We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem.. with all the luxury & trimmings of byegone era”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotter House Luxury Retreat
Ranked #46 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
auckland
1 review
“A hidden Gem.. with all the luxury & trimmings of byegone era”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in true style of a byegone era!! Gloria is very thoughtful of her pampering care of you, well organised and professional - her knowledge on history and arts from all around the world is very impressive and entertaining!
There are not many places where you really do receive a proper silver service standard ......and Gloria fulfills this beautifully.
I think Cotter House and it's history added to the grandeur and ambiance of our stay, and we are very pleased the property is in such capable hands, Gloria is very sympatheitc to the needs of such a rare old property and is doing a magnificent job caring for this unique piece of history on behalf of Auckland and NZ.

Thank you for your warm and generous hospitality, breakfast was divine.... all 4 courses!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here in November of 2007 at the beginning and end of a 3-week vacation in New Zealand, and I returned again myself for a week for business in October of 2008. The quality of the rooms, furnishings, linens, service and grounds are superb. The location is Remuera, a very nice residential neighborhood about 15 minutes from the Central Business District. The location is ideal if you want to explore Auckland, want a base for day trips, or need a few days of luxury to unwind from a long flight or to cap off physically tiring adventures you may have had in NZ. The building is an historic landmark mansion that is one of the oldest (and nicest) homes in Auckland, with lovely gardens. It is filled with antiques and artwork. Gloria, the owner, is a perfect hostess, a tremendous cook, and a fascinating source of information about NZ. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and this is certainly the equal of any place we have stayed at, and much less expensive than a Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvinosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Gloria was very friendly and an ex host.
Our breakfast's were made by Gloria, and she served us well with a four course, every morning at the time we wanted.
The rooms are very nice but very antique and cluttered with all the gadgets on show.
Bathroom beautiful although the shower kept going hot and cold.
We didn't bring slippers so Gloria put a brand new pair each in our room.
Location is not too bad if you have a car.
Gloria is full of stories about her life so if you don't mind listening to them while you have your breakfast then that's fine.
It would have been really nice to have gone in winter with the fire burning in our bedroom!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The Bronze Suite offers all the elegance, privacy and room any couple needs. A luxurious setting, within a quiet retreat. Mixing modern amenities with beautiful antiquities and a wonderful art collection made for a rich experience. The staff were quiet, competent and always available.
Being U.S. citizens, we left all our private wedding plans to our hostess, Gloria Poupard, to guide us for our special event in the ballroom. She performed admirably while sourcing all experts and resources to keep our anxiety tolerable .Her wide ranging creativity managing the celebrant, musicians, photographer culinary/wine side was just marvelous. She obviously has a wealth of knowledge and passion for her New Zealand history. Proximity (2 blocks) to local downtown Remuera brought comfort for last minute restaurants, stores,gifts, etc. This would be a great gem for a family reunion or small conference. Just a very special sanctuary!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This tucked away B and B is a hidden gem. After traveling the world and staying in top hotels in Paris, London, Rome, New York, well, Cotter House tops them all. The care put into all the details from the silverware to table cloths to bed linens is supreme. And it maintains a wonderful charm, a perfect spot for anyone to explore Auckland from. The owner Gloria could not be nicer or more accommodating to her guests needs. Also a great place for afternoon tea or private events. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackfruitBandit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We had a wonderful 28th wedding anniversary; the place is full of history and pieces of art from all around the world. The atmosphere was very relaxed and worm.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalshWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

It was my wife's 50th birthday and I planned a surprise dinner party for 50 guests. i wanted a venue that could do the idea justice, as the theme was to be "Last Dinner aboard the RMS Titanic, April 12th 1912" and I planned to reprise the menu from the first class dining room. Cotter House, with its upstairs guest suites for the guests who would be flying in from Australia, and its lovely ballroom, with barrel vaulted ceiling seemed an ideal venue. The House, built around 1850, is a significant heritage home, located in the leafy suburb of Remuera. It is a treasure trove of eclectic international art and the fittings and furnishings have been lovingly restored. It seemed ideal for what we wanted to do, but could a small boutique hotel with only three guest suites cope with a sit down, 9 course banquet for 50 guests?
Thanks to indefatigable hostess Gloria, the answer was a resounding success. With weeks of preparation, the menu items were tested and refined, key ingredients sourced, wines matched, selected and laid by and preparations handled with minimal fuss. As the host I was kept fully informed and my frequent changes of plans, alterations in guest numbers and hare-brained ideas were met with professional diplomacy and indulgence. The entire home was beautifully decorated for the night and the banqueting hall was truly a sight to behold. The surprise was maintained until literally the last minute and the night was a resounding success. What made the night truly one to remember was that we had friends flying in from Australia, who were able to stay over in the hotel's guest suites overnight. My wife and I stayed over as well and the weekend ended with the six of us sitting down to a sumptuous brunch in front of a cosy fire, while the icy winter rain pelted down outside. It was a great way to wrap up a wonderful weekend and I would not hesitate to recommend Cotter House, as a cosy yet luxurious retreat or as a function venue, to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,180 reviews
4.0 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Retreat On The Park
Retreat On The Park
#1 of 1 in Greenlane
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotter House Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotter House Luxury Retreat

Property: Cotter House Luxury Retreat
Address: 2 St Vincent Avenue | Remuera, Auckland 1050, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cotter House Luxury Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotter House, a 5-star Historic Regency 1847 Mansion offering 4 exquisite hi-tech rooms, is a Private Retreat and Art Hotel, with a 1100 sq ft ballroom ideal for honeymoons and weddings, business meetings, conferences and intimate corporate entertaining. In a rare and beautifully secluded heritage setting, guests are offered all modern conveniences: free Wi-Fi, dedicated laptops, Satellite Sky TV, iPod/iPod docks,iPad on request. Guests have direct dial phones while in residence, guest office, and access to in-room Spa treatments, Gym, private pool and Sauna/steam room. Enjoy privacy, charm, ambiance and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotter House Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotter House Luxury Retreat Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing