We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet and clean; helpful manager.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and clean; helpful manager.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

A vrey nice place to stay, close to downtown Auckland and very close (5 min walking) from Ponsonby street's many cafes and restaurants.

Has a pretty little garden, nice, clean rooms and the manager is very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

They work with a car rental company with good prices and can provide you with options for renting a car to drive around the country (one-way Auckland-to-Christchurch rentals available).

Room Tip: If looking for a private room, choose the 'double' over the 'twin', it's a lot l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    41
    15
    18
    8
See reviews for
8
53
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

There are 2 great things about the hostel: free WIFI and great location (if you do not have a car). Queen Street (main street in Auckland) is located about 15-20 minutes walk away. However, if you have a car, I will not really recommend this place because it is difficult to find parking. You have to park on the street which is often packed and left you driving around for a while just to look for a parking space. We stayed in the building next to the reception and it is clean but pretty rundown. There is 1 cubicle with toilet and shower, but you share with another room in the building, and the people who stay in the dormitory from the first building. Kitchen is pretty small with no preparation space, and similarly, it is shared between the 2 double rooms and the dormitory in the main building.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Everything is well organized: I arrived at night and got by phone the door-opening -code, so I found my nice room without problems. Next morning Mrs Chatly gave me very good informations to have a really nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrsulaDolinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We landed in Auckland after a long flight, the owner was very nice and generous. rooms are very clean, and there is kitchen for backpackers. Certainly one of the best hostels that i've been in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itamar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hard to find a decent place to stay, let alone with free wifi. People are wonderful, very helpful. Beds and facilities. Tremendous value.

A little far from the city center, but I could use the walk.

Room Tip: If you drop red wine on the carpet, it's kosher. The carpet is burgundy, no one will know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Big, spacious, quiet and clean dorm room (in the back of the hostel), free wifi, enough and clean bathrooms, very good service and a nice owner. I also liked the no-shoes-inside policy, which helps to keep the place clean but also creates a homely atmosphere. The common area is good (no tv though) and there is an outside area. Hostel is located very near to the center of Auckland. All and all it's very hard to think up some negative points about this hostel, which in itself is ofcourse very positive!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a dorm bed, ask for the room in the back of the hostel with access through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed in more than 30 hostels in New Zealand and Freeman's lodge was one of the best.

Free wifi (they will give you coupons 1hour/60mb), 2 kitchens, tons of freefood, lot of showers, clean and spacious rooms. Great lounge area, large and clean backyard.

Auckland central is only 20 mins walks, supermarket in 2 mins, new world supermarket in 10 mins walk.

Street parking for cars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing