We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Sense of Pioneer History”

Howick Historical Village
Ranked #28 of 265 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enter another era at this living museum, where costumed staff and 30 restored buildings recreate an early Auckland settlement.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A Real Sense of Pioneer History”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Fencibles, whose cabins form the backbone of this outdoor museum of early pioneer history, were recruited from British soldiers retired in the colonies. They were given land in exchange for their readiness to defend new settlements on New Zealand soil. This well-designed and interesting lay-out provides an informative and interesting introduction to this seminal period of NZ history. As well as the overall story of settlement and growth from which modern-day Howick and sister settlements descended, you learn of individuals and families who gave up their previous lives elsewhere in exchange for the promise of a new life. Some of the stories are very moving, especially when you learn how unprepared the people were for what they had to face, with cabins half- or not built at all on their arrival. Life was certainly not easy, but you also get a sense of how the community pulled itself up by its boot-straps and made progress. It is worthwhile pondering on how we would fare today in similar circumstances. A memorial to the survival instinct in Man. Allow a good full afternoon. Oh, and there is a good coffee shop there too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Expl0rer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    80
    15
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed but all, bigger than it looks”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Thought we would be there about an hour, could have been there all day. Well set out and staff throughput site very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. Much better than I was expecting from info I've seen. Even enjoyed by my 4 years old. Cafe good

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alirosieandmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's interesting to see how some of the early settlers lived, the conditions were bleak, but this village take you through their progression.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Howick Historical Cafe - terrible attitude”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This review is on the cafe that is on site NOT the village itself. We booked a table for Mothers day for 10 people. We were told that is is only for a 1 hour booking in which we appreciated as it a special day and would be busy. We were seated outside which was lovely. We ordered our food and coffee, the meals it self were OK, however they need to learn to cook eggs as they were under cooked. This was not the problem, towards the end they had trouble clearing our tables, which were covered in glasses, mugs, plates. Then to be told that we had to leave! the waitress told us that we only had a 1 hour booking. Normally this would be fine, BUT we looked around and the cafe was only 60% at capacity full!!! and the outside only us and another table. Now this totally ruined our experience there, because it was not full, you would think they would offer us another coffee? NOPE told to leave. This was disappointing all 10 of us tremendously, was in a nut shell will not be returning. Rudeness is not a way of treating paying customers, in which we spent over $200 that morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited there on Mother's day. Sadly this place missed the opportunity to capitalize this day to add the 'living' staff to volunteer /work on the village. The restaurant was busy, but not the village itself. While I am aware that activities are promoted on the 3rd Sunday of each month, it was a missed opportunity day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lmhomes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howick Historical Village also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Howick Historical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing