We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable”
Review of Alpers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpers Lodge
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good value for money.We stayed 2 nights here, the bed was so comfortable & room nicely appointed.Helpful staff we would stay here again.Very quiet even though close to motorway & broadway (Newmarket).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed 10 days, paid bill night before leaving incl dinner for two $1397. Next morning on departure presented with phone a/c $1.97 ringed in highlighter pen. Mean in my book. Room not cleaned properly, car park & outbuildings untidy. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nocamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Value for money, Location ideal, free parking. Stayed one night. Check in friendly and hassle-free. Room clean. King bed comfortable. Free Wifi. Yes premises are old and dated however my experience was great - no hassles, good nights sleep. Happy with continental breakfast. Staff friendly. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs in main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I always enjoy a stay at Alpers Lodge and recommend it as being easy to locate from the airport or motorway and an ideal point for travel around Auckland. It is well priced and good value and rates 100% for convenience and access to the rest of Auckland or directly to and from the airport.
Ideal for the solo travelling business person as well as groups or families traveling together.

Bookings systems are efficient and uncomplicated.

It is in a one-way street leading directly on to the Northern Motorway from Gillies Avenue with a right hand turn controlled by traffic lights. So no battling the traffic. A quick drive around the .block with a left turn leads back to Manukau Road and directly into Broadway Newmarket which is a central location for shops and restaurants and leads into Parnell with the same attractions or further down into the CBD and the Harbour and Port.
Or over the North Shore or travel North through the underpass and over the Harbour Bridge.

The Newmarket shops and restaurants are an easy walk and back into Manukau Road has bus stops.

It has plenty of parking on site and the rooms are well furnished and well kept. Air conditioning has recently been added for further comfort.

Room Tip: I prefer a downstairs room leading straight into the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Third time at this motel in Newmarket, the rooms in the main building are alright for an affordable motel, good location and free parking, communal (basic) breakfast option - toast, peaches, yoghurt, 3 types of cereal, coffee, tea. LCD TV in room on the wall, however limited number of channels. Clean quality linen, no bedspreads luckily, but duvet encased in sheets, like you see in a proper hotel. You can be sure the bed's clean that way.

Could improve on: placing wine glasses in the room (wine from a drinking glass or a coffee mug isn't very appetising).

Friendly Asian proprietors and cleaners, the place looks like it's been refurbished for the most part, blonde lady checking us in was helpful too. We stay here when wanting a budget option with a free car park, that doesn't break the bank.

One point noted during our last stay, unless I am mistaken, there seems to be a resident Maori family (or two) living long term in one wing of the premises. Seen them hanging around and bring in a number of family members to breakfast each morning. This has been the same each time we stayed here over the past year or two.

Room tip: upstairs in the main building. We have stayed downstairs also but prefer upstairs on the north facing side. Feels more secure upstairs as you're slightly higher up and less likely to get prowlers or someone break and enter. On our first day we saw a couple of suspicious looking young (white) guys enter, walk down the corridor to the end, then back and out again. Just didn't look right / suspicious. Upstairs feels safer.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Got to say the night receptionist was very friendly and helpful with directions, the morning one not so good. Made to stand around for say a minute or two - seems a short time but actually not, while talking to staff. you might say god what a wingger I am, but it was not what you expect at the reception.The rooms are old, that's fine. But the dirty dishes in the room and an oversight with staff just leaving two towels for three guest happens. We cleaned the w/c before we used it just because there was no guarantee it was clean. Very noisey and wont be back

Room Tip: stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docosa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Best thing is the location close to Auckland city, pricing isn't too bad either not a flash place but was ok for short notice as our other accommodation had double booked our room which nearly put a hault to our anniversary night out to a concert.
Friendly service and enjoyed my toast the next day as they had marmite and back at that time because of the christchurch earthquake there was none in stores and will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KereHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#55 of 66 in Auckland Central
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpers Lodge

Address: 16 Alpers Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £49 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Newmarket neighborhood in Auckland, 33.8 km from Orewa, Alpers Lodge & Conference Centre features a restaurant, bar and free WiFi throughout the property. Guests can enjoy the on-site restaurant. Free private parking is available on site. The rooms are fitted with a TV. Extras include free toiletries and a hairdryer. There is room service at the property. The nearest airport is Auckland Airport, 14.5 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alpers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auckland
Auckland Comfort Inn
Alpers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing