We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel, and not much else”
Review of Alpers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpers Lodge
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Alpers Lodge is a Motel, short and sweet. The kitchen in our suite was functional. The breakfast at this motel left much to be desired. Staff was friendly, but the internet from the public wifi is lousy. All in all, average.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Alpers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Don't be put off by the dated exterior. If you purely want some where to crash for a night & won't be spending days in your room, this place was very functional. The room was clean & tidy, the bed was sooo comfortable and the shower pressure was first rate. It is only a 5 minute walk to the cafe's in Newmarket & the staff were friendly. Pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workineverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Convenient location, clean, with fantastic shower! Lovely to be woken at 5am with the sound of a Tui albeit in the centre of Auckland. Good price with good choice for breakfast (included). Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet would have been a bonus but that would be all I could fault.

Room Tip: Turn the toilet cistern off at night unless you want woken every 20 minutes with a pump noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We had a room in the main part of the motel (the building where reception is). I asked to see the room first, which was spacious, with an LCD tv on the wall, overall it had a nice enough feel to it, even if walking down the corridor the building seems pretty dated. For the price and location (walking distance to Newmarket and easy motorway access) it was pretty good, and came with complementary breakfast for 2. Crisp sheets on the bed(s), great duvet (so good that I had a look on the tag what brand and am trying to locate one for at home!). The staff were helpful and polite (both at reception and at breakfast).

Didn't really like the shower (hot and cold were back to front. To turn the water OFF you have to swing it around really fast as it goes to HOT before OFF). Shower curtain allowed water to splash on bathroom floor. Bathroom is very small as well. Drapes did not block out the light.

In summary, for the price we paid it and the great location, it was a good experience. If you only want luxury, stay somewhere else. Was able to walk down to the Countdown supermarket (open till late), food hall (open in the daytime), restaurants and shopping is excellent at Newmarket. Free parking at the motel.

PS My review is about the room(s) in the main building. I can't speak for the rooms in the old buildings next door which are part of this motel. If unsure, check with reception before you book.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building where reception is. Rooms at the back of the block are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here for just one night, with a group of five in July. We arrived very late but there was no problem getting into our rooms, which were clean and comfortable. I wouldn't say that the motel is particularly smart but it has everything you need. Had a good breakfast the following morning and the staff allowed us to leave our luggage with them after check-out as we were being picked up at 1pm. Found the staff very friendly and obliging and would recommend this motel as a good base from which to discover Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_Algie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Worst place I have ever stayed in! Found my room with difficulty after following the direction of the off-hand wave of the receptionist. It was not in the Motel-like building but in a ricketty old house next door and upstairs too. Room was tired,oddly shaped and furnished,television only worked on one channel. In one corner was a pink plastic rubbish bin with no lid which didn't help to improve the decor. Cleaning was not of a high standard and the freezer box of the fridge was very iced up so hadn't been properly cleaned for months. This was a non-smoking property but there were burn marks in the old platic handbasin and burn holes in the bedspread. Didn't get to sleep until 1am when the loud footsteps going to the other rooms stopped. The stairs creaked very badly. Roadworks right outside woke me at 7am.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were expecting a unit like the ones shown on their website.
The rooms they put us in were not up to standard, riped curtains, patched holes in the wall, very poor housekeeping standards, noisy leaking spouting on the roof.
Never again will be stay here again, way overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 66 in Auckland Central
96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 66 in Auckland Central
548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland Central
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpers Lodge

Address: 16 Alpers Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Alpers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auckland
Auckland Comfort Inn
Alpers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing