We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and convienient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely and convienient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my daughter, who was travelling alone. By all accounts, She loved it. Clean, warm comfortable and great location. She had no complaints at all. It had a heater and a great view over the city. She could walk to everywhere, and there were plenty of good places to eat nearby. Check in was good. She did leave earlier than planned but only because she decided to stay with friends for her last night in Auckland. I'm planning to visit Auckland early next year and I will stay at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank holidayer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    145
    161
    67
    69
See reviews for
28
235
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. My biggest complaint though was that I paid the extra to get an executive room for the king sized bed to find it was actually two 3/4 beds pushed together and the mattress was one of those double ones zipped together. This made for fairly uncomfortable lying, unless you stuck to one side of the bed, which defeats the purpose. Aside from that it was a good stay. My advice if you are driving is not to park at the hotel ($25 overnight). I parked across the road in an Multi-story, which cost me €11.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was neat, compact and clean. Perfect for what we needed. Easy walk into the city. Good value for money. My only complaint would be some of the reception staff were not overly friendly and could be more knowledgeable on the buses, attractions etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking. Very happy with the price. Young Asian Lady (forgot to get your name sorry) on Reception was lovely, helpful and polite! Room was clean, tidy and looked to have been recently renovated. Shower pressure was quite weak which is a little irritating but not really an issue. Hot water wasn't working on our second night but we didn't bother reporting it as we checked out the next morning.
Reception gladly brought us up a heater upon request as there is no heating in the room and it was a little cold. There was a spare blanket available in the room which was good. We ordered room service dinner, food was good and reasonably priced. We received wedges instead of our request vegetables and the staff member delivering the food was a little abrupt saying he 'couldn't take back the wedges' and walked out but then never came back with the vegetables? Wierd. Upon checking out both wedges and vegetables were on our bill.. also weird however the gentleman on Reception was quickly and happily able to take those items off our bill. I have no problems with mix ups, they happen, it's how the mix ups are handled after the fact that matters and these guys did so very well. Very happy overall. Experience versus cost of the room I would say are definitely positive all things considered.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

was in auckland on business for two nights. good location for CBD meetings, friendly staff and REALLY comfortable bed.
didn't spend much time in the room outside of sleeping, but the bathroom was massive, and everything very clean.
$5/day for wifi (which wasn't very fast, but was good enough)
will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just a quick review as I realised I forgot at the time. Stayed here at the beginning of 2014, and was pleased I did. The room although tiny , probably best for single occupancy, it was fully equipped with all I needed in the way of tea.coffee facilities etc, comfortable bed, modern decor, quiet, and the room plus bathroom were spotlessly clean. I also got room service from their own restaurant and had a gorgeous Indian meal. The price was good, the airport shuttle bus stops almost right outside ( tell the driver you are staying there and he will stop) and it is right in the heart of the city for easy walking access to everything. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just needed a cheap, clean room to stay in after a late night flight in. Room was small, but clean & adequate. Could hear people in other rooms, but because we were so tired, it didn't affect us too much. Wouldn't stay here for a long term stay.
I would say it's a flash back packer style hotel.
They have limited car parking, which they charge $25 for, but you can park in the Wilsons car park across Queen St, for $10, for 12 hours, very short walk 3 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#61 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#25 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing