We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful Rose Park Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful Rose Park Hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had occasion to stay at the Auckland Rose Park Hotel for 1 night recently and it is definitely on our recommended Hotel list for Auckland.

The accommodations are reasonably spacious for the moderate tariff, and, for us, it was wonderful to look out onto the beautiful Parnell Rose Gardens.

The restaurant is good and the mini bars in the Hotel rooms are well stocked!

The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy with prompt attention at the front desk most times of the day/night.

You are a 30 minute, casual walk to Auckland CBD and all cafes, banks, shops, etc, are within comfortable and short walk from the Rose Park Hotel.
Thank you to the Rose Park Hotel Management and Staff for making our short stay so restful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Parnell Rose Gardens for the view or, if you absolutely need the peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Good afternoon Richard L,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

Our rooms and spacious and the view is spectacular on a nice clear morning. Thanks again for your honest feedback and we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    105
    103
    31
    24
See reviews for
64
102
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The restaurant and bar service was excellent, the food plentiful, well presented and very nice, the reception staff were great but the room was disappointing.
Upon entering the first thing that one noticed was the tears in the net curtains and we were surprised that a " double - double" was in fact exactly right - two double beds and after a night on them thought that they had to be very old as any comfort level was lacking.
There was no instructions as to how the heating worked or what TV channel was what unfortunately as the other information was good.
The lack of ventilation overnight meant that we awoke to condensation on the windows - most probably the reason for the demise of the net curtains.
We would go back for the restaurant but would no doubt ensure that we at least found a queen bed or beds in the newer block of units for the night - also we would choose the spring or summer to avoid the dampness.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the older units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Good morning Kasper454,

Thank you for your honest feedback,

We certainly pride ourselves on our service, location, food and cleanliness.

Let me assure you that the comments you have raised in regards to the ventilation, comfort of the beds and heating instructions have been dealt with with the appropriate departmental managers to avoid repetition.

Please contact me on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz should you wish to rebook with us and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I needed a place to stay while my husband was in Auckland hospital awaiting a lung transplant. The photos on the website in no way reflect the terrible state of the rooms. I felt as though I was in a jail cell. When I talked to the owners about my husband they accused me of lying! As I didn't feel valued, safe or comfortable I chose to leave, they refused to give me a refund on the room I had spent 5 minutes in. I left anyway, would rather lose $115 then stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Good afternoon bmcduncan,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am certainly very disappointed reading your feedback and have asked our team members for a full explanation as this does not portray our company values our how we wish to be percieved.

I would like to have the opportunity to rectify this matter with you, would you please contact myself on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz as I would like to to ensure this does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location. Thats where the positive stuff ends. The 'recently refurbished room' on the website is false advertising. There is nothing recent. Even the dirt had been there a long time. Filthy black grime in the corners, greasy windows and dusty beds. Bring your own cups, teaspoons and tea bags. There's nothing extra for the overpriced night.

Room Tip: The whole place is a dump. Drive on. There is much better value and service down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoke105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Good afternoon smoke105,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

Our location is certainly an advantage in which we are very lucky.

We are working hard on the cleaning standards in all our rooms and have this week professionally washed each and every window the hotel. I would like to be able to change your perception of us, if you are travelling to Auckland again, please email me on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz and I will ensure your room is up to a suitable standard and a true reflection of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Auckland Rose Park Hotel while I was in the area on business. The hotel is definitely in the budget category (although for 2 South Africans, it was over-priced by comparison to what you would find in South Africa). The Parnell Rose Gardens are across the road, and make a pleasant walk in the evenings.

A few pluses - the location is great for Parnell, the CBD and the Vector Arena. There is a restaurant onsite, and we ate there one evening. There was only one member of staff, but he was very polite and professional. We did not eat breakfast as it we thought it was expensive at $20 a head. The LCD TV is an ample 32 inches and they have a few Sky Channels supplied (although not much sport). There is a bar fridge, with tea, coffee, milk and a kettle supplied. The cleaning staff did do a good job, and on the whole the staff were friendly.

The bathroom is the main downfall - it could use a revamp (it's pink 1970's tiling does it no favours), while the toilet does not flush properly - it took about 4 flushes. As someone else mentioned, the step in and out of the bath is a bit high and someone could potentially have a bad fall. There is paid WIFI, which we opted out of due to the high charges (various data caps such as $20 for a 1GB to be used in one day only). The hotel is advertised as air conditioned, but ours wasn't working, which made for a very warm room due to direct sunlight. Various staff and guests are VERY noisy while walking down corridors, so be prepared to be woken up early (or late).

On the whole, we had a fairly pleasant time, but if you are prepared to spend a bit more to feel a bit special elsewhere, you should probably do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirtygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Good afternoon Thirtygirl,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

Our location, service and cleaning are certainly areas that we are proud of and further enhance what we are trying to achieve as a hotel. Our bathrooms are currently being inspected for deep cleaning. Our breakfast, room and WIFI prices are comparative amongst our competitors and this is currently under review.

If you are ever back in New Zealand and visit Auckland, please feel free to email me on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this motel last weekend while in Auckland to attend a concert at Vector Arena,
We did expect to much as the price was very reasonable and it looked ok on its web site with all the basics we need.
Upon entering our room I could see it more than just a little tired but was cleanish. It did have a very nice view of the rose gardens across a very busy and noisy road and there was also a small balcony. Unfortunately the sliding door that led onto it refused to open and was obviously broken. This also stopped from getting any fresh air into what was a very stuffy room. I called down to reception about this but was politely told they could fix it, it had been like that for some time and that they did not have any other room to give us.
It was about this time we realized that there was no sound proofing between the rooms as we were entertained by the sound of couple next door testing the very small double beds. We decide to stay on as it was time to go off to our concert and figured it was only for one night. When we arrived back some 5 hours later the lack of air in room became a real problem as was a very humid night.
Thankfully exhaustion got us to sleep only to be woken up at 6.00am by the sound of foot steeps of the staff preparing the restaurant above for breakfast.
Not being able to get back to sleep as the road noise had also built up now we decide to shower
and hit the road. The shower was at best poor and you could only get it to warm on full.
All in all the poorest stay in any motel I have experience and will never go back...
The best thing about this motel is it location and polite staff but that's about it..

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hatch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Good afternoon hatch69,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

Our location and staff interaction certainly set us apart from our competitors and we are very lucky. We have rectified the shower and balcony door issues.

If you are in Auckland again and require a hotel room, feel free to contact me directly on ramon.james@aucklandroseparkhotel.co.nz and I will ensure you are well looked after.

King regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Whilst this is not in the luxurious category, this hotel offers very good, spacious superior rooms and if you are visiting Vector arena - its a 10 -15 minute walk. The staff are helpful and friendly the rooms are clean and bright. The bathrooms could do with a bit of a makeover, but for the price, very good all round

Room Tip: Offers a hotel restaurant which we have not yet tried and there is a pool and outdoor area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon J, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Good afternoon Sally B,

Thank you for your feedback.

Service and location are certainly 2 areas in which we are very lucky. Thank you for your comments on our clean and bright rooms, this is currently an area of focus and your comments assist in what we are trying to achieve.

Kind regards,

Ramon James - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 67 in Auckland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Property: Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing