We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner 31, Oct”

The CUT Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #170 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$13 - US$31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: THE SHARPEST RESTAURANT ON FEDERAL STREET Like its identity The CUT is a defining mark changing the scene of social dining in Auckland. With its modern cuisines, attention to detail, stylish presentation and an engaging level of service are all genuine elements of The CUT, complemented by a suite of menus that showcase a genuine social dimension to both the classical and more CUTting edge dishes. Where modern cuisine is created from the very best locally farmed produce then crafted using unsurpassed skills and sole from a team of truly food-passionate chefs, delivering explosive flavours and textures that incite socialism amongst friends, family and colleagues. The CUT is the place to enjoy great company with exceptional food and genuine friendly service.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner 31, Oct”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent service and very good food. Nice selection of wines. Loved the potatoes fried in duck fat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande S, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Great to hear you loved our duck fat potatoes and wines! The next time you need to stick around for our yummy desserts and cocktails!
Looking forward to the next time you visit us.

Regards
Yolande Strydom
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    59
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very impressive food!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had the set menu with wine tasting: beautiful risotto to start, then chicken which tender and a fabulous apple strudel with salted caramel and icecream to finish. Cauliflower as the vegetable with cheese sauce - yum. The wine tastes were lovely. The meal was just excellent and the tastes stay with me. Good service too. And don't forget the breakfasts - Rydges has always excelled here and continues to do so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande S, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Janice,
Thank you so much for the lovely review on our set menu & wine tasting. It's always great to get such good feedback and the staff''s always smiling from ear to ear each time I read such a lovely review out loud to them. Great to hear that you loved our breakfast too.
Can't wait to welcome you back and please do say hi the next time you are in.

Warm Regards
Yolande Strydom
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best lamb Ive eaten in years....”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I ate here more because I was staying at Rydges, but great surprise. The wrack of lamb was a generous serve and was some of the best lamb I have eaten in years. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande S, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Jane
Thank you very much for your excellent review and we hope you will be back soon to try the rest of our menu!

Best Regards

Yolande Strydom
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, great service”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

These people know how to offer a good variety, very well prepared, service is first class and good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande S, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor about STK Restaurant & Lounge Bar. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards
Yolande Strydom
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just had dinner at this restaurant, which is part of the Rydges Hotel. Don't be put off by it being in a hotel, as the meal was very good.
Service was friendly and attentive. Had a grill chicken dish, with onion jam and horseradish cream on the side. Also had potato dauphanise as a side dish Chicken excellent and not overcooked, potato dish was decedent. Nice NZ sav blanc as well.
Could not fault.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande S, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
What a great way to start my day with such a lovely review of our restaurant! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us and I am very pleased that you had a great night of great food and great service from STK.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yolande Strydom
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The CUT Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to The CUT Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing