We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Ranked #13 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The place was very clean as cleaning was done everyday and rooms were clean almost everyday. There is a kiosk to introduce places of interest, shopping places and eateries which I found most helpful. The washing machine and dryer were generally very clean and effective, very worthy of the amount I paid for. However, the kitchen was dirty and the utensils in the dining room carried a smell as they were kept in the cupboard for too long. The room was very stuffy most times of the day and night unless it was cloudy and windy outside. Sleeping under the sheets at night was impossible as it was too warm and stuffy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your helpful feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the rooms clean and our internet help kiosk very helpful. Our washing machine and dryers are very well maintained by our contractor so that it doesnt lose its effectiveness. I'm sorry to hear that the kitchen was dirty. We have housekeepers cleaning them everyday and making sure the dishes are clean, otherwise cleaning the dishes themselves. Also we have fans available at the reception for hire during the summer times for the guests. Next time you stay with us please feel free to let the receptionist know and we will organise a fan for your room. Once again thank you very much.
Kind Regards
Eung Yeon Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    100
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
11
19
145
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I was worried when a friend booked me here for the night. I'm a nervous first time solo traveller (even though I'm mature!) and had visions of packs of young people and noise but it has been nothing like that. All ages are here and my single room is clean and comfy.
The staff are excellent, really put me at ease and helped with transport questions, internet probs etc. I would recommend it to anyone. The shared areas are also v clean.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to get the room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norirelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the YMCA Hostel. We have a few young people but our poilcy regarding noise and alcohol helps to keep the onise level down. We also have very skilled staff that keeps the room spotless and high level of services that makes the customers want to come back for more. Once again thank you very much fory our feedback.
Kind Regards
Eung Yeon Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Each one of the staff at the front desk was so nice and helpful. Facilities were nice and clean though sometimes questionable...

I don't know what it is that attracts weirdos to this hostels. For the first time, all my roommates were shady. The place is located on a steep road. The 4-bed room I stayed in was so tiny that I could not feel comfortable when others were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AboveTheSurface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments towards our Front Desk Team, glad you find the facilities nice and clean. Our guests come from all over the world, we have more than 20 natiolinaties in-house at the moment. Our 4 Dorm Bed is one of the best in Auckland CBD, with a Harbour View, new 90cm Hotel Mattresses and windows you can widely open, we also offer a fridge, wardrobe, desk, chair and extra duvet, the room has 26 square meters large when comparing to other properties in Auckland. We are sorry about the inconvenient caused.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto.
Centre Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked the YMCA as it is advertised as hostel with kitchen facilities- this is a joke! When we wnt on the hunt for a kitchen, we found a closet size room with just a table top hob plugged in. No oven, no toaster, no grill, one hot water tank, no utensils, one frying pan and absoloutley filthy! We given a room on the 5th floor- there are no toilets on this floor, your have to go to the 3rd floor for male and 4th for female. Showers and room were clean, although this doesn't make up for the price paid for a not very nice place....

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor- no toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do provide 2 Kitchen Facilities, a Dining Room and Lounge Room which is used as dining sometimes. We are very serious about our advertisement, honestly, I'm not sure about the closet size you wrote about, however, our kitchens and dining combined reach to 40 square meters plus a Lounge room which has about 300 square meters. In regards kitchen Utensils we provide 2 cabinets in our dining room, plenty of Plates, cutlery, pots, pans, bowls etc.

I do understand your frustration and I'm sorry we didn't communicate very well about the Dining Facilities, we will place procedures in place to improve our communications and mitigate this issue, the toilets were under renovations and now ready to be used. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Really nice hostel with funny and very kind people. Close to the city, CBD, and to K´Road.
Room was nice and very clean, price was also excellent.
Just in the night it was sometimes too noisy, because of the fire station and a night club on the weekend.
The gym is also very good, internet is to expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Happy you consider our service to be Excellent, by allowing our staff to be their "true self" we create a learning environment and personalities types appear, being funny, professional and kind is part of being themselves, is part of a motivated team that is always prepared to help.

Our location is very Central, so noise is out of our control, but we do try to mitigate that as much as possible, we provide a security guard onsite which is responsible to noise control. Our Fitness Centre is amazing with very caring people, glad you enjoyed.

As we provide an affordable accommodation we cannot afford to include our wireless in the rates, additionally our prices are very competitive when comparing to the rivals in Auckland CBD, but we will look at that and find a solution to provide better rates.

Once again thank you for your ratings.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here in April with my sports team as we were playing at the stadium right next door - which was really convenient.
Staff at front desk were friendly. Room was a quad with 2 bunks (very squeaky), storage space to lock up your belongings and a small fridge.
There was one female toilet on our floor and only 2 showers - not ideal when we had a team of 16 women, but we made do! The hostel was a bit old-school style but I heard they are doing it up a bit. There were some tenants that made a couple of girls in our group feel a bit intimidated but otherwise the other people staying seemed like friendly travellers.
Security staff at night were a bit rude to some of our group which was disappointing but otherwise it was a great base to stay and close to great shopping and food on K-Road and very cheap.

Room Tip: You are in a central location with busy roads on both sides, so expect some street noise. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Glad you enjoyed your stay in April 2013, since your last stay the 4th undergone renovations and is much more user friendly, additionally for females we do provide extra 5 showers and 5 toilets just in a floor above, sorry if we didn't communicate that to you.

Our guests come from all over the world, mainly from Europe, we are diverse and social, with more than 40 Nationalities staying with us.

Actions have been taking, in regards the Security Guard and we expect it will not happen again, I'm confident we can offer a higher service in your next stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Typical YMCA - clean, convenient, functional.

Our double room was huge and the bathrooms were always clean and available. Great showers! Opposite museum and botanical gardens and short walk to shopping area. Christchurch is unfortunately still in need of regeneration.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

All our accommodations around New Zealand are Customer Serviced focused and convenient. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Property: YMCA Hostel
Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YMCA Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing