We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, hot and smelly”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I will never stay in this hotel again - we booked it for 2 nights and they were the worst 2 nights Ive ever had in a hotel.

No aircon, not even a fan. It was noisy, clearly no sound proofing - I could hear the person going to the toilet through the wall and the entire conversation between 2 people in the hallway. We couldn't open the windows at night as it is close to Queen Street and a grate that was being run over by cars was keeping us awake.

It also had a funny smell in the bathroom especially.

The waiter dropped the drinks over my daughter and the price of the food was outrageous!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Georgia R:
I wish fan was asked which we promptly offer. Specially during this hot weather. Of course rooms are not sound proof. Hotel being located in the hub of CBD, traffic, people and weekend youngster crowd is expected. F&B staff are all professionally qualified, but sorry for the spilling which was only human error. My apologies for this incident which spoiled your otherwise comfortable stay.

For other readers:
We always strive for best customer service and nothing less. Value for your money is what we aim for. With 24/7 reception, we ensure guests' comfort is not compromised in any manner whether it is hot or cold weather. In house Tropicana Bar & Restaurant feel proud to offer Breakfast priced from &9.90, Berguers/sandwiches/salad from $8.90 (Veg sandwich or clubhouse salad, Pizzas & Pastas from $7.90 (Cheese Pizza or Soup), and main course from $17.90 (Mushroom Risoto)

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Negatives: I arrived to this little hotel on a hot summers day to find the room had no air conditioning. The staff were nice enough to help me try to find another hotel but everything ended up being booked out or not air-conned as well. To make matters worse, Ascotia is also located up the top of the hill of Queen Street, so if you're walking be expecting it. Some ex-residents I know mentioned this would be the norm for quite a few Auckland hotels in Auckland as it apparently doesn't usually get that hot (but it was 28 degrees when I arrived!). Still, I find a bit odd given NZ is a first world country.

Some local friends mentioned the cul-de-sac end of Scotia place is supposed to be a bit of a dodgy area (hookers, gangs or homeless people), so just beware at night. Catch a cab if walking ($9 from Skytower).

Positives: The lovely young Indian guy at the front desk was absolutely lovely; very helpful and willing to look after you.

My double King room was small but comfy for just myself. The fans provided were fine for keeping cool with. Decor throughout the hotel was fresh and modern.

This place is 5-10 mins walk to the city. Also it's one block away from K'Road, a bit of a hipster area during the day. I found a little arcade with vintage, handmade artsy stuff and some organic cafés which was awesome. There is also the Airbus stop on Cnr K'Road and Symonds Road (stop 7164) which is $16 to the airport.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank BrizzieLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Brizzie Lizzie:
This time of the year when sky is clear, Auckland day temp hovers around 26-27. Cant agree more on missing aircon. May be readers will see aircon at least in some rooms this summer. I can assure readers that the cul-de-sac end of Scotia place is absultely buzzing with young students, apartment tenants, and tourists staying in hotel.

Yes the location of the hotel is perfect and everything is ten or fifteen minutes walk including Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre, Town Hall, K' Road and airport bus stop at door steps. Friendly staff are professionally qualified and will go out of way to look after customers.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for a few days.

The hotel was new, clean, well priced and in a convenient location. The staff were helpful and friendly but not overly so, which can be annoying in some places!

However I really don't think they can call themselves a 4-star hotel. The rooms were small, there was no air conditioning, and it can be quite noisy so I don't think the sound insulation is the greatest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilyxshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Emilyxshao:
Hotel industry is continuously changing its terms and standards for star rating keeping in view several factors. Where not very significant services are missing, and also some extra features or services are provided, the difference between star rated and self rated is thin. Ours is same case. However we are assessing how we can change all rooms into airconditioned ones.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The only thing going for this place is the low price and the $4 Stella at happy hour.

The rooms are small, have no air conditioning and the water pressure in the shower is hopeless. Very noisy location so don't expect a good night's sleep.

I won't be staying here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dougal888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Dougal888:

Value for money is what we strive for. Being in the centre of city hub, some noise on weekends is expected. Shower pressure is excellent all the time except during peak time. Provision for fans during summer available at reception and could be requested for. Chilled beer at discount price during summer is special customer service.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location, short walk down to the main city, great eating places in close proximity also, but that's about if for me. Very small rooms, hardly any space for cases, and we only had two, bathroom small and also no cooling - had to open windows, made the nights very noisy.

Apart from our check in lady who was very helpful the remainder of the staff were rude and not very helpful at all. Would never stay in this hotel again, and will not be recommending it to any of our friends heading to NZ

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppersparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Shoppersparadise:
Appreciate your time for review. Yes, the hotel is brand new interior and centrally located. Standard size rooms can be upgraded on request. AC installation in progress. Weekend noise in the central city area is not uncommon. Front office staff and service staff are professionally trained hospitality people and strive to provide nothing sort of best customer service, as can be judged from other readers reviews. Hope you give another chance to try us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Efficient, friendly check in, though concerned that they insisted on taking a photocopy of my passport and credit card.
Room was clean though very small. Very little storage or hanging space.
Bed and pillows were comfy, bed linen clean and good quality.
Bathroom also small (nowhere to put wash bags) but modern with a powerful shower. Towels clean though well worn.
Had safe, fridge, tea/coffee etc.
Location was great for us but walk back up from town maybe a problem for anyone with mobility issues.
Overall, good budget city hotel. Would stay again for price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Travellingirl58:
Thanks for sharing your happy experience at Asocia Off Queen Hotel. Taking details of ID is standard procedure in hotel industry. Your concern about putting wash bags etc. is well taken and action initiated on providing this urgently. Next time you, and other readers will find this. Its certainly a good walk from down town upto the Hotel. We are proud to provide value for money.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was a good place to stay, really handy to all the main attractions - Queen St, 10 min walk to Waterfront, near K Road.
Not Hotel service, no pool or gym facilities or paper delivered in the mornings, but a well appointed modern room, comfortable bed. Only concerns were an air conditioning humming noise that disturbed my sleep a little, we were on the 8th floor. And the standard rooms were a bit too compact, I would advise upgrading for a more spacious room.

Room Tip: If you are a larger person, you might want to ask for a room upgrade. The entry level rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surprised02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Surprised02:
Thanks for informing readers about the cleanliness and central location of Ascotia Off Queen. We have 24/7 reception service. Gym is underway. Thanks for newspaper idea. Same has been implemented. Humming sound was from fresh air fan. Will be addressed soon. Yes we do have bigger rooms as well. Other customers can request upgrade for big room at check in time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 65 in Auckland Central
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#58 of 65 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £53 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing