We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for kids and adults”

Stardome & the Auckland Observatory
Ranked #45 of 265 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the unique wonders of New Zealand’s southern hemisphere night sky at Stardome. Discover the history and significance to New Zealanders of prominent constellations like the Southern Cross and Matariki, in a live presentation. The sky of the Southern Hemisphere contains beautiful star clusters, gas cloud nebulae and star patterns that can only be seen from this latitude. Experience the unique wonders of New Zealand’s southern night sky at Stardome Observatory & Planetarium.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids and adults”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We checked out all the space info boards, found out a lot of info we did not know. Watched a wicked movie in the dome, was great, seats lay back, very relaxing watching the star constellations above you on a movie type screen on the roof.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chonnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    85
    21
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very cheap for such a marvellous experience. Really enjoyed it. Went in May and couldn't look through the telescope due to it raining but being from Ireland have never gotten to do this at an observatory and it didn't hamper the experience in any way. Got a rain-check for a free viewing but don't think we'll make it back in time :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix_Clonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I had not been to the observatory for perhaps 40 years. It was very interesting. What I did not like was the reference on their notice boards that the universe was created by the so-called 'big bang'. That is somebody's theory, and it is no more than that, and it should not be promoted as such. Even if they do not believe in Creation, then they could still rephrase the wording on the boards to exclude reference to the big bang theory.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lengra46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inerestinf Univerrse!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Very interesting and informative venue. Well worth a visit with a large amount of effort made for the visitor and the visisor experience regardless of prior knowledge of astronomy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Auckland's best kept secret!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

But not any more! I LOVED our trip to the stardome - the staff were great and we got to ask lots of questions about the stars. And it is SO cheap!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank K0neW0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stardome & the Auckland Observatory also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Stardome & the Auckland Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing