We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly and helpful”
Review of Alpers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpers Lodge
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here for just one night, with a group of five in July. We arrived very late but there was no problem getting into our rooms, which were clean and comfortable. I wouldn't say that the motel is particularly smart but it has everything you need. Had a good breakfast the following morning and the staff allowed us to leave our luggage with them after check-out as we were being picked up at 1pm. Found the staff very friendly and obliging and would recommend this motel as a good base from which to discover Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_Algie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Alpers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

Worst place I have ever stayed in! Found my room with difficulty after following the direction of the off-hand wave of the receptionist. It was not in the Motel-like building but in a ricketty old house next door and upstairs too. Room was tired,oddly shaped and furnished,television only worked on one channel. In one corner was a pink plastic rubbish bin with no lid which didn't help to improve the decor. Cleaning was not of a high standard and the freezer box of the fridge was very iced up so hadn't been properly cleaned for months. This was a non-smoking property but there were burn marks in the old platic handbasin and burn holes in the bedspread. Didn't get to sleep until 1am when the loud footsteps going to the other rooms stopped. The stairs creaked very badly. Roadworks right outside woke me at 7am.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were expecting a unit like the ones shown on their website.
The rooms they put us in were not up to standard, riped curtains, patched holes in the wall, very poor housekeeping standards, noisy leaking spouting on the roof.
Never again will be stay here again, way overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Close to the airport. The rooms are dated but are clean. The price is not so good, we had a better deal last time at the newer Ventura Inn. But they were full. We had a family room where the kids had a bedroom upstairs. Breakfast was included and delivered the night before. Free airport shuttle which we made use of in the moring.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Alpers lodge is situated close to Newmarket and Aucklands CBD. The rooms are very dated with old furnishings but was overall a great price at around 90NZD Per night. Alpers Avenue is a one way road and can get quite busy however if staying in one of the end units its very quiet. We didnt experience the restaurant but did use the hotels internet which was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ByronBay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2007

This was a return visit as the Alpers Lodge is on the main route from the airport - about half hour by car or shuttle bus. It is situated close to the motorway, which is very convenient for travelling on. The Link bus is about 200 metres away and stops at many of the downtown attractions.

My room looked very smart with coffee, kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and iron. The bathroom only had a shower and not bath, and had a tired appearance, but was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. You need directions as leaving the hotel on the one-way system can be a problem!!!.

This used to be a Flag Hotel with a good seafood restaurant, but now Comfort Inn has turned it into an oriental restaurant and I don't like spicy food. However, breakfast is still good with either continental buffet or cooked breakfast.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

After landing at 5AM in Auckland and driving a rental car from the left side, it was great to have a motel with easy access. Our room was ready when we arrived. The motel is rather old and needs some updates, but the room was clean and it was quiet. Although not downtown, there were shops and restaurants a few blocks away and you could walk to the Auckland Museum. Getting out of town the next day was no problem with the highway nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland Central
701 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#47 of 67 in Auckland Central
96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland Central
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland Central
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 67 in Auckland Central
547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland Central
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpers Lodge

Address: 16 Alpers Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £54 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Alpers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auckland
Auckland Comfort Inn
Alpers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing