We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, quiet and free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 52 Auckland B&B and Inns
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, quiet and free wifi”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Good position, the city centre is not so far by walk and there is also a bus stop at 2 minutes walk. The place is clean and quiet, a great solution to see Auckland. Very good price and nice staff and the free wifi is something that you don't find everywhere in New Zealand! Just 5 minutes walk to Ponsonby street, with many cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plumcake_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    41
    15
    19
    9
See reviews for
8
55
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I arrived in this hostel after a very long flight and it was just wonderful to have a calm athmosphere. There was absolutely no stress, very familiar. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms a very clean, even as bathrooms. If I come back to Auckland on my tour through New Zealand, I definitely will choose the Freemans Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worltraveller596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

A vrey nice place to stay, close to downtown Auckland and very close (5 min walking) from Ponsonby street's many cafes and restaurants.

Has a pretty little garden, nice, clean rooms and the manager is very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

They work with a car rental company with good prices and can provide you with options for renting a car to drive around the country (one-way Auckland-to-Christchurch rentals available).

Room Tip: If looking for a private room, choose the 'double' over the 'twin', it's a lot l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

There are 2 great things about the hostel: free WIFI and great location (if you do not have a car). Queen Street (main street in Auckland) is located about 15-20 minutes walk away. However, if you have a car, I will not really recommend this place because it is difficult to find parking. You have to park on the street which is often packed and left you driving around for a while just to look for a parking space. We stayed in the building next to the reception and it is clean but pretty rundown. There is 1 cubicle with toilet and shower, but you share with another room in the building, and the people who stay in the dormitory from the first building. Kitchen is pretty small with no preparation space, and similarly, it is shared between the 2 double rooms and the dormitory in the main building.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Everything is well organized: I arrived at night and got by phone the door-opening -code, so I found my nice room without problems. Next morning Mrs Chatly gave me very good informations to have a really nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrsulaDolinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We landed in Auckland after a long flight, the owner was very nice and generous. rooms are very clean, and there is kitchen for backpackers. Certainly one of the best hostels that i've been in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itamar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hard to find a decent place to stay, let alone with free wifi. People are wonderful, very helpful. Beds and facilities. Tremendous value.

A little far from the city center, but I could use the walk.

Room Tip: If you drop red wine on the carpet, it's kosher. The carpet is burgundy, no one will know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland
310 reviews
1.6 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#41 of 108 in Auckland
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing