We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than others say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Victoria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Better than others say”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Not a four star hotel or even a three star, but for the price, it's fine. Close to the Domain, the best place to visit in Auckland, right across the street from a lovely rose garden, and close to various pretty good eateries. If you want night life and high-end accommodations, this is not for you. If you want a reasonable room and quiet, not bad. Very nice staff, nice patio with BBQ for cookouts. Good bottle shop down the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    105
    103
    31
    24
See reviews for
64
102
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We needed a Hotel in Auckland for 1 night and usually book with Copthorne, Kingsate, Millenium Hotels if we can. Had never stayed at the Parnell Kingsgate before, and actually thought it was nearer to Parnell Village. However - it's still walking distance to the shops, and a beautiful quiet spot overlooking the Parnell Rose Gardens. The room was definitely beginning to need a makeover but was spacious, had a clean bathroom and contained everything we needed. Our room rate included a full cooked breakfast ans was great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Rose Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at the Kingsgate Hotel for the night as we were heading to the Vector Arena for a concert and realised it was very near the venue.
Check-in was speedy and the staff were very nice. Headed up to the room which was as other people have stated very dated and tired but clean and tidy. Have no qualms about the room as it was for only the one night and quite reasonably priced.

Ordered room service for dinner and found the food to be extremely yummy. Highly recommend the hotels restaurant Jimmy Cooks. Had breakfast up there the next day and that was just as good.

If we were to go to another concert at the Vector we would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concert-Fans12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went to a concert in Auckland & stayed the night - Kingsgate Parnell value for money was perfect as all we needed was a bed for the night. Place could do with a spruce up but was clean & tidy & if it was flash we wouldn't be able to afford it. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBWPFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai,india
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Had a short stay the Kingsgate hotel.The weather was quite warm and there was no airconditioning fitted making the room unbearably hot.Had to keep the window and door open to circulate some air and make it some what better.Had a room over looking the pool which tended to get quite noisy as obviously the pool was in demand due to the weather.
Room itself has seen better days and the carpet was in poor condition.Very basic furnishings and the TV was an antique !
The only plus points are the restuarant on the third floor overlooking a nice rose garden which had decent food. The location of the hotel is okay.About a 15 to 20 minute walk to the city centre.
Given a choice i do not think i would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOP
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Came across the Kingsgate website but as it was a last minute booking decided to ring the hotel directly and the woman on the phone tried to sell me the room for about $30 more than advertised on their website and didn't sound too inpressed when I pulled her up on it.
Check in staff were ok, nothing fantastic. Room was VERY dated and looked very old and tired. Massive stain on the carpet at the end of the bed, the 2 chairs in the room looked very worn and old and had the prevoius occupants hair still on it. The bed felt like it was about 30 years old, very uncomfortable. The bathroom was mouldy and the vanity stained, the bath was only half the size of a normal bath, with a tatty shower curtain that only reached half way along the length of the bath and if you stood up completly in the shower over bath your head is almost touching the ceiling which was mouldy.
Woken up at about 7am thanks to the houskeeping staff banging around next door and dragging the vacum cleaner and housekeeping trolley backwards and forwards repeatedly past our door.
Kingsagate should be ashamed to have this hotel bearing their name.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stay a night, very good service from front desk, person was very helpful and changed our room to overlook the rose garden. the decor of the room is dated could do with a new paint to bring it back to life more modern, the room was clean and tidy could not hear any noise.
The price of the rice is right and close to the CBD and motorway, a short walk to Parnell shops and bus stop, plenty of free parking on site and on the road.

Breakfast at Jimmys Cook Restaurant was really great, third floor of the main hotel overlooking the rose garden, wonderful and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel and restaurant and would stay their again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seakimcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 67 in Auckland
167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing