We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a night”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a night”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Not knowing auckland that well, we thought we would stay near queen street so we could walk everywhere... The motel was just off upper queen so a bit of a trek to the water front (that we weren't prepared to do). The staff were so friendly, the room so very clean with a nice king size bed, the only problem was the size of the room, it was tiny. Great if you were going out for the night and going straight to bed, or on your own. we would look for a bigger room next time and closer to the water, but thank you for a great first stay in auckland!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not facing the water front (not that you can see the water) but quite noisy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7travelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear 7travelbug7:
Thank you for the positive feedback. Weekend noise in CBD is usual and unstoppable. Regarding room size reality is that standard room size is squeezing in CBD area year after year. But we are trying to compensate with extras in the shape of cleanliness, friendlyness, and overall happyness.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    155
    170
    75
    74
See reviews for
33
246
75
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hot showers in the morning!
This place is located at the top of the hill (almost) on Queen Street. If you aren't in decent shape, I suggest you stay closer to the marina.
The windows crack open so you get fresh air in your room- loved it.
The place very much felt like a college dormitory.
The walls are thin- you will hear your neighbors!!
Front desk staff- probably the least personable or friendly people of any hotel that I've ever stayed at. Not sure of they are shy, or just not interested in customer service??
The housecleaning crew was quite friendly though- maybe they should be at the front desk instead?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Jennifer E:
Thank you for feedback. New staff intake takes place regularly and that could have been the issue with customer service. Otherwise well trained hospitality staff looks after customers round the clock.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Small rooms but for $75 per night, 4 star hotel is in a great location. Just off Queen Street with great restaurants all within walking distance. The bus from the airport drops you off nearly
At your door!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiingaiter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Small rooms but for $75 per night, 4 star hotel is in a great location. Just off Queen Street with great restaurants all within walking distance. The bus from the airport drops you off nearly
At your door!
Dear Skiingaiter69:
Appreciate your positive feedback.

For other readers: Yes, Ascotia Off Queen is centrally located right on the Queen Street within walking distance to Aotea Square, Imax Theatre, Mayers Park, Civic Theatre, Sky City, Viaduct Basin, Princess Whart, Ferry Point, Victor Arena , Britomart, Airport Bus Stop, heaps of eating options and everything that matters. Value for money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you plan to stay not more than one night. Clean, we'll located, very helpful staff, but the room was really really tiny. Nice bathroom but very cold. But next time in Auckland we will look for another place more value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dea rjlcs1972 :
Thanks for your feed back. Yes it is centally located with all important places and amenities at stone's throw. Nice n tidy rooms with brand new batchrooms. Qualified, experienced, trained and well behaved hospitality staff strive to excel in customer service 24/7. Newer hotel rooms squeezing in size globally and now in NZ too. Something we have been given to manage. Unfortunately staff could not offer you spacious room as the hotel was packed due to concert in Auckland. Try n talk to staff when you check in next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at the Ascotia off Queens as a weekend away from the kids, looking for a hotel that was not going to cost the earth, what a major error we made Checked out the Ascotia for ovenight parking facilites and locality, cost ect. everything checked out fine! NOT!! Room so small we could hardly move, cold wnd blasting through window we couldn't shut and very noisy, requested another room which was supplied but they wanted an increase in payment!!! not forthcoming.
Then advised there was no parking available and had to pay for an overnight stay at Wilsons car park (not Cheap). Had to on two days request tea, coffee sugar etc, and then despite room service request was ommitted by cleaner. Room had no toilet paper holder, water pressure was almost non existant and staff though friendly quite unhelpful. As a final insult having paid Wilson parking for an overnight stay they presented us with a $65.00 parking fine at 1.30am?? because somebody had failed to register our initial payment what great weekend this wasn't. Don't be lulled into thinking that within this establishment cheap is good. Did not use retaurant facilities as checked out snack menu!!! $14.50 for a ham sandwich, don't think so this was enough to put us off completley checking out any other menu better to eat out, as plenty of restaurants around. Definatley would not reccommend.

Room Tip: Check out another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justso78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Justso78
Sorry we could not meet your expectations within the budget. The quality of rooms, customer service, and restaurant food is never compromised at Ascotia Off Queen. Location of the hotel is so central that all amenities and popular facilities are round the corner.

To our readers: Parking is limited in the city and we advise our guests about other options for paid parking in the vicinity. Last couple of days were stormy and windy and the resultant noisy weather was unavoidable. Any superior room would cost little extra but not significantly expensive. For any missing service or extra attention, we have 24 hrs genuine service. We go extra mile in meeting guests' expectations! We crave for guest satisfaction and resultant repeat business.

Regards
Rishi Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Jeddah
Level Contributor
351 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, and generally speaking, our reaction to our stay was positive. The location, staff, cleanness of the hotel were all spot on. The room is on the smaller side, but that was not very problematic considering there was only two of us in the room. The bathroom was fine, also small but not too small.

There are two issues with the hotel though that knocked it off a couple of notch for us. The internet is not free, and the hot water pressure is a little weak in the shower, but other than that, we didn't have many complains about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayaa1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ayaa 1977:
Appreciate your positive feed back on quality of service, cleanliness, and location. IT engineer has been alerted to improve WIFI signal in the building.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is ideal for 24 hour reception, decent furnished room for the price, just thought the one joined salt & pepper sachet was tight and dont think it would take much to remove the wrapper around the toilet paper... After arriving early hours in the morning, my partner & I decided to take a look at the breakfast menu what is avaliable from 7am-11am, around 630 I called reception, ordered breakfast, requested room service - was told by receptionist it will be at our room at 7:30am. He then phoned back 7am wanting the order again which was "Kiwi Breakfast, has brown, tomatoes, sausage, bacon, egg of choice and mushrooms with whole grain or white bread" $14.00 and "Pancakes, Trio of vanilla pancakes with berries compote & caramelised banane with maple syrup $13.50 - add icecream $2.00 .Once breakfast got to our room we were both gob smacked by the presentation, produce, portion of the "kiwi breakfast" with its one triangle hasbrown, one half strip of bacon, one hellers precooked sausage, half a tomatoe uncooked & soft, two slices of cold pams toast, half cooked cold mushrooms and scrambled eggs, all seperate on the big sized plate.GROSS, BUDGET, and the pancakes werent any better, had bruised bananas, no syrup or berries between the 3 layers so was dry, after I complained the F&B manager came upstairs and his response was that the bananas were caramelised - whata joke, etc etc then insisted he cooked another breakfast. I dont recommend coming here, not only because of the food & small details but also the staff arent approachable and not friendly. Very uncomfortable walking through reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear p f:
Thank you for your happy comments on quality of rooms and 24 hrs reception. Staff advised regarding breakfast timing to be strictly followed from 7am onwards. Quality and presentation has been reiterated to the staff.

To all other readers: There was an issue with breakfast in this case and our Chef offered another discounted breakfast to mitigate guests problems.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 67 in Auckland
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#60 of 67 in Auckland
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing