We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad staff and no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of the worst hostels we've been in. Staff is completely clueless about the city. Our so called ' Kings size double' room was small (hit my head on the tv a couple of times, because you couldn't go around it...) But the worst thing was the noise from the hotel bar. They kept playing loud music until 5 in the morning, after that the traffic took over. Even with the window closed, we couldn't get any sleep. So all in all, not a nice stay and definitely overpriced.

Room Tip: make you sure you get a room with window, there are rooms without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi Tilia C,

I am not sure which hostel you stayed in but it wasn't the Fat Camel as we do not have TV's in any of our private rooms as you described. I will endeavour to have this removed from Trip Advisor as it does not relate to our hostel!
I hope you enjoyed a good nights sleep in other accomodation around New Zealand!

Kind regards
Arran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I found the rooms to be not very clean and certainly it seemed to me that the dorm i was staying in had more beds crowded in than there should be but on the flip side the common area and the chill out area was quite clean and there were lots of friendly people in there. There is no wifi in the hostel paid or otherise at least not when i was there in August 2013 anyway. They do a free meal for people staying in the Hostel every night at 7 30 which can further increase the value of the hostel by saving you a few dollars on food. In all if you are planning on backpacking around New zealand and want to meet some people this is a good venue as the bar downstairs is good and full of backpackers and the price is very cheap. If however you are perhaps at the end of your trip around New Zealand and want to stay some place nice for your last few days I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peadar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi Peader M,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us for the most part.
Cleanliness is a constant issue in an old building like the Camel and we have 3 separate cleaning shifts during the day (the main shift between 10am and 1pm) as well as random room checks. I apologise if your room was not up to scratch during your visit.
I hope the reception staff made you aware of our 30 minutes free WIFI each day at our Mad Travel shop located just 40 m down the road!

We wish you happy travels
Arran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I arrived in New Zealand early on a Monday morning. I hadn't booked a room yet, and I found this hostel while still at the airport. The location is great, it's right in the center of downtown Auckland. I did have to wait until 2pm to check in, so that was a bit inconvenient. The staff was super friendly and helpful though, especially JT. The rooms are set up in an apartment style, so it was nice not sharing the kitchen and bathrooms with the whole hostel. You do have to pay for the Internet by the hour, which is standard in Auckland. There wasn't anything horrible about this place, just not the most convenient for check in time or Internet use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarmonyRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi Harmony,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your feedback to JT who is still with us, now in the travel shop.
We only push the check in time back to 2pm when the hostel is 100% full which it was for a lot of November and this is to allow the housekeeping team to clean the entire hostel without having to cut corners. I hope you took advantage of our luggage room so you could head off and explore without being weighed down. I also hope JT told you about the 30 minutes free daily WIFI we offer all our guests at the Mad Travel shop located just 40 minutes down the street!

We wish you happy travels
Arran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The bed itself was clean, the room was shabby, with cracked windows etc. The apartment was warm and smelt funny. The bathrooms were in bad shape, There is a no alcohol rule but it is not strictly enforced, make of that what you will, there's a very cheap bottle shop around the corner! The free food is nice, but very small portions, you can 'upgrade', but for the same price you can buy a Domino's pizza. Very cheap stay, and did the job, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avfc0991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi AVFC,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel. I am concerned that you think we take the drinking policy so liberally and am guessing it may have been a new staff member on duty in the evenings/overnight as we do regular checks during these shifts.
There are two reasons for this...

The bar is the only licenced area in the hostel

Drinking in the apartments leads to increased noise and mess for other guests which isn't fair.

We hope you didnt choose Dominos pizza too often as it is not as healthy as our free bar snacks and our upgrade option includes a beer wine and juice!

Happy travels mate
Nemo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Its the cheapest we could find. Walked in the door and the staff where great and the place came across as nice.

Had a private room with no windows which was ok but you should really should do two things for a private room.

1) A mirrow n the wall please.

2) A bedside lamp. This is very imporant as the room has no window and the main light is to bright to leave on when one wishes to sleep and the other to stay awake reading a book.

We only stayed 2 nights. Not sure if we woud of stayed longer but it done the jb and we got what we paid for.

Also the cost of the washer and dryer is far to high. We just came to the end of a full trip around New Zealand and this is the most we had paid to wash and dry out stuff. Not a big wash but the dryer had to have two goes. That was $8 on the dryer and $4 on the wash with $2 on powder....a joke. The girl next to me had te dryer on 3 times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

HI Jack 1887,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are glad you enjoyed the experience for the most part. We totally agree with your expectations and the only reason the budget rooms did not include a mirror and lamp etc is that we are awaiting a long promised renovation of the entire hostel by the building owners which keeps getting pushed back. We are currently looking at purchasing items such as these regardless for more of the rooms.
We apologise for the washing machines and dryers and this does not sound normal at all. 1 wash and 1 dry should take care of a decent load of washing and I am wondering if the dryer was playing up during your visit as we have had the company out for repairs a couple of times in the last few months. I hope you let recepotion know as they could have looked into the situation and offered you an extra token at no charge. If you are ever staying with us again please let me know in advance and I am happy to offer you a free wash and dry!

Kind regards
Arran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hostel was gross! We stayed in a 8 bed dorm and unfortunately we were on a floor with 4 or 5 people staying long term (1 - 3 months) the guy in our room smoked weed all day and when we asked him to go outside he told us it was his room. The kitchen and bathrooms were grotty and the whole thing was run down! The showers were cold and trickled out. After we asked the guy to go downstairs to smoke he then invited 4 or 5 of his friends in and started to smoke. We told the staff who didn't seem to care. One went up to talk to him but nothing much happened apart form we got abuse. Two girls came in on our second night who were really nice and he got really drunk and kept trying to get in bed with her until she moved. All of the long term stayers which seem to be a lot run riot every night, drinking and eating everyone's food and the staff did nothing. I would never go back! there is another nomads hostel just down the road which is much nicer and the same price!! Do not stay here! go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madaboutshoes911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Mad About Shoes,

From your review I know which apartment you were in. This has been the long term apartment for the winter and no guests were put in this apartment as any hostel will tell you
that long termers start to become increasingly messier and treat both staff and other guests with disrespect. The city becoming so busy this early in the season has taken everyone by surprise and unfortunately we have had to accommodate short term guests there over the last 2 weeks. Repeated cleanliness warnings and checks were done in this time and with the results not being satisfactory this group of long term guests were asked to leave which half have already done and the rest by Monday. That apartment will then be given a total spring clean so it resembles the rest of the rooms. Please don't rate the hostel on the behaviour of a minority of guests as not only do we not tolerate smoking of any kind in the hostel it is illegal in New Zealand. My main concern is that our team member did not immediately evict this person from the hostel once being made aware of the issue although sometimes it is hard to prove after the fact. This is being followed up on now with the reception team as we have a no tolerance policy for smoking inside and obnoxious drunken behaviour as you described which makes other guests uneasy.

Kind regards and we wish you happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hostel is value for money and the rooms are a very good size. The windows are paper thin so can hear everything specially a football game which was being played at 3am. Our bathroom was horrible when we first got here but did get a good clean the next day, unfortunately our light in the bathroom was broken for two days so couldn't see a thing when using the toilet. After all the pleasant staff at the hostel one male bar tender ruined our night by being very rude and unfriendly so we decided to go to the other nomads for a drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsid26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Sam Sid,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are stoked you enjoyed the room.
There is no excuse for a bathroom light bulb not being changed for 2 days and this is being followed up on with all reception staff. Housekeeping should alert the staff of this even if the guest hasn't and random room checks are carried out every afternoon which can also pick it up so I apologise.
I have never encountered a complaint against the manner of our bar team but if you could please e mail a quick, basic description to arran@nomadsworld.com I will follow up on this directly with the team member involved. Fort St in general is quite festive on the weekends as is right in the heart of the city and trendy district but it is unusual for the Camel Bar to be open this late. An All Blacks game played in South Africa meant the bar was open a lot later than normal on this night.

We wish you happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Auckland Hostel
Nomads Auckland Hostel
#68 of 134 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#69 of 134 in Auckland Central
988 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#29 of 134 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 134 in Auckland Central
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#51 of 134 in Auckland Central
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#2 of 134 in Auckland Central
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Address: 38 Fort Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £10 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland Downtown and is near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation with shared dorm rooms, private rooms and even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours with a 24 hour reception desk and internet access. A free snack size meal is provided every night you stay with free activities in the bar and excellent drinks specials. Come and be a part of the Fatty Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing