We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"STANDARD ROOM" is TERRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Central
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"STANDARD ROOM" is TERRIBLE”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked through Expedia a nice room, but when we arrived the room we got was a shoebox- not even enough space to put our suitcases!
I called Expedia only to be told its not their fault so there is nothing they can do and its not their fault as the hotel provides the photos for the rooms.

We asked at the front desk to change rooms only to be told they were fully booked except a couple of rooms that would cost 50% more than we already paid!

TERRIBLE SERVICE ALL ROUND

Luckily the next morning we asked again to change room and were given a better room by the lovely lady on the front desk (Merri)
She saved our stay and if it wasnt for her actions this would be a scathing review.

Room Tip: do not book a standard room- they are tiny and old. book a king or balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    98
    96
    45
    39
See reviews for
28
120
55
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Centrally located (you can walk to most of the downtown area from this hotel), super clean and very helpful staff. Small rooms, but I would consider it a value for the price I paid. I would definitely consider returning to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Really handy to Sky Casino. The room was really spacious and the WiFi was very good. It was my first stay in inner city (usually stay out a bit to avoid bussle) but this is a very good location to amongst all the action. For a value stay very good.

Room Tip: I slept in room o roadside and with double glazing it was really quiet, so I reckon all rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

It's a good budget hotel, centrally located and cheap but it has one fault that causes me to give it a low rating. The hotel advertises itself as a non-smoking property but they refuse to do anything about people smoking. I made numerous calls to reception to tell them someone was smoking but nothing was done about it. And given the smell managed to find its way into my room it shouldn't have been hard to track down.
Very poor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Blenheim
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautifully clean room and bathroom, lovely staff, perfect city centre location yards from Queen Street and the bus stops to the airport. What more could you want for $79 per night? Will use again each time we come to Auckland from now on. Thanks Econolodge, and for the great recommendation for the Raviz Indian Restaurant that you gave us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland nz
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was another annual stay at this hotel and as usual I was not dissatisfied.
Service was friendly and solicitous, room was excellent, providing all I needed and the continental breakfast was varied and plentiful. Location is excellent and I cannot recommend this establishment too highly as a modest, friendly,clean, and modest priced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After staying in the dodgy backpacker hostel next door for one night I was so relieved to find this hotel. Yes the room is small but it is well-equipped. I was on a course so out all day and didn't need room to dance.... It is great value for the price given the fantastic location and the staff are friendly and helpful. I was able to check in at 8am, no problem. Bathroom is basic but functional and at these prices, the hotel is competing with the backpacker market.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover-Rings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Property: Econo Lodge City Central
Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing