The rooms were typical dorms, but there were alot of permanent residence in my dorm so there was stuff everywhere. The dorms had a kitchen/living area right oustide the dorms. We were sitting around drinking beers and more than once, there where cockroaches crowling up and down the walls. There were multiple times when this happend, it was nasty.

Room Tip: dont
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZtramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at Fat Camel due to a lack of other accomodations twice durign our trip around NZ Feb 2011. I would say the staff was relatively helpful, and they have a good wifi connection as well as pc terminals you can lease time on.

The rooms weren't awesome, the bed covers were somewhat dingy but the sheets and pillowcases were brand new. The rooms are rather stuffy, not having good air circulation - but the twin rooms had A/C units (something you dont find on the cheap in NZ). I would reccomend not opening the windows if you're staying on a weekend night as the bar below can get loud - but then again - why else are you staying downtown Auckland? We stayed on the 6th floor on a Sat and a Tues and it didn't get too bad at all.

!!HOWEVER!! As you may have heard all hotels worldwide are suffering from a bedbug problem. It is my understanding that FCH regularly treats the rooms for insectia - but I was a little dismayed to find a bedbug (albeit a dead one) in the wardrobe. Needless to say we kept our luggage off the floor The good news is after a thorough search we didn't find any other signs of bugs or bug activity.

The second twinbed room we booked had one issue - the door wasn't very secure. FCH uses keycards to access the rooms which is nice - but the second room looked like it had been jimmied at the point where the latch meets the door frame - Many times. I closed the automatically locking door (no deadbolt access from the outside) and in 1 second was able to pop the door open again just by sliding the keycard between the latch and doorjam. We went to the desk and they were quite helpful in switching our rooms.

Parking is also not always easy, you may find yourself a street or two away (no big deal if you get out before 8am when the meters start charging again)

All in all we were happy with the deal we recieved, but don't go expecting a lot - it IS a hostel after all!

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor, get a Twinbed (private) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popbonsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I would not let my dog stay here. You would get a better room in prison. I was in a private room which had no windows, there was litterally 2 beds and that was it! Everything was dirty! The Internet cost 15 dollars for the day and the staff who checked us in were very unhelpfull. I am travelling around the world and this is by far the worst place I have ever been to. No ammenities, manners, cleanliness and air!!! What a disgrace, do anything to stay away from this place!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesr2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

When I stay at a hostel, I expect nothing more than a bunk bed and a kitchen (if im lucky). Nomads fat camel was good. You walked in to an apartment with a kitchen, sofa etc etc then there were dorms beyond this other doors. One negative thing is There Was Only One toilet on i dont How Many people .. There was six beds in the room we stayed in, And there where atleast three more rooms in That apartment. The kitchen was a bit dirty. Great location

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#51 of 108 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#11 of 53 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#57 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing