We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Place was clean and nice. It was forbidden to use shoes inside, so even the usually horrible carpet was clean. Staff was very friendly. Our promised garden-view was in reality view of the wall of the house next door and a rusty bicycle, but for us it was okay, since we only went there to sleep, basicly. There was laundry possibility, but we didn't use it. The location was great, in walking distance of the centrum and buses also went from nearby. In conclusion, it was well worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    43
    17
    19
    10
See reviews for
8
56
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hi
We stayed with my girlfriend a couple of days in Freemans lodge while we was waiting founds for our car.
It's a nice place. 2 houses. Each one with bathroom and kitchen. Garden.
And almost, a very nice host and staff. We spoke a lot with us and it was a great moment. Speak about our different culture.
The Freemans lodge isn't so big so, it's a good place to speak with other bagpackers if you are interesting in.

Thanks for everything

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here in late March 2013 for a week before we left the country, was affordable and pretty good location wise.

Don't expect a hostel as such, you're very much left to your own devices which is fine. Kitchen areas are small, garden was pretty small and try and get an upstairs room (or even better a room in the seperate block next door) as the ceilings carry noise pretty easily.

However, the kitchens are well equipped, we had a fridge and telly in our room, free WiFi which worked most of the time, on site laundry and a New World 5 mins walk away, city centre about 15 mins walk.

For what we wanted/needed, it suited us fine.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room (or even better a room in the seperate block next door) as the ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a cute, rustic hostel close to the CBD in Auckland. The staff are very friendly and attentive, and the suburb location means that it is quieter than other hostels downtown. Could use some painting and a bigger kitchen, but overall we were happy with our stay, even enough for use to come here twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed there for one and half week. Very clean house in very nice location, 20 min, walk to city center and very close to Ponsonby (lot of great cafes and restaurants), free wifi, nice garden, two kitchens and very helpful staff, great place to meet other backpackers...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brano_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in the adjoining flat for 8 weeks. The staff are great and clean every morning. The owner was extremely helpful, made us feel at home. If we every had any questions they had the answers. Free internet is extremely useful. Rooms are nice (as good as most B&B's i've been in) and the kitchens are well equipped. It is located central and is only a short walk from the cbd and ponsonby. All in all a great place and would stay again. A+

Room Tip: Ask for the flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floss_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for 6 weeks, until we got set up and got our apt sorted. Great location, free wifi, free stuff backpackers leave in the free box which is a plus. Very tidy and everyone are very friendly. Seema is really friendly and very helpful, I suggested a few things that I thought would be good for the hostel and she listen and appreciated everything we had to say. Great place, I couldn't ask for more. Gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
677 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#10 of 58 in Auckland
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing