We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not the last time”
Review of Ipanema Food & Art Society - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ipanema Food & Art Society
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last time”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

What a wonderful find - a Brazilian restaurant in Auckland. And the awesome waitress is from Sao Paulo (who should also be a model.............). She was great - very informative and helpful, so that was a great start. Actually, all the staff were really hospitable. Even the chef came and asked if we were enjoying the food.

As to the food - delicious!!! My wife had the crispy pork in an apricot and cardamom sauce, which was novel but yummy (except for the first bite, straight into a whole cardamom - the expresion on her face told the story........). I had the Feijoada, a very traditional Brazillian dish of black beans with pork and bacon and rice - we thought it was fantastic. For desert, I had what was one of the best Creme Caramels ever! Perfect texture and flavour. Well done guys! My wife had the mango sorbet with 3 coulis dips - again, divine.

Atmosphere and ambiance? It was a very quiet night, so maybe that let it down just a little. But we were told that they have live music evenings and the place rocks - so just have to go back on that evening.

Would we go back? YES!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small meals”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant and had main and dessert. the mains were delicious but sadly the portions were too small and we were still very hungry at the end of the night.. Desserts were very disappointing i do not recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank akh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First visit-won't be the last!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Love this Brazilian restaurant! Nice to find something a little different. Great atmosphere, delicious food & very friendly & hospitable staff. Friends booked us in for a group dinner, and enjoyed the night. We live in the suburbs, and don't often go into the city to dine, but Ipanema is straight off the motorway, and we didn't have any problem with evening parking. As they have both restaurant & bar, we will quite likely pop in for a meal, or a even for drink & Tapa's. And......cocktails-Best Pina Colada!! We will be back soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Fabulous meal, awesome waitress, explained the menu and offered suggestions from the menu, live music was great as well will certainly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WENDYWOOWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Visit Brazil in Auckland”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Have been here twice now since Ipanema opened, once soon after it first opened, and again in July 2013 - about one year apart.
They have maintained the original enthusiasm and quality of experience. Still fantastic Brazilian food, with amazing flavours.
The staff are very friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and very attentive.
The building is a little tired, but the ambience, friendliness and food and drink options make up for it.
Well worth the visit for something a little bit different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ipanema Food & Art Society also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing