We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (if you do not have a car) and free WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location (if you do not have a car) and free WIFI”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

There are 2 great things about the hostel: free WIFI and great location (if you do not have a car). Queen Street (main street in Auckland) is located about 15-20 minutes walk away. However, if you have a car, I will not really recommend this place because it is difficult to find parking. You have to park on the street which is often packed and left you driving around for a while just to look for a parking space. We stayed in the building next to the reception and it is clean but pretty rundown. There is 1 cubicle with toilet and shower, but you share with another room in the building, and the people who stay in the dormitory from the first building. Kitchen is pretty small with no preparation space, and similarly, it is shared between the 2 double rooms and the dormitory in the main building.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    43
    17
    19
    10
See reviews for
9
56
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Everything is well organized: I arrived at night and got by phone the door-opening -code, so I found my nice room without problems. Next morning Mrs Chatly gave me very good informations to have a really nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrsulaDolinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We landed in Auckland after a long flight, the owner was very nice and generous. rooms are very clean, and there is kitchen for backpackers. Certainly one of the best hostels that i've been in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itamar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hard to find a decent place to stay, let alone with free wifi. People are wonderful, very helpful. Beds and facilities. Tremendous value.

A little far from the city center, but I could use the walk.

Room Tip: If you drop red wine on the carpet, it's kosher. The carpet is burgundy, no one will know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Big, spacious, quiet and clean dorm room (in the back of the hostel), free wifi, enough and clean bathrooms, very good service and a nice owner. I also liked the no-shoes-inside policy, which helps to keep the place clean but also creates a homely atmosphere. The common area is good (no tv though) and there is an outside area. Hostel is located very near to the center of Auckland. All and all it's very hard to think up some negative points about this hostel, which in itself is ofcourse very positive!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a dorm bed, ask for the room in the back of the hostel with access through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed in more than 30 hostels in New Zealand and Freeman's lodge was one of the best.

Free wifi (they will give you coupons 1hour/60mb), 2 kitchens, tons of freefood, lot of showers, clean and spacious rooms. Great lounge area, large and clean backyard.

Auckland central is only 20 mins walks, supermarket in 2 mins, new world supermarket in 10 mins walk.

Street parking for cars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah, FL, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This being my first time to Auckland, I needed a place to stay. I'm not one to party or even be overly social, so I ruled out many of the hostels in the area. Thus, I ended up booking a single room in Freemans Lodge & Apartments.

The Good: Clean room and facilities, especially clean bathrooms; friendly staff; ample kitchen supplies; comfortable bedding; free Wi-Fi (although it uses a voucher system) and kiosk Internet (though having cameras would be a nice touch); heaters in the room; warm showers; close walking proximity to bus stop to Britomart and the Central Business District. There's also plenty of material on what to do in Auckland and in New Zealand as a whole.

The Not-So-Good: Internet could be slow at times, and people who use a lot of Internet (like me) may find themselves running out of vouchers. Also, Auckland is very hilly, so expect to work out. This might be a problem for people like me who aren't fit. Thankfully, the bus stop isn't far away, although there is a considerable walk to the nearby supermarket. TVs in the room only displayed the local NZ channels, although there is a lounge with Sky TV and more channels.

All in all, a good facility for young people who actually value peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 123 in Auckland
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 60 in Auckland
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#28 of 123 in Auckland
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing