We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, nice and tidy hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hoste has a nice atmosphere, because it is so small. Rooms and facilities are clean and staff/manager is very friendly. Internet/WiFi works most of the time. I enjoyed my stay a lot. Thank you very much :))

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stubbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have enjoyed our three-days stay in Freemans Lodge! It was our final destination before leaving back home from NZ and comparing to other two backpacers we have lived in Auckland, this one was the best. Group of young Asins cleaning the lodge all the time, free unlimited wi-fi, fine kitchen and very firm double bed, quiet at night. Would stay here anytime again!

Room Tip: Room 0 is noisy from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalibor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We arrived at Auckland in the middle of the night and had booked a twin room before. It was no problem to get our room, even at midnight. Everything was ready for us and we could take a shower and get some sleep.

The hostel is not the biggest, but it has two kitchen areas, so you will always find a place to cook. There are two lounges as well, one has a big TV, the other has two internet PCs. Also WiFi is completely free here. It is really clean here, the vacuum the place every day and clean up the kitchens and the bathrooms.

We felt very welcomed here and the staff was really nice. Seema the manager helped us a lot with getting started on our trip to New Zealand. She even gave us a ride to her other Backpackers when we moved there!

We can definitely recommend to stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeikoK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It was amazing hostel ever! Nice, clean, tidy and a warm friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff gave a great intro to the area. Room was comfortable. The owner was really nice and friendly, and genuinely seems to care about her guests. I felt very much at home and the location is really good. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Freemans Lode is a tidy and comfy hostel in a quiet area.
The manager and staffs working there are so friendly. They are only more than happy to help me whenever I have any problems or questions. During my 14 days in North island, I always stayed to the lodge every time I went back to Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This place is pretty awful. Security is really, really lacking. People can very, very easily climb into your room, my room door was not capable of closing unless you locked it with the key, there was a big gap underneath the room door (which lead right outdoors) so smoke would come right into the room when people smoked outside my room. I was eaten alive my mosquitoes while trying to sleep, the bed was quite uncomfortable (and I'm not picky about beds) and my sheets were a bit damp -- what the heck! The free wifi only worked about half of the time (it would regularly kick me and many others I talked to in the hostel offline for no apparent reason). The owner is almost never around (owns 2 hostels in Auckland) and doesn't offer any info or tips about the local area and what there is to see/do. This place is simply not nearly up to the standards of most NZ hostels. I would very strongly advise you to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A very nice hostel close to the city centre but still in a quiet location. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the facilities are pretty good and clean. The hostel isn't too big so the atmosphere is really nice. There is a comfortable lounge to relax and also some computers which can be used for free and also free wifi. The next big supermarket is only a 10 minute walk from the hostel and on Ponsonby Road which is a 5 minute walk there are a couple of unique shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HannahNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
1 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#10 of 62 in Auckland Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
Kiwi Heritage Home Stay
#14 of 62 in Auckland Central
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 131 in Auckland Central
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £15 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing