We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
2 reviews
“Just what I needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

A great location, great service, very reasonable price, comfy stylish rooms, just what I needed for my stay. Seems like others may not have had a good stay, but I have no complaints. What more could you ask for in a hotel...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear DarrEmm:
Thank you for your business and support.
Kind regards
Rishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    145
    161
    67
    69
See reviews for
28
235
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Rooms were clean only nice thing I can say reception lady was rude waited half and hour for a coffee and it was discusting and to top it off cleaners left our room open all day with out belongings in it Managment could not have cared less never stayed anywhere like it and dont plan on doing it again customer service would go along way!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Nick T:
We have qualified and experienced staff specially at reception, who are always very keen to welcome each Guest. We cannot afford to be cold or unwelcome let alone being rude. Sorry you got this impression. Will retrain our staff. Door remained open - something very strange. Probably by housekeeper. Anyway it is not acceptable and our apologies. Fortunately all belongings were safe as we have the premises secured with cameras and alarms all over.

For guests Bistro and Bar counter is adjacent to reception lobby and coffee is provided within seconds as the coffee maker is so close to and has eye contact with guest.

Try us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The only reason I would stay here again would be if everywhere else was full. It was just ok. We had a slighly cold welcome when we checked in. We went to walk in the front reception door to check into the hotel but we can't get in because we don't have a swipe card at this stage. The man behind the desk just stood there and was waiving a white card at us. He was trying to say through the window "use your card if you want to get in". Anyway he let us in by simply pushing a button at his desk which he should have just done to start with. No biggy but also not very welcoming. 4 tea and 4 coffee sachets which was just not quite enough. No teaspoons. 2 bottles of complimentary water in the fridge, 1 of the bottles was only half full. Room was very small and t.v was also very small and fixed on the wall offset from the bed. Now these things I didn't like but it's not the end of the world, I can kinda put up with them BUT what I can't put up with is getting woken up at 8am by the hotel playing music through the speakers in the hallway outside our room. This is totally totally unacceptable to be waking up guests with music that is completely unnecessary. I just can't understand why they would do this. If it was during the week I wouldn't mind so much because I would probably be up at that time but do you have to do that on a sunday morning? Cleaning staff also talking loudly outside our room early in the morning. No heater in our room so we had to make a trip down to reception to ask for a heater. Now once again, not a big issue but all of these things combined made our stay unpleasent. Apart from these things it's not too bad but I still wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathanbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Johnathanbeal:
Staff must have taken you as guest already checked in. Number of tea and coffee sachets or water bottles is not important issue and liberal volume is packed in each room now.Volume of music is reset at lower level for all floors.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Car parking - is not free. It costs $25 per day non negotiable. No internal access. Access is on the side of the building. No security.
Front desk staff who served us-no personality, but not unpleasant. When we checked out there was no conversation apart from the person asking whether I wanted the receipt. Check in whilst not much better, at least the guy who served us did his best to accommodate our needs, as he knew we were disappointed with the size of the bedrooms.

Rooms- Appallingly small. We booked a Queen room. The pictures featured made the rooms look spacious and modern. We were given room 303.
The bed was a few centimeters from the door. The bed filled the entire room. No wardrobe.
There were a few clothes hangers directly above the electric jug and cups which really concerned us. If a skirt or blouse was hung up it would have been sitting on the electric kettle. Very scary. We were shown another room which wasn't much better. In the end we upgraded to an "executive room". They allowed us to upgrade for an additional $15 per night ( discounted from $48).
Heating - our room was cold. We enquired at reception about heating and they said there was no heating in the rooms so they gave us a fan heater. Which was efficient enough.
No toilet roll holder in the bathroom. Toilet roll sat on top of the hand rail next to the toilet bowl. So it constantly fell off.
The only available mirror is in the bathroom.
Shower - the water pressure was virtually non existent.
There was no shelf in the bathroom to put a toilet bag on. It had to rest on the single hand basin.
Nothing to put our suitcases on.
Sound proofing not good. We were woken up at 5am by the rubbish truck that reversed up the dead end street and started emptying bins.
No curtains. Just pull down blinds, so it let the light in.
Cleanliness - was good. The room was well serviced.
Location- was handy. Very central. There is a medical centre and pharmacy a short walk away. The Aotea Centre is a short walk down the road.
Decor - modern. Recently renovated.
We won't be staying here again. There are plenty of other places along Queen Street that we will be staying at next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 156AnneF156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear 156AnneF156:
I endeavor to provide value for guests' money during business operation. However room size is not something we could change. Realistically room sizes are squeezing globally. During winter we propose to provide heaters. Shower pressure is burdened during peak morning otherwise smooth. Drop down curtain and second net curtain, are all new. Regarding Mirror, some food for thought to me. Will initiate action for another full size mirror in every room behind main door.
Thank you for your valuable comments.
Regards

Rishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business in April, the Hotel is under some renovations which did not impact on my stay. The bed was very comfy as was the room well set out, even though I was on a lower floor on the road side it was quiet and I had a good nights sleep. There is a small bar and restaraunt downstairs with very helpful barstaff. The location is very good for the Airbus ( first stop near K Road, the hotel is down a little lane and could be hard to find as I guess it's not a commonly know hotel, but that could change if they tweet the few small issues. Best rooms would be the exec rooms , bigger with a good size bathroom. A few extra teas and coffees in the rooms would be good , also a Auckland phone book. Overall I would stay here again because of the price and location.

Room Tip: away from the elevators and book a bigger exec room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear IJ Archibald:
Appreciate your valuable comments. No big renovation, but only one lift is being enlarged. Minimum disturbance has been assured by Schindler, the supplier. Generous number of Tea, coffee and sugar sachets have been provided now. Enjoy even more next time.
Regards

Rishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Got the room for $100 for the night off wotif.com as a "last minute special" which included a king bed, the bed took up most of the room. The main door to the room clears the corner of the bed by about 10cm, they really pack you in like sardines here. Like other reviews on here, the bathroom was almost the same size as the main room. There was very little space to store any bags, let alone walk around. On a good note, the room was very clean and modern with a reasonably sized LCD on the wall. A little sign on the TV advertises the availability of various SKY Channels, however, EVERY SINGLE SKY Channel either was a black screen or had a SKY message "Service not in System Service List" or "You are not subscribed to this channel" or " No signal - rain fade" even when we could clearly see the moon out the window. All a cover up for some ongoing technical issues they must be having, in my opinion. I called the reception about this to no avail - they must get calls like this all the time and have a practiced speech. The only thing this place has going for it is its cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzsk8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear nzsk8er,
Thanks for candid comments. Honestly there is no "cover up" or "practiced speech" by staff for SKY channel behaviour. SKY TV stopped abrduptly during downpour and bad weather at weekend. Our Complaints to SKY customer phoneline went unresponded (perhaps due to bad weather). When SKY TV failed to respond on Monday morning, we alled our own technician to fix it. My apologies for not able to watch SKY TV.
Kind regards

Rishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My mate and I had 2 nights at the Ascotia in April, while attending the Black Sabbath concert. While it is quite tight for room, the furnishings are very good. Excellent beds, good shower, and everything nice and clean. The one problem I could fault it on, was there was only 2 sugars, 2 coffees, and 2 teas for the pair of us, per night. Otherwise all good, and for the price was excellent value. I would definitely stay again, but not if I was staying too much time in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Simon56,
Thanks for your comments. House keeping staff has been instructed to keep generous numbers of tea, coffee and sugar puches in the room.

Rishi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#61 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#25 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing