We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Central
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas for one night in the Balcony King Room. The room had everything you needed - air conditioning (forgot how humid Auckland is..) a fridge to keep drinks cool, an AMAZING shower (higher the pressure the better), and a balcony over looking Albert Street and SkyCity.

Location wise, can't be faulted. Within 5-10 minutes walk of everything you'd want to see in Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel is in central part of Auckland, just across the road from the Civic Theatre, it is clean and the single beds room was roomy.The carparking is in the Crown Plaza hotel carpark for $21.00 a night as long as you leave the car there and don't move it till morning.There is plenty of shops restaurant all handy,Starbucks is 2mins walk also.The continental breakfast was fabulous., hot pancakes maple syrup yummy and a big selection of other food.

Room Tip: corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My daugther and I spent two nights here last week. We had asked for two double beds when booking and were told yes this was available. But on arrival were told, they had no rooms with two double beds. So had to take a room with two singles. Could change as it was a flybuys booking. Guy on desk was ok, but not overley pleasant or helpful. Mentioned that he would be giving us a bigger room. Hard to believe as fly buys only get standard rooms anyway. Room was small but still plenty of room for the two of us. No windows in room 403, just a skylight, never had that before! But very tidy and in good condition. Tho not keen on shower curtain. Breakfasts available at a reasonable price either cooked or contintental. Lovely lady in Restaurant. Parking is next door in Crowne Plaza hotel and is very handy walking distance and ok prices I guess. When checking out, staff were very helpful as we had lost parking ticket and generally there is a $35 lost fee. Lady on receiption got around this for us and we only had the $21 fee. Overall not a bad place to stay, but disappointed by no windows and "muck up" with bed sizes. But very central and so easy to walk down town etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Rooms are very small and cleaning wasn't up to the standard I would expect of a hotel. Mould around the bath tub and accumulated dirt on the formica surrounding the bath suggested a good scrub is long overdue. We were moved to a slightly larger room where the "clean" toilet still had poo stuck to the inside of the bowl. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Garry Young (You) reviewed in the last week
Quality 1 / 3 Facilities 1 / 3 Service 0 / 3
I and five other people in the Hotel business used this extensively in the last 5 years. It is, or was, quite a good cheaper accommodation choice in the Auckland CBD. Over the years we spent over $40,000, just staying there, in all, over 300 room nights. The staff were ok, but one thing they always got wrong, was a late 12 noon checkout time. Without exception Housekeeping would always knock on the door at about 11am and say, it's checkout time, wow, why can't The front desk talk to Housekeeping, like us normal Hoteliers do. They always professed they did, believe me, they didn't. The proverbial excrement hit the fan last evening when for the very 1st time over a 5 year period, I dared to ask for a 1pm checkout, as I had a meeting at midday and wanted to do it in the privacy of my room. Well, I am so sorry I even asked. The so called receptionist said, you have to pay a half day rate, and was rude about it as well. Now, I know the rules of Hotels with checkouts, there are always exceptions. If in my Hotel I had a person requesting a 1pm checkout and he/she had used the Hotel on a very regular basis, I would bend over for them. The Hotel had very few guests, I checked. Why the hell would an arrogant reception guy want to lose an account for the Hotel which is over $8,000 a year. I can only assume his ego was so huge, he wanted the last say. The people I put through there will now be shifted to another property. Now Mr receptionist, you can go tell your boss you just lost him around $8,000 a year in revenue, you twerp. We will never grace the property again. I have also informed some people who are booked there, to cancel, they have. Garry Young Hotelier

Room Tip: No helpful hints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Very central to everything, therefore noisy, take some earplugs they work wonderfully. Staff very cheerful and helpful. Car parking available. 5-10mins walk to the Viaduct and harbour restaurants, or there are plenty right at the doorstep. The room very small but aren't they all in budget big city hotels!. Had a double bed, good shower, and TV.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs, probably northern side would be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights the staff is amazing and very helpful, the assisted us with everything that we need.
The room that was first given was tiny and near the elevator ,so the staff gave us another room bigger (still small.). The room although small are clean and serviced daily
This hotel is centrally located near everything. There restaurant stores, ferry terminal, bus terminal are all at a walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxy86_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#55 of 66 in Auckland Central
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland Central
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing