We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, Newly renovated, Clean and Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Value for Money, Newly renovated, Clean and Basic”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed for 3 night in Nov-2012 on the block opposite the lobby. The room is clean and newly upgrade with new furniture, carpet and paint job. Free Parking for guest. Directly opposite the Rose park with Sunday morning street market with nice food and interesting stuff to see. Near to downtown and Parnell street with restaurants and shops. I would recommend this hotel for budget traveler with kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    108
    104
    31
    24
See reviews for
65
104
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

we had a lovely dinner with gorgeous views of the rose gardens and bay but the room was pokey and their was construction work going on quite early in the morning.
staff were helpful but wouldn't rush to stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allamuchy, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I came home to New Zealand for a vacation and travelled extensively. Unfortunately the last place we stayed before departing back to the States was this hotel! It was just horrendous - where do I start. Under renovation and there was construction mess throughout the elevators, hallways. The internet for which they charge $20 for 24 hours was awful - dropped Skype calls, dropped Wifi and so the list goes on. Even the room telephone went out of order for a number of hours with no explanation. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired - twice we had leakage from old pipes all over the floor, towel racks hanging off the wall, 1960's pink tile on the walls, midget size shower heads, antique hairdryers....... The front desk was not in the least apologetic for all our inconvenices. I would never stay there again or recomment that anybody else do. Beware is all I can say.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Paihia, null, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

When we stayed in Kingsgate Hotel couple of months ago, I completed loved the customer service however the restaurant food was aweful. My last stay with Rose park hotel was a nightmare. We ordered for room service food - wrong food items has been delivered to the room when I asked them to fix it, the duty manager took 20 mins to fix the problems while we were in the room waiting for the food. Room was clean and spacious but there was construction going on just above our room. we could not enjoy our sleep-in time. I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and they were nice to let us check in early after our very long flight which was great. The bus stop to the city is right in front of the hotel and only took 6 minutes. It could not be more convenient plus we saved quite a bit of expense by not having to pay for daily parking that you do if you stay at a more expensive hotel in the noisy city area. It was quiet and peaceful here. Our room was very clean, neat and bright. The shower was one of the best I've had in years. The decor may not have been ultra modern but so what? The room was clean,comfortable,convenient,in good condition, quiet and a fair value. It was a wonderful beginning to our travels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

having previously stayed at the kingsgate parnell we loved our stay. This time it was a completely different experience altogether. We booked on their own website (well it appeared to be anyway) a room called a "double double" as there were 3 of us. The room included continental breakfast for 2 and a complimentary morning newspaper. When I went to check in, the receptionist (who I will say was very polite the whole time, but eventually became polite and condescending) he advised me it was a double and a single bed. I then advised him we had booked a double double, to which then he preceded to search for a room to see if they had one available- I had booked this and paid for it 2 weeks earlier! He then said they had a room with 3 beds, which I accepted. This turned out to be 2 singles and a double. This suited us fine even though it wasn't what we had originally asked for. When we couldn't find a compendium about the facilities, I had to call and ask about laundry facilities etc, such a basic thing they need to provide in all rooms. I then went over to reception to ask him about how it worked in regards to the continental breakfasts that came free with the room. To which he advised me that the room did not come with continental breakfast. I advised him that thats what i paid for and it said it did at the time of booking. He then looked up on his computer and again in his condescending tone advised me for the room rate we paid it would not include breakfast at all. I then said to him I would go back to my room and find the email, to which he advised it would be honoured if i could prove it, and then said "good luck" - as if i was lying.. Was pretty fuming by this stage. Went back to my room and found the email and marched across laptop and all to show him the email. He then said .. "wow you got a really good deal"- DUH! that is why we booked it. I then offered to show him the website details so he could correct it for the future if it was wrong but he wasn't interested. The rest of the stay was fine. The carpets in our room were lovely and it had clearly been renovated, but the bathrooms had not. To get anything down the toilet you had to hold the button down for a long time. I think i remember this from last time. I don't think we will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a city facing room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cam86nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for the RWC in 2011. The prices were inflated 4x standard prices for match nights during the RWC. The hotel rooms were very much run down motel rooms, with damaged furniture and fittings, rust etc. The food offered via the restaurant was very poor, so ventured out mostly to eat. Its location was convenient, although not in Auckland CBD, there was bus stop right out the front, but it had a limited service schedule. We struggled for decent accommodation during the rugby, so settled for this, but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambra_Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 67 in Auckland
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing