We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here during work conference”
Review of Straits Cafe

Straits Cafe
Ranked #305 of 2,415 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Snapper dinner was yum! Breakfast meal could improve
Loved the salads, and the main meals and entrees were so yum. had good time, would like nice relaxing music to enjoy while dining.

Thank AaronNZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsteen N, Marketing at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Aszee5,

Thank you very much for your review of Straits Cafe at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased to read your feedback with regards to our snapper, salad, entrees and mains. The seafood is definitely one of our popular dishes, as our Straits Cafe's within our Rendezvous Hotels always ensures we have the best local produce! We will pass on your feedback regarding our breakfasts.

On behalf of the team thank you once again, we do look forward to having you dine with us again soon and we also hope you enjoyed your work conference.

Kind Regards
Kirsteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you want a selection of fantastic food then this is a must for their buffet breakfast .From fresh fruits ,to fully cooked and even a tray of beautiful salmon .
Excellent value for money .

Thank Wildzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsteen N, Marketing at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Wildzog,

Thank you for your great recommendation for Straits Café within Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and appreciate hearing back from you. The Salmon is a popular choice amongst our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it also.

We will pass your kind words onto the team, as they strive from all comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon and perhaps you will get to enjoy us for dinner in the evening next time.

Kindest regards

Kirsteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had the true pleasure of dining in "Straits". Wow! had the Salmon which was done to perfection. If you go there you must try the grilled pear salad... Apparently it the chef's specialty. The service was very attentive and quite good. Clean, friendly and great food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crazycanuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Crazycanuker;

Thank you very much for your review of Straits Cafe at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased to read your feedback with regards to our food. The Grilled Pear and Arugula Salad is definitely one of our well-loved dishes, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it too!

On behalf of the team thank you once again, we do look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I did review the hotel, but really need to reiterate the outstanding food, service and experience we had in straits! the Chef - James Willemsen was fantastic and looked after us personally. We had breakfast in straits! which was excellent? But it was the evening dining that was truly outstanding! We'll Done!!

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Paul P,

Thank you for your fantastic comments with regards to your dining experience at Straits Cafe. We are pleased to hear your feedback with regards to the personalised service we pride ourselves on, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals. Our Executive Chef James and his team will be delighted to hear your comments.

Thank you once again, we do look forward to having you dine with us soon.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Got the breakfast buffet as part of our hotel stay. Breakfast was fairly standard but what we loved was how attentive the staff were. They made sure that we enjoyed pour meal and making sure whether we wanted more coffee or tea.

Thank momSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear momSydney

Thank you very much for your review of Straits Cafe at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read your comments about the great service you received from the team. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to all involved.

On behalf of the team thank you once again, and we do look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straits Cafe also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Straits Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing