We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison du Bois
Nearby Hotels
Parnell Pines Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$178
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tudor Court Motor Lodge(Auckland Central)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$150
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$190
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$92
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$54
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hostsprivate bathroommueslihighly recommend this b btrain stationsalmon eggs benedictlovely bathrobesgourmet cookfluffy pillowsevery morningenjoy your staynew zealandwonderful stayfour nightsplace to staygeoffsheridan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We travel internationally often and this B & B was the best that we have experienced. The home is excellent and very clean and well kept. It is located in a quiet district. Its distance from central Auckland is considerable. However, nearby fast train and bus service to central Auckland are very suitable. The breakfasts are outstanding and are at a gourmet level. The early evening provision of snacks and drinks with our hosts was special. Our living area was on the second floor but we felt welcome in all locations in the home. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful – they often provided us rides to various locations. They made us feel more like friends than guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 987Coley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at Geoff and Sheridan's beautiful home for a couple of nights while in Auckland for a wedding. Our stay got off to a great start - drinks while we got ready to head out for dinner and a lift down to the train station too! Everything at Maison du Bois is of a high standard, from the linens to the food. Unfortunately we arrived feeling a bit under the weather so couldn't fully enjoy the AMAZING spread that was breakfast. A perfect combination of friendly hosts and the special extras that make being on holiday a treat. Thanks so much for your hospitality. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope we have the chance to stay with you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShonanNZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan w, Owner at Maison du Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you are in New Zealand. We hope your trip back was not too arduous and you are both feeling much better now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We booked three nights in this B & B in Auckland prior to our three week trip round New Zealand. Geoff and Sheridan gave us amazing trip planning advice on accommodation, restaurants and sightseeing all over New Zealand which we followed almost exclusively and had a wonderful time. After a grueling journey to Auckland from Dallas via Australia, we arrived at the B & B at 7pm and had decided ahead of time to ask for the dinner option as we didn’t want to go out for a meal after the journey. We started with wine and canapés (blintzes with wonderful blue cheese) on the patio followed by a marvelous dinner of champagne scallops mornay and rack of lamb accompanied by sauvignon blanc and pinot noir wines. Breakfasts were outstanding – one day was smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast, one day was mushrooms on toast and the last day was a traditional fried breakfast all accompanied by delicious homegrown tomatoes. Each morning, our hosts briefed us on what might be interesting to see in the area that day and at night when we returned, they wanted to be debriefed on the results!! One night, their son was visiting so he joined us on the patio for wine and we were even invited to join them for a family dinner which we declined. It is the sort of place where you go as a guest and leave as a family friend. They designed the perfect three week driving tour of New Zealand for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan w, Owner at Maison du Bois, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you so much for the great recommendation you gave us and all your kind comments. We loved meeting you both and having you stay with us and hope that we can meet up some time in the not too distant future. We have also enjoyed hearing of all your adventures around NZ and glad that we could help with some travel suggestions. With best wishes, Geoff and Sheridan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very nice people. Very good food. Auckland downtown reachable by bus (20 minutes) or cab (40nzd at night). Small room very well decorated, clean. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it. Thank you to Sheridan and Geoff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CetN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Maison du Bois on a recent flying visit to Auckland and were so impressed with the warm and welcoming reception we received there. Sheridan has decorated the rooms beautifully, and made us a gorgeous breakfast in the morning which we enjoyed in the sun in the peaceful outdoor dining area and gardens. The guest lounge had everything we needed to relax and feel at home. Thank you again Sheridan for a fabulous stay - we will return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews