We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, edible food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MLC Cafe & Bar

MLC Cafe & Bar
Ranked #746 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Cafe, European, International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, edible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We ate breakfast here as part of a GrabOne package. It was edible, the French Toast wasn't as delicious as expected and lacked flavor. The Eggs Benedict needed spinach or something to break up the greasy. unhealthiness of it all.

Great location at the scenic hotel . It was busy when we went down for a drink the previous night, and at breakfast time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Food is great & very convenient place to eat if you are staying at the Scenic Hotel.Happy Hour comes with free Wi Fi for 30 minutes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellapeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fluctuating quality and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We often go to MLC for lunch and find the food quality fluctuates depending on the number of diners. The last time we went the food took an absolute age to arrive, a notorious trait of MLC unfortunately, despite advising the staff member at time of ordering that we were on a timeline.

I ordered a Caesar salad which was nice until I discovered long black hairs under parts of the salad.... Yuck. The waiting staff were very nice when I advised them and gave me a free coffee... The hairs put me off eating anything else... It's such shame, this place is lovely inside, food serving just needs a revamp.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank POMSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yumm food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

The ceaser salad is one of the best. Great service by friendly staff. Quick efficient service and good coffee. Excellent place for snack/ dinner/ coffee before a show. reccomended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelalotnzTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quantity more than quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Had breakfast here twice. Second time better than the first. On the first occasion the cooked breakfast was very oily and some of it was burned. Plenty of choice, cooked breakfast freshly cooked and hot.
Pleasant environment. Great to sit and watch the world go by.......and at a very relaxed pace in Auckland.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADJSoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MLC Cafe & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to MLC Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing