We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To much noisy on the street” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Ranked #13 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“To much noisy on the street”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here for one night in a single room.

The reception is okay and functional.

However, i was bite by bedbug for times in my stay & the noisy (shouting of people, and sound of police viechle could be clearly heard from the room at 3rd floor) keep me awake almost all night long.

Have no air-con in the room & the room is a bit smeely, so i can hardly close the window, which made the things even worse.

For the bright things, the bathroom and restroom is properly cleaned and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheung Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Sheung,

Thank you for your feedback.

Appreciate you find our service to be functional, thank you very much. In regards your comments about Bed Bugs, it is completely unfair and has no based proof, just few hours ago,(07/05/13), we had a specialist going through the room, (which was completely renovated in 2012), and absolutely nothing was found, in any kind or any type. It is disappointing you touched in a very sensitive subject to accuse our accommodation, however, now, we are even more confident that we have set a high standard In YMCA Hostel, thank you.

YMCA Hostel is nestled in the Heart of Auckland, outside noise is out of our control, however we do have a Security Guard to deal with issues such people talking on the footpath. We do not have air conditioner but we offer fans, which could be borrow at the reception, I'm sorry about the inconvenient caused.

We are very happy you think our Shower and toilet is cleaned properly and well maintained.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    97
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
11
17
142
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

PROS: the place is really clean and it seems to be well run and maintained. The staff is friendly and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. The fifth floor girl's showers seem to be new and are really nice with little door you can lock while you shower (they do however need to add more hooks for your towels, clothes, toiletries as there is currently only one hook). The clientele, while at first I was apprehensive, are actually more respectful and quieter than your typical hostel. They have two security guards that walk the floors at night for safety. One towel, nice sheets and a very soft duvet are provided.
CONS: the female bathrooms are only on the forth and fifth floor, very inconvenient if you're on the second floor. The forth floor showers are old and the only thing between you and the hallway door is a flimsy curtain (you can only put your things on one hook provided outside the curtain where you can't watch your things while showering). We got a room facing the street and across the hall from the kitchen, this made for constant street noise all night long and funky smells from the kitchen at dinner time. The clientele is a bit shabby and one man in particular liked to stare at me as I walked to/from the bathroom, it made me uncomfortable. It's about 30 mins walking (stroll) to the main area on Queen's street but its a comfortable walk. There are no trashcans in the bathrooms or shower areas (toilet stalls have feminine hygiene trashcans) but if you want to throw away your loose hairs from the shower or an empty shampoo bottle, you have to carry them 3 floors down; it seems most people just leave them in the shower. :(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Happy you found our Staff to be friendly and the Hostel to be clean and well maintained. We have renovated most of the Hostel, 5th floor shower is one of them, I will investigate the possibility of installing few more hooks, however, we do around 4 hooks close to Wall.

YMCA is a place to everyone, our Clientele are mostly Students and Backpackers, for instance, in March 2013 we had over 60% of Backpackers and 20% of Students, the other 20% are divided into several small segments.

As I mentioned above we only have one more floor to renovate, and I'm sorry if the conditions of the shower on the 4th floor did not meet your expectations, I have taken your suggestion into account and we will definitely change few things around the shower set-up. Additionally it would be very good if you could contact us to provide more details about your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Is ok kinda stay suitable for backpackers and not families I would suggest, no option of ensuites with toilets, shared kitchen closes as early as 10.30pm, in that budget u can get something better..............

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sungir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our Hostel is suitable to everyone, we do provide one family room with an ensuite facility as well, (which is a top seller) and I'm sorry if we didn't communicate to you. Our kitchens close at 10.30pm; however, we provide a Dining room with a Microwave. Kettle, TV and Toaster for 24 hours. Additionally, our rates are studied and benchmarked carefully so we never have any abusive price.

Once Again thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the time and effort you have put into it.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good choice for a budget stay,single room clean with clean fridge.Shower spotlessly clean as were toilets.Staff always happy to help.Good location for city centre quarter of an hour walk to Skytower
Only downside Auckland is the hilliest city Ive ever visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Happy you consider YMCA Hostel to be a good choice of accommodation.

Kind regards.
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a single room. Room was basic, but very clean and spacious. Included a cupboard, single bed, desk and bar fridge (large enough to fit groceries). Hostel was well located, approx 20 min walk to viaduct harbour. Was close to lots of dining places so easy to grab a quick bite in the morning/evening. Was also walking distance to Ponsonby and the Domain. Staff at reception were very friendly upon arrival and happy to answer questions about Auckland and NZ. Only complaint is that the walls must have been very thin as I could hear people talking in adjacent rooms/the hallways during the evening and early morning which disrupted my sleep. There was also noise from nearby washing machines late at night and in the morning (although the washing facilities were shut at about 10pm and re-opened at 6am). There was also a spacious lounge with a pool table and tv on the ground floor. Bathrooms and toilets were clean and I never waited to use them.
Would probably stay again- biggest complaint is noise from other guests (just general talking, there was no issues with loud/drunknen behaviour at all). Other people staying there were mainly students.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We found your feedback to be very complete and constructive, glad you found our accommodation to be clean and with a good service.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battipaglia, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I admit I am not such a hostel addicted. However, YMCA-Auckland is not simply a hostel. It is a safe and very clean place. Of course you have to share some facilities, but mantainance people are really very efficient and shared bathrooms and shower are always clean. I stayed in a single room and it was good enough. Internet connection has to be separately paid, but it is not so expensive. The place is very close to the center and it is definitely impossible to get a cheaper hotel in the nearby. The receptionists are so nice.
My experience is really very good!!!"

Room Tip: If you can choose, prefer floors where the kitchens are not located, to avoid food smells; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adviser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate all your comments and very glad you found us to be a 5 Star Hostel.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed a 5 nights in February and I found that the facilities were kept clean even with the renovations being done to from what I saw to the exterior of the building.

I had single room, although some may view it as basic, it had everything that I needed which included fridge, space to hang your clothes and shelving to put everything else. The only downside I could say about the room was that it could stuffy by the end of the day due to having closed up, but if you opened your window and had your door opened a jar for a while it fixed the problem.

From the hostel I was able to walk to all the places I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

Our aims was to renovate but keep the Cleanliness standards, the Housekeeping team is really pleased with your comments. In regards the room, I'm glad you have everything you need, all the rooms in YMCA Hostel contain a desk and chair, fridge, Wireless connection, Wardrobe, and we provide all the linen (including towels).

This summer (2013) has been at least the best summer in the last 5 years, New Zealand usually has a mild summer and we were not expecting such high temperatures, however, we do provide Fans at the reception and I'm sorry if it was not communicated to you.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.
Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Property: YMCA Hostel
Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing