We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive for what you get...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer

Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.88*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #42 of 162 Tours in Auckland
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went on this today and thought i might be able to save you some cash....in the winter, only half the buses run which isn't that easy to see in the brochure but they hand you a new schedule when you have paid for your ticket and are getting on. Since the first bus is at 10 and the last is at 3ish, there is only about 5 buses. It says you will see the 14 major sites and i guess you see them as you drive by but you can only really stop at 1 or may 2 and still catch the bus back and that's if you get on the first bus. One of the stops is a view point with no facilities so, you just don't stop there because you will be stuck there for an hour and will not have time to do other things. To top it off, when i got on the first bus, the driver said there wasn't any audio yet because he didn't have his cd thing ready. Anyway, the blue bus driver was nice but the blue bus is not a double decker and you can't take pics in either bus as the windows are tinted. Really....i'm most upset that the women at the i-site office didn't explain any of this as clearly, it is not worth the money and you would be far better served by taking a couple of city buses which would cost 1.60 each. I think that is her job but clearly they have other loyalties. We went on the hop on in madrid and loved it but this one is a rip off and i'm sad i trusted the i-site person and spent the money. Don't bother.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtripper007Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    64
    38
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Less than Stellar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Explorer Hop on Hop off tour was not what we expected, as it seemed we spent more time going through residential areas instead of seeing the sights.
While the buses were on time, the narrative of the sites was not very informative.
Compared with other Hop on Hop off tours in other cities, we would rate this on the bottom of the list.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Overview - Not Enough Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We did the hop on hop off tour - both the red and blue ones for our one day in Auckland. The connection between the 2 tours was good with only a couple of minutes wait between buses. Since we were on the winter timetable (i.e. 60 min between buses); it was hard to plan the day to be able see the all that we wanted. Both drivers were very pleasant and provided commentary along the route - we would have liked additional historical perspective but on this kind of tour you cannot get everything. The tour provides the big picture overview of Auckland. If you have the time, additional days are either free or low cost. On the winter timeline, you really need to plan your stops. Would we do this tour again - probably. Our only issue was being short on time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wet Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

As we were struck with pouring weather, we thought we would pass the time on the HOHO. In winter it only runs hourly and starts at 10 finishes at 4, so planning is a must. As we were on the Link bus, we realised we had missed the first bus out, so we quickly planned to stay on the Link bus to Museum.
So we went first on the Blue route. Just did a full circuit, and while the commentary is mildly intreresting, the stops really aren't. As we were the only ones on the bus,the driver just opened the door to let us get photos at Eden Park. At Mt Eden the bus doesnt go to the summit,so perhaps on a sunny day you would walk up, not sure if it would fill in an hour til the next bus though.

Back to the museum, we spent 2 hrs there, then took the last full route on the Red bus back to the Museum, and hopped on the link bus home. We found the drivers to be excellent and friendly, but it is quite expensive (like everything in NZ) the stops are not too interesting, and with a bit of planning you can get everywhere on the Link busses anyway. Also windscreen wipers upstairs would be helpful as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ups and downs, but all around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are aficionados of hop on/off bus tours all over the world. This one had less commentary, history, tidbits than most. It may be that a lot of the interesting bits were in the downtown areas that we had to miss due to a big triathlon going on, no fault of the Explorer bus. The busses ran efficiently and went to lots of good places. We went to the MOTAT musuem and the Auckland museum. Didn't really get to spend enough time at either, trying to fit all of Auckland into one day, but still it was a nice overview and as always, a great way to get to know a city in a short amount of time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing