We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #35 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family room”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Horrible place to stay. Booked a family room, there was no door between the rooms. The sink was tiny and outside the bathroom which was also tiny. For the price of 300 we expected far better. Decor old and tired. Mould on curtains and on bread at breakfast time. Would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyandBarb, Owner at Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Trudi, thank you for your comments.
We are saddened that you did not feel the need to raise your concerns directly with us prior to your departure. We are more concerned however that your review lacks both balance and accuracy. As discussed with you when you made the booking, the layout of our Family Room is ideal for those parents who not only want privacy but also at the same time want to keep an ear out for their children in the next bedroom without their being able to "close the door on Mum and Dad". That is why we suggested limiting the ages of the children to 12 years and under despite your insisting on bringing two teenagers with you for your stay with us.
You will also remember that in order to fit within your budget, you received a discount off our standard room rate when you made your original booking with us for a stay within 1.5kms of downtown Auckland and the Vector Arena that included a full cooked breakfast for four guests. We believe that the tariff you actually paid was therefore very competitive in comparison to other accommodation providers in our vicinity.
As to the Chalet décor, we make no apologies for offering our guests a homely environment in which to relax and unwind. We are not set up with lots of chrome and glass like some of the more modern hotels in Auckland but rather hope that staying with us is more like staying in someone's home..........right down to the old Singer sewing machine used as table in one room and a set of drawers that Grandma used to own in another !!!!
Finally, you may be interested to know that we have won awards for our breakfasts. We can certainly confirm that all our toast breads are prepared daily and therefore wonder whether being unaccustomed to home made bread, you confused bakers flour that sometimes remains on our artisan grain breads with mould.
Again, our advice to you is that in future, should you not be happy with an accommodation provider, you raise your concerns with them directly prior to check out as we are sure that they, like us would be more than pleased to address any issues you may have, whether real or imagined.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    8
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
24
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We came here on the 17th of may after having a busy day in auckland we where very happy to arrive in this beautiful hotel. Very friendly Barb & Kelly helped us with everything!! It's great to just leave the car at the hotel and have a little stroll and find loads of little restaurants! In the morning the breakfast is Delicious!!!! Lovely rooms and very clean. Thanks very much for our relaxing stay! And will definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We actually booked to stay in another hotel but they double booked and re-organised us to stay the the Chalet Chevron and we couldn't of been happier.
the location is awesome, we came for a concert and enjoyed a leisurely stroll taking in the sights on the way to vector arena, Parnell is such a nice area.
we (three adults) had a very comfortable stay with great views and everything we needed at hand. there was enough space for all three of us and breakfast was great the next morning.

The hosts gave us ideas on where to eat and how long it would take us to walk down town, and even hooked us up with a extremely reasonable taxi fare to the airport through their contacts.

totally recommend this B'n'B

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haykerryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Our hosts, Kelly and his wife Barb, were so gracious and accomodating. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of restaurants, new market and downtown. The place is clean. We had to wait an entire day for our overseas flight home and they let us basically camp out there until it was time to go. They also periodically checked our flight status to make sure we didn't have to hang around the airport too long. (And arranged our transport). Good place to stay.

Room Tip: High up has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I had driven 3hrs to get to Chalet Chevron and had lots of things to pack, in my haste I forgot my luggage and had only the clothes I was wearing, no tootbrush, nothing. It was 5pm on Good Friday so shops were closed. I could not believe it!!! As luck would have it this lovely lady running the B and B had a bag of her clothes ready for St VIncent de Paul so she let me rummage through that. Within minutes I had a few tops that would get me through my weekend. What are the chances of arriving somewhere where the owner is the same size as you, has the same colouring so I could borrow her clothes and makeup.
Unbelievably kind and effortlessly caring. I would definitely recommend staying there. They sorted out my dilemma without batting an eyelid. How does it get any better than that. It was a three day spiritual workshop I was attending and certainly all the strings were being pulled in my favour.

Room Tip: When I came they said I had been upgraded to upstairs with a better view. I had room 2 upstairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

CHALET CHEVRON BED & BREAKFAST ### Brighton Road - Parnell Area of Auckland
This B&B is well located a block or so off Parnell Rd. where there lots of shops and restaurants and buses every 10 minutes or so into Downtown Auckland (about 1.5 miles if you’re walking). The University and Auckland Museum are less than a mile in the opposite direction. The B&B atmosphere is friendly and the rooms sunny. Kelly, the proprietor, is knowledgeable about Auckland, helpful and makes an excellent breakfast. Chalet Chevron B&B was a bit of a splurge after the Back-Packer hostels but good value. It was a great choice for our last two days in N-Z (we were happy to see the sun again). Parking on the street was not a problem and Parnell Rd. provides a fairly straight route to the airport. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a view of the Bay. You may get an upgrade to a suite when they're not fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for one night at the start of our NZ holiday - wanting to stay in Parnell on this trip rather than right in the centre of Auckland we had tried booking a b&b which was full but referred us here. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was superb - perfect cooked breakfast (done to order) in addition to the continental offerings. Lovely little dining/breakfast room as well. The room we stayed in had a nice view (helped by Parnell being up the hill!) and was perfectly adequate - it didn't have quite the charm or luxury of other b&bs I have stayed in across NZ, but clean and a good night's sleep. On the basis of the room, seemed fairly expensive - but a great location and a great breakfast, along with the friendly service, meant that we didn't really mind too much. Also, helpful good value taxi deal from the airport via the b&b.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattDavies2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#44 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#41 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel

Property: Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel
Address: 14 Brighton Road, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Chevron Hotel
Chalet Chevron Auckland
Chalet Chevron Bed And Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing