We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“False advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“False advertising”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The only reason I chose this place was for the 'Free High Speed Internet'. Unfortunately it only worked 5% of the 4 days that I stayed. When I asked the staff about it they just smiled and said it's like that sometimes. Fix it or don't advertise it! The accommodation itself is very dated and has some low quality renovations. In the bathroom only 1 out of 3 sinks worked and the soap dispenser leaked soap onto the floor. In my room there was a tv that didn't work, broken coat hangers and some spider webs. I would not recommend this place at all. The YMCA in the city center is cheaper and properly maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catadvisor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    43
    17
    19
    10
See reviews for
8
56
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at this accommodation for a week and had a good time because of cleaned facilities and friendly staff.
In addition, we can use unlimited Wi-Fi which is convenient!!!!
If I go to Auckland again, I'll stay at this accommodation as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_englis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights during my business trip. I booked a single room which suppose to provides TV, Iron, Microwave, sink and fully furnished with linen & towels.
BUT the room I was given doesn't provide anything, just a bed. But I only need was a bed and towel so asked a stuff to give me a big towel. The towel I was given smelled like old man! I left it in the room while I'm away and the whole room smells the towel when I came back...

Also I was bitten by something more than 20 places. I told the owner after checked out by email and she said there's no insects in the room because a couple stayed the room after I left weren't bitten.

I would never stay Freemans Lodge to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank masaosada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I think this is the only one-star review I have ever given on tripadvisor. But I found this hostel to be truly awful.

The smell was enough to put me off when I walked in: it smelt of dirt and sweat. My room was similarly smelly and also dark and insecure.

I left as soon as I could.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Freemans backpackers, is great value for money. The location is great for the CBD with a 30 minute walk down hill to the bottom of Queen Street. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable, the bathroom could do with a revamp and paint job.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We have been in New Zealand 5 weeks and have stayed in some really fantastic hostels. Unfortunately Freeman's Lodge was a bit of a let down after reading such good reviews on tripadvisor. The staff were great and very friendly but the hostel was in need of some TLC. We understand that it is budget accommodation but the rooms and kitchens were very dated and not particularly clean. We didn't notice the bathroom getting cleaned in the two nights we were there and at one point there was no toilet paper. The garden could have been a really nice area to sit out in but unfortunately it just looked untidy with cigarette butts scattered around. Perhaps we came at a busy time and therefore didn't see it at its best.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenjenatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Of all the hostels I have stayed at in NZ, Freemans is the best.
It's maybe not the newest or the most modern place, but it is very cozy and comfortable and the location is super. It takes around 10 minutes to walk to the city.

The kitchens are a bit small but it works, and they only have 3(?) bathrooms and 3(?) showers but since it isn't such a big hostel it's more than enough.
It's also quite cheap if you compare to other hostels in Auckland.
The tv isn't that good either but it works.

I would definitely stay at Freemans again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemans Lodge & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemans Lodge & Apartments

Property: Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Address: 65 Wellington Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemans Lodge & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Freemans Lodge & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freemans Lodge & Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing