We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suits Backpackers..”
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Is ok kinda stay suitable for backpackers and not families I would suggest, no option of ensuites with toilets, shared kitchen closes as early as 10.30pm, in that budget u can get something better..............

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sungir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our Hostel is suitable to everyone, we do provide one family room with an ensuite facility as well, (which is a top seller) and I'm sorry if we didn't communicate to you. Our kitchens close at 10.30pm; however, we provide a Dining room with a Microwave. Kettle, TV and Toaster for 24 hours. Additionally, our rates are studied and benchmarked carefully so we never have any abusive price.

Once Again thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the time and effort you have put into it.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good choice for a budget stay,single room clean with clean fridge.Shower spotlessly clean as were toilets.Staff always happy to help.Good location for city centre quarter of an hour walk to Skytower
Only downside Auckland is the hilliest city Ive ever visited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Happy you consider YMCA Hostel to be a good choice of accommodation.

Kind regards.
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a single room. Room was basic, but very clean and spacious. Included a cupboard, single bed, desk and bar fridge (large enough to fit groceries). Hostel was well located, approx 20 min walk to viaduct harbour. Was close to lots of dining places so easy to grab a quick bite in the morning/evening. Was also walking distance to Ponsonby and the Domain. Staff at reception were very friendly upon arrival and happy to answer questions about Auckland and NZ. Only complaint is that the walls must have been very thin as I could hear people talking in adjacent rooms/the hallways during the evening and early morning which disrupted my sleep. There was also noise from nearby washing machines late at night and in the morning (although the washing facilities were shut at about 10pm and re-opened at 6am). There was also a spacious lounge with a pool table and tv on the ground floor. Bathrooms and toilets were clean and I never waited to use them.
Would probably stay again- biggest complaint is noise from other guests (just general talking, there was no issues with loud/drunknen behaviour at all). Other people staying there were mainly students.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We found your feedback to be very complete and constructive, glad you found our accommodation to be clean and with a good service.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I admit I am not such a hostel addicted. However, YMCA-Auckland is not simply a hostel. It is a safe and very clean place. Of course you have to share some facilities, but mantainance people are really very efficient and shared bathrooms and shower are always clean. I stayed in a single room and it was good enough. Internet connection has to be separately paid, but it is not so expensive. The place is very close to the center and it is definitely impossible to get a cheaper hotel in the nearby. The receptionists are so nice.
My experience is really very good!!!"

Room Tip: If you can choose, prefer floors where the kitchens are not located, to avoid food smells; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adviser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate all your comments and very glad you found us to be a 5 Star Hostel.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed a 5 nights in February and I found that the facilities were kept clean even with the renovations being done to from what I saw to the exterior of the building.

I had single room, although some may view it as basic, it had everything that I needed which included fridge, space to hang your clothes and shelving to put everything else. The only downside I could say about the room was that it could stuffy by the end of the day due to having closed up, but if you opened your window and had your door opened a jar for a while it fixed the problem.

From the hostel I was able to walk to all the places I wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

Our aims was to renovate but keep the Cleanliness standards, the Housekeeping team is really pleased with your comments. In regards the room, I'm glad you have everything you need, all the rooms in YMCA Hostel contain a desk and chair, fridge, Wireless connection, Wardrobe, and we provide all the linen (including towels).

This summer (2013) has been at least the best summer in the last 5 years, New Zealand usually has a mild summer and we were not expecting such high temperatures, however, we do provide Fans at the reception and I'm sorry if it was not communicated to you.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.
Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have booked 17 nights in this hostel and I can say that I have made positive experience.
Helpful staff, very good location - 5 minutes walking to city link and inner link bus stop - a lot of clubs in the area, also a brothel and fire station :)

Clean room and shared bathroom, normal walls (not thin as expected), cheap price for single room. It has been little bit noisy during nights because of the main street but it didnt bother my sleep.

Wifi connection was working (some few minutes outages occurred).

I did not like the bed because of the grids on both ends (Could not sleep on the stomach).


If I will visit Auckland again Im sure which hostel I will choose. YMCA :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy you think staff is helpful, rooms are very clean and we are in a good location. Glad you stayed 15 nights and could experience a bit of our service. Apologise about the new beds, however, we do have other options in other floors were the bed does not have grids; we will make sure you have one of them if you come back to Auckland.

Once again thank you for your comments and ratings, very much appreciated by the team.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

YMCA staff are very friendly and very helpful. The place is clean and inexpensive. The location is perfect for everything. 10 minutes walk to the harbour and ferry terminal as well as all the shopping area. only 2 blocks away from city sky centre.

I definitely come back here and will recommend to friends and families.

Room Tip: stay on the 5fl. but if you are male choose 4th floor because there is no male toilet on the 5th flr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mila i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments, we aim to have the best service in Auckland and I'm confident we are on the right track. We are nestled right on the City Centre and our rates are very affordable.

I'm glad you will come back, and I'm sorry for the inconvenient caused, usually guests do not have in another floor to use toilets, we are renovating the 5th floor so we have to block the shower, the positive aspect is that our 5th floor is almost done and looks amazing, we are forecasting to have everything done in a week so around the 12 of December 2012.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 132 in Auckland Central
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 132 in Auckland Central
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £16 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing