We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected, but love Mt Eden village” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #14 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Penang
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as expected, but love Mt Eden village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

If asked to pick one reasons to go back again, that'd be Mt Eden Village that sits right out of the street. Shops, cafes, restaurant, groceries, cars, buses and locals. It's far better than the busy pace of Auckland CBD with ppl walking fast and high buildings.

For solo traveller to use public transport (like myself), be sure to plan the trip as one way to Bitromart cost at least $1.9. And don't forget there's outer link can bring you the other way, although it cost $3.4 if you past Newmarket.

(Tips, to get to Auckland Museum from here, a trip Mt Vil to Parnell library cost $3.4, but if you get down at Newmarket and walk there it's $1.9)

This is the only hostel in Auckland I stayed and it didn't match with some reviews I've read, as compared to staying at another hostel in other place of NZ. It could one of the best in Auckland.

The toilet and showers are clean, although space was a bit narrow (to maximize the use?) and sometimes with some smell (due to high occupant rate that not able to clean?). Kitchen is big but due to number of ppl sometimes it's crowed and busy.

It could be due to the room I stayed (8 beds) and there's long-term tenants, some utilities like storage area and plug were occupied. Unless one could blend in, or one will feel left out there.

Due to high occupants and high demand, there's more rules in here (which is my first impression) perhaps to make it more regulated and if you are new you need some time to figure it out.

However, the manager Johnny is friendly and helpful in answering and helping on stuff related to travel and stay.

Not my favourite stay but given the reviews from others, this could be the best in Auckland.

There's 200mb free WiFi for each stay (regardless how many nights you stay)



Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kscc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your comments we value all of them. On peak times of the day the kitchen and bathrooms are busy, but this is the same in all hostels when people are trying to cook food and coming back from their day's adventures. Rules are also in place to make sure everyone enjoys their stay and no one ruins it for other, such as washing up your dishes and noise control at night time. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    62
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
60
137
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Oaklands Lodge is one of my favourite hostels in New Zealand. I have been there for about 3 and a half month and it was an awesome time! It is a very clean hostel, the staff is very friendly... Well the hostel turned into a second family for me.

If you ever go to Auckland, go to the Oaklands Lodge. There will be no better place to stay!
(Don't make the mistake and book a hostel right downtown. The hostels there are seem to be made just for mass processing)

Room Tip: The 8 doorm room is one of my favourite, because there are no bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustinSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it was great having you stay here and I know you will take the memories of this place and people with you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had an amazing time staying here. I'm a kiwi, and it was so cool to talk to people from all over the world, and make the most amazing friends.
I didn't have one bad experience and i think all up i was there fro a month or so.

TOP NOTCH!
Amazing summer BBQ's, laugh's and a few beers :D

Room Tip: Room 1 is really nice and open :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeezy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are glad that you had a fantastic time staying at our hostel. We make sure that everyone is welcome and enjoys themselves. Hopefully you will be back next summer to enjoy some more BBQ's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Mount Eden is a nice part of Auckland..plenty of good coffee shops. Oaklands was great: quiet, clean. The staff were helpful and courteous. We stayed there on our first night in Auckland and later on when coming back through that city again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john4burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzsuze, Owner at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We love it when guests come back at the end of their trip. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hostel is a house style in cozy Mount Eden village. This serves a good choice for accommodation to explore the stylish side of Auckland, which is connected to downtown area by bus for around 20 mins.

The room is lovely with elegant look and good facilties. There is also common living room with big books,sofa for a good rest and kitchen with well-equipped items for cooking.

Room Tip: Limited wash basins in shared bathroom during morning busy hours Only 200mb limited wifi..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzsuze, Owner at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for your comments we enjoy sharing Mt Eden with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Over the last few years i've been traveling to and from Auckland and have always made the choice to stay at Oaklands lodge.
Why??,Well where to start...........Location!!A fantastic view of Mt Eden and just a minutes walk away from Mt Eden village which has Cafe's,restaurants a pharmacy,Vege store and butchery.
(Not to mention buses to and from downtown.)
Cleanliness,Friendliness and an amazing laid back warm atmosphere.
Downtown tours,Night life excursions and weekly BBQ's make Oaklands a great place to meet fellow travellers and get some helpful tips of places to go and see while in Auckland and in NZ in general.
Managers Johnny and sebastian have all the time in the world to answer questions and point people in the right direction for all they're needs.(and are quite possibly the friendliest lodge managers i've ever come across.
A well set up kitchen with loads of dry goods and refrigerator space for your personal cooking belongings and a huge kitchen.
Being on the out skirts of the city Oaklands is a wonderful quiet place to relax without the hustle and bustle of New Zealands largest city.
The lodge is also just a 2 minute walk away from the air bus stop to and from Auckland international and domestic airports.(about a 20 minute bus ride).

I have no hesitation in recommending Oaklands lodge to any and all travellers and wish the owners ,managers and all the friends i've made along the way all the best for the future.

Shane Tidswell

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tidzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzsuze, Owner at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for the review. We enjoyed seeing you again and again. You are welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Oaklands was suggested to us as a place to stay on our recent trip to Auckland for the Bruce Springsteen concert. It was PERFECT! Clean, comfortable,affordable, friendly staff and fellow backpackers, felt more like a flat than a hostel. Room was really nice, we were lucky enough to have a front room upstairs which was spacious and sunny, plenty of fresh air via windows and just a really relaxed feel. Walking distance to Mt Eden Village (just around the corner) and public transport. Would stay again! Thanks Oaklands and thanks Sebastian for all your help and friendly manner :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzsuze, Owner at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We always like to hear that we have been recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 106 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.7 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#29 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.7 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel

Property: Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Address: 5A Oaklands Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklands Lodge is small, friendly backpacker hostel located in the heart of Mt Eden Village. Mt Eden Village is a vibrant community with has a small supermarket, cafes, bars, restaurants as well as bakeries and specialty stores. We are 3.5 km from downtown with a bus stop less than 100m away. There is free parking available in the street. We have a range of single, double, twin and shared rooms with shared bathrooms, living area and a kitchen dining area. Laundry facilities are available at a charge and wifi is available for free. We are very close to the Airporter Bus Service route (Mt Eden Road Bus) for airport transport. We pride ourselves on being clean, comfortable and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you to Auckland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing