We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Central
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I rate this hotel "Very Good" based in large part on its economical price. It is not a fancy hotel. This suits me fine but it may not be for everyone.

I have stayed here several times over 12 years and will continue to return. Econo Lodge (formerly City Central) is a very basic hotel with tiny rooms and no frills whatsoever. But it is this simplicity that brings the price down. Some travellers will find it too basic and the rooms too small. It is one level above a high end youth hostel with individual rooms and en suites. But I can highly recommend it for safety, convenience, friendliness and efficiency of staff, and for the doing the basics right. (The rooms facing the street can be noisy; ask for the opposite side.) There is a convenient and filling breakfast on the main floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The staff at the reception desk was very polite and professional. The lobby is quaint and the dining area is clean. The hotel room (single occupation) is very compact. But, it is a clean and safe place to rest your feet after a long day of business and travel. Don't expect a fancy hotel stay, but do expect basic comfort and privacy. In a pinch, this is a good location to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I must say I was disappointed after reading that some other reviewer had said it was bigger than a Ibis I would have to disagree ! Not much difference at all. The room was very small, tired but clean. My husband hit his head on the shelving, the shower head is low (not built for taller people) and old. But the location for our purpose was excellent. The bed was just ok and lots of road noise even thou we were on the 6th floor. A plus was the continental breakfast which was nice - toast, fruit and cereals. Sorry won't be back as for a few dollars more can purchase a higher class hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked this hotel knowing it was a budget choice - much better than a backpackers, but still in Auckland CBD.
The rooms are small(no room for large suitcases) and the bed was a double, the price was good and ours included a basic but pleasant continental breakfast.
The bathroom was dated but serviceable - shower head very low(no hair washing) - no basketballers should stay here!
The killer here was the noise from the street below. It sounded so loud and no sleep was had by either of us the first night - it was a Saturday night - revelers yelling, boy racers hooning, sirens going, cars travelling over metal plates on the road( bang, bang, very loud!). The 2nd night was a Sunday and was a lot quieter although I still needed my newly purchased ear plugs and slept like a baby!
All they needed was some retro fitted double glazing to make it far more pleasant.
I wouldn't stay here again unless this was addressed.
If you keen to stay here know that it is clean and staff were pleasant, but take your earplugs!

Room Tip: ask if they have any double glazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The Econo Lodge is exactly what the name says, an economy hotel. However the rooms are clean, the breakfast is very good value for money and the staff are fantastic. Extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. Gloria went out of her way to suggest good places to eat and very helpfully provided and 2nd key to my room so I could leave the air con on.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank MichelleNZ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for business as the usual hotels were booked out.
Very basic hotel, located one block from Sky City so very convenient for food and entertainment options.
Room and bathroom were ok sizes (bigger than an Ibis). Room had fridge, electric jug, air con, TV (free to air) and ironing board. No safe. Very soft bed (almost fell off sitting on the edge) and motel-like décor. Key with giant plastic insert thing that controls the power in the room. Window not able to be opened. Didn't try the wifi / internet. Spare blankets etc in cupboard. Good lighting, but no plugs at desk height for working on laptop (had to crawl under desk).
Bathroom - felt unclean, seemed like a layer of grime on the shower walls and tabs and sink. 3 long wavy hairs left in bathroom (luckily they looked like they were from someone's head). Dripping plumbing in toilet. I decided to shower elsewhere (Jetts gym about 3 blocks away). Bed linen seemed very clean and towels were nice and soft. Carpet floor.
Rooms a bit noisy - I had an internal room (206) which still got hallway noise plus it was above the reception so after 10pm, heard all the people buzzing the doorbell to get back into the hotel.
Didn't try breakfast.
Friendly and professional staff - however it's the sort of hotel where they ask for your passport, tell you the door is locked at 10pm, and remind you it's a non-smoking hotel. I had to argue to get my ID copy destroyed in the morning after checkout (apparently for security, in case I had done something to the room).
Not really suitable for business as there's nowhere for a taxi to wait or pull in.
Think they charged $150 a night for me.
Would only recommend if you get a good price (like $80) and don't mind the basic-ness of it. I will not stay here again for work.

Room Tip: Room 206 seemed to be right over the doorbell so you hear lots of buzzing after 10pm for people to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welly_China_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with some friends for a concert. The staff was great with an awesome duty manager Mira. The room is basic but great if you just need someone to sleep. Would happily stay there again next time we are in the city. Good cheap rates too

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JodieMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#31 of 65 in Auckland Central
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#43 of 65 in Auckland Central
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing