We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete lack of professionalism...”
Review of Brothers Beer

Brothers Beer
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.73*
and up
Auckland Craft Beer Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked a table before we came to Auckland for a holiday via their website but we received no reply, though it was odd but anyway.
Rang them the morning we were meant to dine there but got a highly unprofessional recorded message stating 'this is brothers beer, you know what to do'
When we turned up, there was no table reserved and when we asked if we can organise a table for 4, the bar staff said sure just sit where ever you can...when there was no dedicated seating.
Completely lax attitude may suit the 18-25 year old/hipster demographic but when I come to a country to try the local cuisine/beer, this type of attitude is a real turn off.

1  Thank MarkHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrothersBeer, Owner at Brothers Beer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hi Mark sorry you didn't have a good experience. As you probably now figured we don't take table bookings as we really aren't a restaurant rather just a place people who love beer come to enjoy it in pretty laid back surrounds. I can't find any copy of your web query so will check that out with our web admin guys. Hope you had some nice beers all the same and you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ. Ant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft brewery"
in 4 reviews
"great selection of craft beers"
in 3 reviews
"works depot"
in 3 reviews
"tasting paddle"
in 2 reviews
"great brewery"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 7 reviews
"session"
in 4 reviews
"wellesley"
in 3 reviews
"nz"
in 8 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

76 - 80 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great range in the fridge but disappointed to see 18 taps yet only ONE option on tap!! Nice atmosphere though and reasonable service.

Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Outstanding beer from the brewery and great selection of NZ & international beer which would please any craft beer lover. If the facilities there were improved it would have been 5 star+

2  Thank jjjjswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Love this place.
Best selection of beers and knowledgeable staff.
Good vibe.Nice building but so so over places thinking that exhausted crap furniture with the seats dropping out of them are remotely cool!

Thank araminti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you care about craft beer establishments offering a wide range of excellent local and overseas craft beer on tap you're home! Well thought out, stimulating, engaging yet low key environment. Knowledgeable, unpretentious pleasant staff. Thought we were back in Portland Oregon. We'll be back - often!

They're closed Mondays. Drove an hour today (Monday). Who'd have thought!

Thank 546HilaryJ04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brothers Beer also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Brothers Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing