We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price & Location doesn't compensate fully...”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,884 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
“Good price & Location doesn't compensate fully...”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here because it was an exceptionally good deal on one of the booking sites. The check in staff member was very efficient and it was a quick process. The internet cost $5 for 24 hours and was of good quality.
Room was small but functional.
However...
The area is fairly central but it is the upper slope of Queen Street, South of Aotea Square which is reflected in the price.
The lack of Air Conditioning is a MAJOR issue. It really is too warm to sleep comfortably at night and while the windows open there is no through breeze to assist and also there are no fans, ceiling or standing, to assist.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Albywon:
Thank you for feedback. In order to avoid crowding the room with gudgets, we rather promptly offer fan on request in this hot weather. We are happy to provide value for money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    150
    170
    74
    74
See reviews for
31
243
75
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Negative :
- Really small twin sharing room with hardly any space to fit 2 suitcases and 2 adults. We kept bumping into each other. There was only a tiny side table sandwiched between the 2 beds which could hardly fit anything. Granted that space is expensive in the CBD, it shouldn't be compromised at the expense of the guests' comfort. We only stayed for a night and went to another hotel 2 weeks after our trip to the South island. It was spacious, about the same price as this hotel and only less than 500m from Sky Tower as advertised.

- The toilet flush is not very strong and hence, you need to flush several times to get the toilet paper down.

- No aircond or fan. Would recommend staying here only during the winter as there is a heater. Thankfully, it was below 15 C degrees when we were there and the tiny opening of the window allowed the cold wind inside the room. Otherwise, it would be like sauna.

- Nothing aesthetically pleasant about the rooms. The colour scheme is gloomy and looks more like one of rooms which i used to stay back in college. The corridor outside is dreary and gloomy too.

- Not exactly very near places like the Sky Tower or the pier. We had to walk a good 20 minutes to get to the Sky Tower and it was torturing walking uphill back to the hotel after that in the heavy rain. We were told by the hotel staff that it was only a 10 minute walk. Maybe she should have told us that we were supposed to run / jog instead of a leisure walk.

- We had a rented car and so we had to pay for a parking space at the hotel. We drove out for dinner and when we were back, we discovered that our space had been parked by another car. The car eventually left but it had caused extreme difficulties for us to first, drive into the teeny weeny parking space to discover another car at our space and secondly, drive our rented 8-seater to the side to wait for the car to drive out and lastly, to manoeuvre our car into our supposed space. The hotel could have put a cone or other indicator at our PAID space so that other cars would not parked there.

Positive
- Clean rooms. This is the only reason why I am rating it 3.

Would I stay there again ? No

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear 3Gorgez:Negative :
Thank you for your feedback for other readers.
Admittedly small rooms but very neat & tidy Hotel. Biggers rooms offered on request. Exact distance from Ascotia Off Queen Hotel to Sky Tower is 0.7 mile and takes 14 minutes, and Ferry Terminal is 1.1 mile away and takes 21 minutes, as per Google Map yardstick. These times could be more or less depending on individual fitness level. Fans, heaters or any other extra furniture or equipment is provided on request 24/7. I wish fan was asked for. Hotel property is brand new, planned and designed by professional group of interior designers.
City parking is expensive, no doubt. We do help in parking if requested for. We however dont allocate fix parking as guests move out and in frequently.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My friend and I stayed in October as part of a business trip to Auckland. I had read some reviews on Trip advisor that had commented about the small size rooms. With this in mind, I decided to book the largest room there (Executive Room) which was very spacious and had a small walk in room/desk area as well as a bathroom. I considered it a perfect size and two friends and I could sit and have a couple of wines comfortably. I booked online and got a special rate of $107, which I thought was excellent value considering the location (at the top of Queen St) and within walking distance to everything. The rooms were very clean and the linen and bed, good quality. This hotel must have been completely renovated recently. My friend chose the smaller Queen Room and it was small (not much room to move in), but she too had read the reviews and knew what she was paying for (which was cheap for the area). I recommend spending the extra money for the largest room. Parking is a fixed rate, but because we stayed 3 nights we were given (on request) complimentary parking for two cars for the days we required, which we appreciated as we know parking is at a premium and expensive in that location. We found the staff very helpful, but not overbearing. For the cleanliness, pricing, location and service, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Room. Mine faced the small street and was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Kezza CC:
Appreciate your time and effort to write such a big review full of praise for Ascotia Off Queen Hotel. All extras asked by Guest are promptly offered, as we want to stay on top in the market. Of course with our limitations such as room size.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I will never stay in this hotel again - we booked it for 2 nights and they were the worst 2 nights Ive ever had in a hotel.

No aircon, not even a fan. It was noisy, clearly no sound proofing - I could hear the person going to the toilet through the wall and the entire conversation between 2 people in the hallway. We couldn't open the windows at night as it is close to Queen Street and a grate that was being run over by cars was keeping us awake.

It also had a funny smell in the bathroom especially.

The waiter dropped the drinks over my daughter and the price of the food was outrageous!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Georgia R:
I wish fan was asked which we promptly offer. Specially during this hot weather. Of course rooms are not sound proof. Hotel being located in the hub of CBD, traffic, people and weekend youngster crowd is expected. F&B staff are all professionally qualified, but sorry for the spilling which was only human error. My apologies for this incident which spoiled your otherwise comfortable stay.

For other readers:
We always strive for best customer service and nothing less. Value for your money is what we aim for. With 24/7 reception, we ensure guests' comfort is not compromised in any manner whether it is hot or cold weather. In house Tropicana Bar & Restaurant feel proud to offer Breakfast priced from &9.90, Berguers/sandwiches/salad from $8.90 (Veg sandwich or clubhouse salad, Pizzas & Pastas from $7.90 (Cheese Pizza or Soup), and main course from $17.90 (Mushroom Risoto)

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Negatives: I arrived to this little hotel on a hot summers day to find the room had no air conditioning. The staff were nice enough to help me try to find another hotel but everything ended up being booked out or not air-conned as well. To make matters worse, Ascotia is also located up the top of the hill of Queen Street, so if you're walking be expecting it. Some ex-residents I know mentioned this would be the norm for quite a few Auckland hotels in Auckland as it apparently doesn't usually get that hot (but it was 28 degrees when I arrived!). Still, I find a bit odd given NZ is a first world country.

Some local friends mentioned the cul-de-sac end of Scotia place is supposed to be a bit of a dodgy area (hookers, gangs or homeless people), so just beware at night. Catch a cab if walking ($9 from Skytower).

Positives: The lovely young Indian guy at the front desk was absolutely lovely; very helpful and willing to look after you.

My double King room was small but comfy for just myself. The fans provided were fine for keeping cool with. Decor throughout the hotel was fresh and modern.

This place is 5-10 mins walk to the city. Also it's one block away from K'Road, a bit of a hipster area during the day. I found a little arcade with vintage, handmade artsy stuff and some organic cafés which was awesome. There is also the Airbus stop on Cnr K'Road and Symonds Road (stop 7164) which is $16 to the airport.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BrizzieLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Brizzie Lizzie:
This time of the year when sky is clear, Auckland day temp hovers around 26-27. Cant agree more on missing aircon. May be readers will see aircon at least in some rooms this summer. I can assure readers that the cul-de-sac end of Scotia place is absultely buzzing with young students, apartment tenants, and tourists staying in hotel.

Yes the location of the hotel is perfect and everything is ten or fifteen minutes walk including Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre, Town Hall, K' Road and airport bus stop at door steps. Friendly staff are professionally qualified and will go out of way to look after customers.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here with my Mum for a few days.

The hotel was new, clean, well priced and in a convenient location. The staff were helpful and friendly but not overly so, which can be annoying in some places!

However I really don't think they can call themselves a 4-star hotel. The rooms were small, there was no air conditioning, and it can be quite noisy so I don't think the sound insulation is the greatest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyxshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Emilyxshao:
Hotel industry is continuously changing its terms and standards for star rating keeping in view several factors. Where not very significant services are missing, and also some extra features or services are provided, the difference between star rated and self rated is thin. Ours is same case. However we are assessing how we can change all rooms into airconditioned ones.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The only thing going for this place is the low price and the $4 Stella at happy hour.

The rooms are small, have no air conditioning and the water pressure in the shower is hopeless. Very noisy location so don't expect a good night's sleep.

I won't be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dougal888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Dougal888:

Value for money is what we strive for. Being in the centre of city hub, some noise on weekends is expected. Shower pressure is excellent all the time except during peak time. Provision for fans during summer available at reception and could be requested for. Chilled beer at discount price during summer is special customer service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#60 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#25 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing