We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and bar activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Ranked #79 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great staff and bar activities”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed in the Nomads Fat Camel for a couple of weeks and i could not fault one aspect of my visit. Ideally located right beside the centre of Auckland, Queen Street, Nomads Fat Camel can cater to every need of the backpacker/ holidaymaker. I stayed in a 8 bed dorm and this gave me the opportunity to meet other people from all different destinations. Although the hostel building itself is quite old this does not hold the hostel back in any respect. Showers and toilets are cleaned to high standard numerous times daily. Each floor has 2 kitchens with cookers , kettles, fridges and microwaves. Most other hostels I have stayed in have 1 big kitchen between everyone which can get congested and sometimes be difficult to get in and cook when u need to. The hostel also has the Camel bar which provides a free snack meal each night and plenty of entertainment including beer pong, killer pool and my own favourite Jumbo Jenga (which I was champion of 2 weeks running). They also have a live DJ at weekends and a live music. The best part of my stay was meeting the staff. At anytime day or night they are there to help ( including one time when after a shower I was locked out of my dorm in nothing but a towel). The travel shop where also very helpful when they booked a room in a hostel on my behalf for my next destination. For a backpacker this hostel ticks all the boxes, great fun staff, clean and safe environment and a central location. Not the Ritz or the Plaza but who wants to stay in either of those places anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi Allan,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at Nomads Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us. WE hope you are enjoying life down in Wellington and look forward to catching up next time you are in Auckland!

Kind regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    54
    71
    98
See reviews for
7
62
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had a similar experience to the person below. Booked a female only dorm. 2 girls in dorm decided to have male "guests" for the night. Fortunately didn't witness anything, but could definitely hear (which was enough, especially when they were doing it in the common area and almost in the dorm!). No sleep and pretty disturbing. Great location and staff were friendly enough, but that's pretty much it. Realise the problem is more the people rather than the hostel itself, but staff should have better control of guests. Unfortunately the layout doesn't help. Almost too private. I think friends/groups/couples book hoping to get the room to themselves with just 4 to a room or are long-term stayers. Ok if you are a partygoer, but if you are just a normal single traveller who appreciates sleep, a bit of consideration and discretion, then this is not the place. Would've been better off sleeping at the airport. Also, no clean sheets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821sarahj821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay at Nomads Fat Camel and I agree that the behaviour of certain guests was totally unacceptable. I know what room you were in without even checking as it was brought to our attention a few days ago that some of the guests who have been staying a few weeks were starting to flout the rules and it was obvious our night staff were not monitoring things as closely as they are supposed to. This is being rectified at the moment and those guests that continue to flout the rules will be politely asked to leave if they haven't already. Smoking in the rooms is not only against hostel policy but is also against the law.

Kind regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I always stay in dorms and I'm not very picky about noise, sensible amounts of stuff lying around and people coming and going. But this hostel was so bad that even though I had paid for three nights, I booked another hostel after one night, and since they don't have a refund policy I ended up paying for two room for two nights, but I'm still glad I did it. When I arrived, the kitchen was dirty, the showers were dirty, the dorm was dirty and someone actually had some private time (yhea, the real stuff) in one of the bunks, just covered by a sheet. I can survive some nights in a dirty hostel, but what made me tick about this one was a gang of some other travelers, which I guess had stayed there for some time based on how they acted. This gang includes the happy couple. I should maybe have seen it coming when they were drinking beer on the room when I arrived, in a supposibly dry hostel, and smoking inside the room! Who does that? Well, I went out for the evening, came back to the hostel, spent some time in the worn out TV room and was back in the dorm by half past eleven, finding half the dorm asleep. Five minutes after I went to bed, a group of four comes in, turns on the light and decides to have a vorspiel inside the dorm, which they didn't even stayed in themselves. They only did it to wake up one of their mates. After an hour of drinking, shouting and smoking, they left, I still couldn't sleep because of the very loud street outside the window. When they returned, only the couple this time, I had finally fallen asleep, but got regulary woken up through the night by either the bunk shaking violently (yhea, I was so lucky that I got the bunk above them) or the smell of cigarett smoke. I guess that I would have had a better night sleeping in a park.

Even though this isn't entirely the hostels fault, I blame them for having poor control over the punters, especially since I guess that these people had stayed there for some time allready.
I would rather sleep in a park before staying at Nomads Fat Camel again, and I suppose everybody else consider the same, if you don't love rude and inconsiderate teenagers that is. I'm 21 yrs old my self, but know very good that normal people should not behave like this.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and I totally agree
that this behaviour was not acceptable. There have been 3 complaints in the last week about the same floor and this is being dealt with at the moment. The night staff have also been spoken too about regularity of their apartment checks for noise and people flouting the rules.
The apartment setting does mean that more intensive checks are needed as some people do start to treat them like they can do what they want which is not the case at all. This layout has been earmarked for change by the building owners.

Kind regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I know this is a hostel for backpackers. But the place is still much worse than expectation.

The facilities are very old and bad, showers are terrible (I think they are 40 ys old). I felt same as RiOrIo24 did. “I Can't Believe They are in Business!”

But the staffs are nice at least and location is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi Cyan351

I agree that the hostel is starting to look old and is now waiting for its long overdue renovation.
I am not sure what bathroom you were using but there are bathrooms located throughout the hostel all in very good condition.

Kind regards
Nemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hostel was absolutely terrible! We stayed for only 1 night and thank God it wasn't any longer than that!
We booked online and then got to the hostel for 12 in the afternoon to check in. As soon as we came in and stood at the desk the guy at reception just ignored us. I don't know what he was doing... just faffing about with some papers. The least he could do was greet us or say 'just a moment.' We said Hi and he said hi then continued to ignore us. Then my partner had to say 'we made a booking with you??' to get him to even serve us! So he checked our booking out then told us that our room wouldn't be ready until 1pm. Fair enough so we explored the city for an hour. Came back at 1 and he then tells us that they've had a really busy day and our room may or may not be clean. Then gave us our room key told us what floor. That was it. No explanation how to get to said floor, where bathrooms were, kitchen, nothing about check out times or procedures. We eventually found our room to find no it hadn't been cleaned yet. The cleaners were making the bed still. So we went back into the city for another hour. Came back at 2 and the cleaners were STILL cleaning. They were only just hoovering our floor before they would finish with our room. We didn't check in until 2:10pm.
To be honest I don't even know why the cleaners bother because the place was still filthy. The kitchen looked too dirty to cook in, the single toilet we all had to share was disgusting, the showers were growing alien life, the place stank, was extremely noisy at night, felt unsafe, and was very uncomfortable.

Such a terrible place to stay. Please head all our warnings and DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiOrIo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi Riorlo24,

If the customer interaction was as you reported this is unacceptable and this email has been passed on to all the staff. It is very unusual and over 90% of guests review the staff interaction as 4 or 5 out of 5.

Kind regards
Nemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

It is the most terrible, awful, horrible, dreadful place I have ever stayed at in all my entire life. I could not sleep even for 2 hours in that smelly room all over the night. It was exactly look like a chamber for growing microbes! My room has NO Windows, NO ventilation! I had to leave the room's door open all the night, then I could breath! Pay another 10 to 20 bucks more and stay in hostel that you can at least sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi Pablo O,

Unfortunately the no window budget rooms do get quite hot and stuffy over the summer period. This is why they are the cheapest rooms. All rooms and apartments are cleaned thoroughly
twice daily and a night cleaner also heads around at 10pm.

Kind regards
Nemo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

No ventialtion, smelly rooms, broken beds and missed bookings, had to change rooms overnight and then they lost 2 of out group so they had no room at all. Noisy until 4am forget sleep. Gave up and booked somewhere else for our lat night, $80 bucks more for the 4 of us but in a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: Noisy until 4am forget sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 118 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 118 in Auckland
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#55 of 118 in Auckland
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Property: Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing