We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Booked here by my company last minute as our usually places were unavailable. As previous reviews noted the rooms are a bit dated but clean and functional. I am not a light sleeper but woke early at 0530 with a group leaving and associated buses making a huge amount of noise which was easily heard through the windows. I found my room to have little or no sound proofing.

Room Tip: For a quite room ask for one away from the road and lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlgNZ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    105
    103
    31
    24
See reviews for
64
102
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is discrete and unassuming, but the service is fine and the pool is a pleasant surprise. Considering the rates, it is definitely value for money. The 10:00 am check-out time is a bit annoying, but it seems to hold all over New Zealand, so it is not a shortcoming of the hotel,

Marco Rocha

Room Tip: I wouldn't know really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Not a four star hotel or even a three star, but for the price, it's fine. Close to the Domain, the best place to visit in Auckland, right across the street from a lovely rose garden, and close to various pretty good eateries. If you want night life and high-end accommodations, this is not for you. If you want a reasonable room and quiet, not bad. Very nice staff, nice patio with BBQ for cookouts. Good bottle shop down the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We needed a Hotel in Auckland for 1 night and usually book with Copthorne, Kingsate, Millenium Hotels if we can. Had never stayed at the Parnell Kingsgate before, and actually thought it was nearer to Parnell Village. However - it's still walking distance to the shops, and a beautiful quiet spot overlooking the Parnell Rose Gardens. The room was definitely beginning to need a makeover but was spacious, had a clean bathroom and contained everything we needed. Our room rate included a full cooked breakfast ans was great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Rose Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at the Kingsgate Hotel for the night as we were heading to the Vector Arena for a concert and realised it was very near the venue.
Check-in was speedy and the staff were very nice. Headed up to the room which was as other people have stated very dated and tired but clean and tidy. Have no qualms about the room as it was for only the one night and quite reasonably priced.

Ordered room service for dinner and found the food to be extremely yummy. Highly recommend the hotels restaurant Jimmy Cooks. Had breakfast up there the next day and that was just as good.

If we were to go to another concert at the Vector we would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concert-Fans12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went to a concert in Auckland & stayed the night - Kingsgate Parnell value for money was perfect as all we needed was a bed for the night. Place could do with a spruce up but was clean & tidy & if it was flash we wouldn't be able to afford it. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBWPFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai,india
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Had a short stay the Kingsgate hotel.The weather was quite warm and there was no airconditioning fitted making the room unbearably hot.Had to keep the window and door open to circulate some air and make it some what better.Had a room over looking the pool which tended to get quite noisy as obviously the pool was in demand due to the weather.
Room itself has seen better days and the carpet was in poor condition.Very basic furnishings and the TV was an antique !
The only plus points are the restuarant on the third floor overlooking a nice rose garden which had decent food. The location of the hotel is okay.About a 15 to 20 minute walk to the city centre.
Given a choice i do not think i would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indian-travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 67 in Auckland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing