We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember to check for air conditioning...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remember to check for air conditioning...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Note to self in the future: check for air conditioning. The rooms are small, but that's fine...they're clean, the bathroom is new and the beds are well made each day.

There's no air conditioning, however, which means the room gets quite stuffy unless you open the window. That would be fine, except it then becomes difficult to sleep as the surrounding noise will keep you awake. Add to that, if the windows are open, the blinds tend to flap back and forth, banging against the wall. This kept me awake , despite attempts to wedge a lamp against the blind to minimise flapping. All in all, four nights of very average sleep.

Reception was friendly, however and as a note: the laundry machines cost $3 each per cycle...no signs to indicate this.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 seem to be the largest...rooms 6 and 8 were quite small. 1 and 2 are joined by a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarrodCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear JarrodCL:
If too hot in summer, we provide table fans. Reg your room tip room 1 and 2 are large but not connected. No room is interconnected with a door.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    145
    161
    67
    69
See reviews for
28
235
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Our little room served it's purpose... It was clean & affordable. The staff were friendly enough too. Also room service was handy and the good was nice....
However their parking was RIDICULOUS!!!!! it was so cramped & difficult to park!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MateForLife24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear MateForLife24:
Thanks for your feeback. It would have been better if staff was asked to park the vehicle as we are accustomed to the tight parking space. Try next time perhaps.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights and I must say that this hotel has the worst reception service you can expect. Enquired on the internet access code for many times over the phone, the Indian guy totally do not understand English. As such I repeated many times and have to end up going to the reception desk, which was greeted by a rude "Sorry, can you repeat". The Internet was used up after 1 hour though it is clearly stated 500mb per usage per per day, and when I ask on this matter, the guy refused to show me evidence that I have consumed the internet usage but asked me to pay again! Next he was giggling with his two fellow indians colleagues! Ths is ridiculous.

The only thing good about this hotel is the price which I have booked on nakedbus accommodation which is almost 45 percent off from original price. However, given the remaining discounted price and the traumatic service, one can easily find a new hotel that has better services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keplertrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Keplertrack:
Your feedback about reception staff is serious matter of concern to us. This will be looked into and we can assure you that it will be addressed in the right manner. Hoping to have you with us again to see the change.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The rooms are very small but for the price I was happy with it. There was a restaurant downstairs which was convenient and the food was good!

We had parking booked but there was none left underground, the staff were very helpful and gave us the staff carpark.

I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lebrondavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Labrondavis:
Appreciate your comments. We look foward to have you with us again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked four rooms at this place for the rolling stones concert which got postponed. Ascotia refused to refund or even CHANGE the days for us.

So we had to come to auckland and use the rooms... the location was OK, but a hike down to town sky city etc, and the rooms were TINY, i had booked 1 king room, 2 queen rooms and a twin room, the king room was the smallest of the lot. all you can do in there is sleep and shower, there is no room to have a drink before you go out or anything....

Also the king room we booked wehn we walked in the sun was beating in, it was SOOO hot i thought the heater was on but there was not a heater, NOR air conditioning, it was UNBEARABLE to be in...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, uch more better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jacqui P:
Yes rooms tend to become hot, but once windows open and switch on the table fan it can mitigate the problem to a great extent. With budget price structure we strive to provide value for money.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked a queen room, where 'upgraded' to a king room without being informed, so when we saw the size of the room we assumed this is what we had booked. This room was so tiny, we had to keep our luggage on the bed or move it around the floor. No room to swing a mouse, let alone a cat. No aircon so had to keep the windows open, even then it was very hot and extremely noisy. The staff were smiling, but not helpful. We had to park out the back, there was no help with luggage. The shelf that had the cups and jug on was loose, it's a nasty burn waiting to happen. We had to ring down every morning to get more teabags and sugar. Overall, probably the worst experience we have had in a hotel in auckland. This is supposed to be a four star hotel, more like two star at best

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesskat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jesskat 13:
If too hot in summer, we provide table fans. Staff is trained and instructed to help guests with luggage. We note your concern and staff will be retrained for helping guests. We note your concern for extra teabags and sugar sachet.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room are clean but small. Good location and near the shuttle bus stop from the airport. Wifi is chargeable. There were no air conditioning in the room so we have to slide open the window a little to let in fresh air. However, the breeze cause the blind to sway and hit the wall making annoying sound. There lots of noise from drunks on the street especially late at night on the weekend due to it's location off Queen Street. We didnt get a good sleep although the bed was comfy. Staff was ok but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor and facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Dinmix:
With centrally located on Queen Street, weekends tend to be noisy with youngsters, but we strive to provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. If too hot in summer, we do provide table fans.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#61 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#25 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing